Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Copper Beech, a story about the people of Shancarrig.
The Copper Beech by Maeve Binchy is a story about the lives of people who live in a small Irish village called Shancarrig. It's not one story, but the story of a group of towns folk and how their lives intertwine, their living, their loves and losses. The Copper Beech, the large tree that stands in front of the school house, records the lives of these characters as...
Published on 2 Mar 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
I quite enjoyed this book, although I don't think it is the best Binchy book about. Its a nice story and I like the way it is written as if its several short stories. Would recomend for lighter reading for sure.
Published on 8 Dec 2006 by dizzyshelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 8 Dec 2006
This review is from: The Copper Beech (Paperback)
I quite enjoyed this book, although I don't think it is the best Binchy book about. Its a nice story and I like the way it is written as if its several short stories. Would recomend for lighter reading for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Copper Beech, a story about the people of Shancarrig., 2 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Copper Beech (Paperback)
The Copper Beech by Maeve Binchy is a story about the lives of people who live in a small Irish village called Shancarrig. It's not one story, but the story of a group of towns folk and how their lives intertwine, their living, their loves and losses. The Copper Beech, the large tree that stands in front of the school house, records the lives of these characters as they carve their initials and dreams into its bark. This is the second time I have read THe Copper Beech and I think I enjoyed it even more the second time through. Maeve Binchy shows the strengths and weaknesses of each character, some you can feel close to, some seem untouchable, but they all make up the town of Shancarrig. If you have ever lived in a small town where there really are no secrets (every one knows you business) and yet, there are secrets in everyone's life, you will cetainly enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second book that I read., 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Copper Beech (Paperback)
This was the second book of this writer that I read and it pushed me on to read more. I've not been disappointed yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A realy Good read, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Copper Beech (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't put it down. The cameos of the different characters were fascinating. The gradual build-up to the final chapter keep me griped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love the background detail, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Copper Beech (Kindle Edition)
Very insightful into all the characters. Makes you think of those around you that might have something to in common with them..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars beech, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Copper Beech (Paperback)
unfortunately cannot give a true review on this book as it was given away as a present and have had no feedback
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another winner, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Copper Beech (Kindle Edition)
I love Maeve Binchy books & have not read a bad one yet,lovely read,great characters,a book to loose yourself in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Maeve Binchy, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Copper Beech (Kindle Edition)
Clever portrayal of small town life in Ireland. Innocent and yet glorious undertones throughout. Fantastic read and Captivating as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Copper Beech., 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Copper Beech (Paperback)
This is my favourite Maeve Binchy book which I wanted to share with my daughter who lives in the U.S. I ordered it and it was delivered very quickly. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the copper beech, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When i purchased this talking book for my mother. she had already read it but she still enjoyed reading this book again. I found this purchase good value for money and i would buy from this seller again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Copper Beech
The Copper Beech by Maeve Binchy (Paperback - 2005)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews