Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written
Miss Read writes beautifully, bringing her books to life. I found this book very relaxing to read, well written, with humour as well. I'll definitely be reading all the rest of the books in the Fairacre series.
Published on 14 Dec. 2009 by Mummy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Bit dated
Published 7 months ago by christine o'donnell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, 14 Dec. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Village Diary (Fairacre 2) (Paperback)
Miss Read writes beautifully, bringing her books to life. I found this book very relaxing to read, well written, with humour as well. I'll definitely be reading all the rest of the books in the Fairacre series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 14 Jan. 2003
By 
C. M. Collier "myopia1" (Liverpool,england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Village Diary (Paperback)
An absolutely gorgeous book.I have a special interest in this one as it came out just as I was starting at a village school just like the one Miss Read writes about,and my mother used to listen to it serialised on the radio while waiting for me to come home.
It follows on from Village School and is set out like a diary written by Miss Read the schoolmistress.Each month has a delightful illustration by J S Goodall.I love this book,and I hope you will too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terminally sweet!, 11 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. David Edwards "gammacenturi" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Village Diary (Fairacre 2) (Paperback)
Not as good as Book 1. but satisfactory. These books are v.g. for old fashioned oldies like me. Remembering a sweet, warm, gentle world that in the main did not exist. Well not for me and mine living in bleak 1940's/50's North Manchester. Leave your back door open? Nonsense! Even though we had nowt they would still steal it. Cold winters with only a coal fire to warm us and all of us crammed round it with burnt legs and the cat safely purring right at the front. And cockroaches in the cutlery draw.

But perhaps these books give a flavour of life and schooling in the countryside that we townies can only envy? As such they are lovely and you grow to like some characters and hiss at others. And it seems there are many more books in the series to enjoy. I do love a good long series. Recommended if you like sweet nostagia - and not a swear word to see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales from the Village School, 26 Feb. 2014
Gentle but never soft hearted. Compelling but always contains a grain of harder truth, Miss. Read serves up another helping of home spun wisdom from the primary classroom in her home village. Such gentle reading is so very timely in such a tough world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Simpler times but life often harder nonetheless. Evocative but not idealistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely gentle story of family life in a small village based around the School teacher. No sex, no swearing no complicated plot just a lovely read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Village Diary, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book yet again from Miss read. Gone out of sequence a bit I think, but I can still keep up with it all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fiare acre 2, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book hard going at times. It was not as readable as "A Peaceful Retirement" There were parts which I really enjoyed but it seemed to be that the author was going off on tangents. It reminded me of waves the going out and the coming in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 9 Dec. 2012
By 
P. A. Marsh (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an ex teacher I thoroughly enjoyed this now, almost historical novel set in a small village school. A good chuckle!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cosy blanket of a book, 5 Oct. 2012
By 
Molly Whiteside "owl maniac" (Doncaster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these books, they are just cosy and comfortable and fun. Have read most of them in the past but just decided after a stressful year to start them again, and they are just as good as the first time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Village Diary (Fairacre 2)
Village Diary (Fairacre 2) by Miss Read (Paperback - 15 May 2006)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews