Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read - Sharpey was an entertainer but flawed as a professional footballer in the modern era.
Really enjoyed this book. I loved him as a player, the way he played the game with a smile on his face brought joy to everyone. I think Sharpey is a bit bitter about how Ferguson treated him. I think he should look more at his own part in his downfall, and make no mistake, it was a downfall. He must have known leaving Utd that he would never achieve the success he could...
Published on 31 Aug 2007 by K. Anderson

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lee - Fergie was right!
What is it with footballer's autobiographies? Fans don't want to know what street your Grandma lived on - they want to know about Fergie's half-time team talks, who got a rollicking and who hates who, and why. This book is a blend of both. Mainly, however, it is all about Lee Sharpe's self-doubts (and that hat-trick against Arsenal - mentioned 43 times) - and no Lee...
Published on 29 Oct 2005 by Mr. A. L. Fielding


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read - Sharpey was an entertainer but flawed as a professional footballer in the modern era., 31 Aug 2007
By 
K. Anderson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Idea Of Fun: The Autobiography: The Autobiogaphy (Hardcover)
Really enjoyed this book. I loved him as a player, the way he played the game with a smile on his face brought joy to everyone. I think Sharpey is a bit bitter about how Ferguson treated him. I think he should look more at his own part in his downfall, and make no mistake, it was a downfall. He must have known leaving Utd that he would never achieve the success he could achieve if he stayed, yet he chose to move on just to continue to "be himself" and play as many games as possible. He wanted to be a professional footballer at one of the biggest clubs in the world and still be himself, not change one iota. Sharpey was not willing to adapt and he thinks he was right. Maybe he was, for himself, but he has no right to be bitter against anyone because of the decisions he made. Fergie didn't want to sell him. He expected Fergie to adapt and cajole him because that was what he needed, but he refused to adapt himself. Still, I think he was one of the great entertainers in English football over the past 20 years. He achieved a great deal while still having his "idea of fun" so he looks back correctly contented with that. But he comes up short in terms of having realised his potential as a professional footballer with a god given talent that very few have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The original fergie fledgling, 24 Jan 2006
This review is from: My Idea Of Fun: The Autobiography: The Autobiogaphy (Hardcover)
Just picked this up along with the Giggs autobio, and though Giggsy is my favorite player ever, Sharpey's book is better. Gives a good look into how football has evolved as Sharpe bridged the old first division era to the glitz and glamour of the premiership. The book also gives a good look at Ferguson and shows how once you leave the hallowed walls of Old Trafford, its all downhill from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable book, 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: My Idea Of Fun: The Autobiography: The Autobiogaphy (Hardcover)
Very good read filled with facts and humour of what it was like to play for Man Utd in the early Ferguson era.
Lee comes across as a top bloke, the sort you could have a pint with and discuss football in general.
Recommended read for all football fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lee Sharpe - The Original Boy Wonder, 21 July 2014
This review is from: My Idea Of Fun: The Autobiography: The Autobiogaphy (Hardcover)
The way that he comments the special events of his life is captivating; his relation with Ferguson, the influence of Robson and the end of his career. It's a really good book with a great sense of humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lee - Fergie was right!, 29 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: My Idea Of Fun: The Autobiography: The Autobiogaphy (Hardcover)
What is it with footballer's autobiographies? Fans don't want to know what street your Grandma lived on - they want to know about Fergie's half-time team talks, who got a rollicking and who hates who, and why. This book is a blend of both. Mainly, however, it is all about Lee Sharpe's self-doubts (and that hat-trick against Arsenal - mentioned 43 times) - and no Lee you're wrong, you were a great player, and however much you try and kid yourself, you did throw it all away. It's clear from your book that Fergie rated you - he just didn't like your lifestyle and thought it would ultimately be your downfall - he was right. The sooner you accept this, the sooner you'll be able to put it behind you. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Idea Of Fun: The Autobiography: The Autobiogaphy
My Idea Of Fun: The Autobiography: The Autobiogaphy by Lee Sharpe (Hardcover - 25 Aug 2005)
15.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews