Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy someone is keeping his memory alive
Anyone concerned that this book has appeared rather too soon after Dave Allen`s death need not worry. It`s clear that Carolyn Soutar, and Dave Allen`s many friends, were anxious to pay tribute to this truly lovely man and make sure his memory is kept alive.
Carolyn Soutar worked as Dave Allen`s stage manager on his 1988 British tour. She makes it sound like the best...
Published on 3 Nov. 2005 by Mb Sherman

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars He deserved better
Even if the author doesn't know when to use 'Dave and I' and when to use 'Dave and me' her editor should.

Apart from that the book was simply a collection of other people's anecdotes strung together with a few joining words. It wasn't really 'a' biography' let alone 'the' biography.

What's the story about his mother? Either it is possible to find...
Published on 28 April 2006 by Jeffrey Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars He deserved better, 28 April 2006
By 
Jeffrey Tyler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dave Allen: The Biography (Hardcover)
Even if the author doesn't know when to use 'Dave and I' and when to use 'Dave and me' her editor should.

Apart from that the book was simply a collection of other people's anecdotes strung together with a few joining words. It wasn't really 'a' biography' let alone 'the' biography.

What's the story about his mother? Either it is possible to find out when she died, with a little bit of effort, or there is a mystery there that needed exploring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy someone is keeping his memory alive, 3 Nov. 2005
By 
Mb Sherman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dave Allen: The Biography (Hardcover)
Anyone concerned that this book has appeared rather too soon after Dave Allen`s death need not worry. It`s clear that Carolyn Soutar, and Dave Allen`s many friends, were anxious to pay tribute to this truly lovely man and make sure his memory is kept alive.
Carolyn Soutar worked as Dave Allen`s stage manager on his 1988 British tour. She makes it sound like the best job in the world, and her first-hand description of this amazingly unglitzy tour is, for me, the best part of the book. Allen toured the country with just "a girl and a car". Soutar was the girl. Completely unshowbizzy, Allen took her for Chinese meals after most of the shows, and always insisted on paying. Her main challenge seemed to be dealing with his dry-cleaning obsession - well, I guess all famous people have to have their "thing".
Dave Allen made up so many stories about his life that I wonder if even he knew what was true and what was not. However, a few events that have been presented as facts are over-turned here - apparently, he didn`t have an affair with Eartha Kitt, after all!
This is such a warm and endearing portrait that it makes the ending even sadder - especially since the actual cause of death was not published in any paper I saw. So be warned - you will cry. Maybe even sadder than that is the thought that this great man is likely to be forgotten. He didn`t allow his shows to be repeated while he was alive, and, it seems, this is likely to continue after his death. To be fair to the BBC, I guess this is why they have not produced a tribute to him. Reading extracts from his act makes you realise just how fantastic, intelligent and daring he was. Thank you to Carolyn Soutar for bringing that to everyone`s attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Remotely Remembered, 24 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Dave Allen: The Biography (Hardcover)
Soutar's work suffers from, for a biographer, fatal flaws: Very few actual facts, and nothing revelatory or incisive.
It's a genial enough piece of work but far too general. This can only be expected: Soutar worked with Allen for a comparatively short period (One short tour) and his family declined to contribute. (they felt it far too early for such a book).
The result is a reworking of what is already known and "stab in the dark" inaccuracies. (Her story of how he died is very touching but completely innaccurate)
Soutar is unable to bring her subject to life. But who could be surprised: relying upon distant memories of a brief association.
Allen was an intensley private man and Soutar, without any authorised substance, fails to offer anything more than is already in the public domain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Well Written Biography of Dave Allen, 29 Mar. 2011
By 
Alan (LaVergne, TN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dave Allen: The Biography (Hardcover)
This book was written by one of his tour managers so you know that it is written by someone who actually knew him. Thank you Carolyn for writing this book.

Dave Allen was a true comic genius who brought smiles and laughs to millions of people for over thirty years.

Many thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Allen, 21 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Allen: The Biography (Hardcover)
Not even started it yet but it looks very interesting - I keep 'dipping in ' Just trying to sort myself out and once my head is in it I am sure it will not come out in a hurry - Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dave allen the biography, 19 May 2014
By 
Sl Hailstone "mozydoo" (northants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Allen: The Biography (Hardcover)
very insightful book...actually a rather sad personality good read though. it is a pity it was not an autobiography, but then, after reading the book, quite understandable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Legend!, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Allen: The Biography (Hardcover)
Dave Allen was an absolute legend and I'm making my way through the books and DVD's. This man was timeless and I found the book really interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dave Allen: The Biography (Hardcover)
Nicely written bio / memoir of a very funny & sorely missed comic. I recommend to all Dave Allen fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delight, 9 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Dave Allen: The Biography (Hardcover)
I am pleased to have had an opportunity to read thsi excellent book.
Like many people of my age, Dave Allen was an icon during our early years. I am sure that many were very sad to hear of his death, so I was pleased to see this book appear.
I have read it and was taken back to those years of looking forward each week to the next show.
This book brings across clearly the man who was Dave Allen. Not a brash, loud, TV personality, but a quiet and charming man.
From her personal knowledge, Carolyn Soutar has brought across that man, and his talen.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this book to everyone - especially those who have enjoyed Dave Allen's skills for so many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st class comedian, 29 Oct. 2012
By 
S. Roberts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is interesting from the start and grabs the attention immediately. You can imagine yourself sitting in front of Dave Allen, who I had the pleasure of seeing live 20+ years ago, and him talking to you about his life, views and how he became a comedian. This is excellent reading and gives a perfect insight to a wonderful, funny person. A great book that you want to get to the end to find out everything but then don't want it to end - perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dave Allen: The Biography
Dave Allen: The Biography by Carolyn Soutar (Hardcover - 13 Oct. 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews