Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye and thanks for the memories
What a fantasic send off for one of the great creations of modern literature.
I have read all the Rebus books in sequence over the years and fans of the series will be delighted to know Ian Rankin has written a a suitable finale.
We join Rebus with one week until his retirement and in a great device the chapters count down the days no surprising the pieces don't...
Published on 9 Oct 2007 by Ian Paterson

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not with a bang but a whimper
I disagree with nearly all the reviewers in that I think this novel is the weakest of the whole Rebus series.

It is a very self conscious novel straying to self congratulation and self indulgence.Too many loose ends and mood music. Mr Rankin is obviously keeping his options open about where we go from here and, given the success, I don't blame him for that...
Published on 7 May 2009 by Officer Dibble


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye and thanks for the memories, 9 Oct 2007
By 
Ian Paterson "exiledscotsman" (Newcastle Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exit Music (Hardcover)
What a fantasic send off for one of the great creations of modern literature.
I have read all the Rebus books in sequence over the years and fans of the series will be delighted to know Ian Rankin has written a a suitable finale.
We join Rebus with one week until his retirement and in a great device the chapters count down the days no surprising the pieces don't slide together until the final day of the week.

A murder of a Russian poet in Kings Stable Road gives Rebus one last case to solve soon ties are being made to big business, politicians and the criminal underworld led by Rebus' nemesis Big Ger Cafferty. Is this the last chance saloon for John to finally nail Edinburgh's gangster ?
As has been the case with the last few Rankin books the reader is left guessing right until the final pages who has commited the crimes. I can say that I guessed part of it but I doubt anyone will be able to predict all the conclusions.

The early books in the series were enjoyable but it's been the last half dozen that have really elevated the series the introduction of DS Siobhan Clarke I feel was where it really kicked in giving Rebus a genuine partner to bounce off. This book is no exception with the scenes with them together being the strongest. It's real shame in some ways that Rankin's decision to age Rebus in real time deprives us of further INSPECTOR Rebus books but if you haven't ever read any of the series you are so lucky to have twenty books available to you.

For the rest of us here's looking forward to the first of the DI Clarke stories which if Ian Rankin decides not to write then there really will have been a crime committed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Sep 2007
By 
M. V. Clarke (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exit Music (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic conclusion to DI Rebus' police career. Rankin's plot is typically rich and complex with subtle twists, interesting characters and a remarkable conclusion. Rebus is in prime form; argumentative, opinionated, awkward, aggressive and ultimately inspired. Pitted against dubious Russian businessmen and politicians as well as his old nemesis Cafferty and various opponents within Gayfield Square Police Station, he investigates, under Clarke's authority, the seemingly related deaths of a dissident Russian poet and a local sound recordist. Rebus' method gets him into trouble with various people on both sides while the final solution only emerges very late on. The rivalry between Rebus and Cafferty is brilliantly done; both men are older and more circumspect but the strange combination of respect and contempt bristles on to a thrilling climax. What a brilliant book; read it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Rankin's finest, 9 Oct 2007
This review is from: Exit Music (CD) (Audio CD)
James MacPherson is the Frank Sinatra auf audio books! His readings are always superb but this time it is his best yet. He gives an authentic voice to each character and understands the dynamics of the book perfectly. The five CD format is a good abridgement of the book. The story in itself is interesting and well told- better than the last instalment of the Rebus series. Rebus had mellowed in the last books and now he really is back as a complex character and not an entirely likeable one. His old problems with authority are back with a vengeance. Exit Music tells the story of Rebus' last case and his last ten days before retirement.Rankin said in interviews that he was still undecided as to whether Rebus will return or not. The ending of Exit Music is very good as it shows as a very dark side of Rebus' psyche and the true nature of his relationship with Cafferty. From my point of view this is one of Rankin's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye and Thanks For The Memories, 30 Aug 2008
By 
Ian Paterson "exiledscotsman" (Newcastle Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exit Music (Paperback)
What a fantasic send off for one of the great creations of modern literature.
I have read all the Rebus books in sequence over the years and fans of the series will be delighted to know Ian Rankin has written a a suitable finale.
We join Rebus with one week until his retirement and in a great device the chapters count down the days no surprising the pieces don't slide together until the final day of the week.

A murder of a Russian poet in Kings Stable Road gives Rebus one last case to solve soon ties are being made to big business, politicians and the criminal underworld led by Rebus' nemesis Big Ger Cafferty. Is this the last chance saloon for John to finally nail Edinburgh's gangster ?
As has been the case with the last few Rankin books the reader is left guessing right until the final pages who has commited the crimes. I can say that I guessed part of it but I doubt anyone will be able to predict all the conclusions.

The early books in the series were enjoyable but it's been the last half dozen that have really elevated the series the introduction of DS Siobhan Clarke I feel was where it really kicked in giving Rebus a genuine partner to bounce off. This book is no exception with the scenes with them together being the strongest. It's real shame in some ways that Rankin's decision to age Rebus in real time deprives us of further INSPECTOR Rebus books but if you haven't ever read any of the series you are so lucky to have twenty books available to you.

For the rest of us here's looking forward to the first of the DI Clarke stories which if Ian Rankin decides not to write then there really will have been a crime committed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent End(?) To A Fantastic Series, 7 Sep 2007
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Exit Music (Hardcover)
I took the day off work, bought this today and read it in 5 hours so I'm still a little breathless over all the events in the novel. Breathless, but exhilarated at the same time.

Like the reviewer below I don't wish to spoil it for anyone so I won't make reference to the plot, but I will say that it's well up to the incredibly high standard set by Ian from 'The Black Book' onwards and is a fitting climax to a great series.

Red herrings, false trails and misdirection abound and Rankin weaves the complex plot strands together but leaves the odd tantalising loose thread to remind us that things don't always end neatly in real life. And one of those loose threads is whether or not a major series character lives...

As always, Rebus manages to get up a nose or two. But that's one of the great things about him: he doesn't kowtow to anyone in his pursuit of justice, and enjoys, even relishes, tangling with the higher authorities for whom he lacks respect (often with good reason).

But is it the end of John Rebus in print? There are suggestions that Ian might bring him back to act as a 'consultant' to Siobahn Clarke in future novels, or even, God forbid, as a central character (a private eye perhaps?) in his own right. He should resist these and let this fine novel stand as a fitting epitaph to one of the very best series in crime fiction.

Along with Reginald Hill's wonderful 'The Death of Dalziel' this is the best British crime novel of the year so far. I really can't imagine any fan being disappointed with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exit But?, 30 Sep 2007
By 
Robert P. Splaine "mrbobsltd" (pattaya) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exit Music (Hardcover)
What a stonking good read. There's no need to tell anyone about the the
Rankin series, as any avid reader will of heard of him, or even Tv addict.
Exit Music was fast paced, though for once l did have an idea of who did
one of the dunnit's so to speak, but that doesn't take away the thrill of the read.
Rebus is on form, defying McRea all the time, and you wonder how
far can he push him. Siobhan really does stick her neck out for him,
and they worked so really well in Exit Music.funny thing was, you
were constantly looking at the date, and thinking will he solve
the crime in time. Big Ger makes a return, but a lot more mellow.

As of the ending, l am saying nothing..But for all the plans
l had in my head, for what he would do with Reubus, none of them
competed to this ending.
Brilliant, and Thank you Mr R, for another read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surely it should be 'Adieu' and not Goodbye, 21 Sep 2007
By 
This review is from: Exit Music (Hardcover)
Fantastic as ever. I have read all the Rebus novels. Am I alone in saying that we the faithful audience should make a deposition to Mr Rankin that whilst Rebus may be 'retired' he can and should continue in some form. The wonderful cutting dialogue, atmospheric setting and thrilling denoument are all there in this book as usual. How can anyone maintain such a high standard I do not know. I cried at the end, can't stand goodbyes even if it is fiction, though through Mr Rankins writing I have always felt I 'knew' Rebus and the richly woven set of characters. I always used to hate the wait between books. This simply can not be the end of Rebus, we need this kind of book to look forward to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not with a bang but a whimper, 7 May 2009
By 
Officer Dibble (Zummerzet) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Exit Music (Paperback)
I disagree with nearly all the reviewers in that I think this novel is the weakest of the whole Rebus series.

It is a very self conscious novel straying to self congratulation and self indulgence.Too many loose ends and mood music. Mr Rankin is obviously keeping his options open about where we go from here and, given the success, I don't blame him for that. However, the result is Exit Music itself is aimless and listless.

Mr Rankin has written some five star stuff in this series (and all of them are on my bookshelf) but this is uncertain fare. It felt like Big Ger was in for show, Clarke for a possible new series,the strict timeline seemed artificial, even the Edinburgh factor seemed jaded and the story is simply the weakest of the sixteen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely one of the best, 6 Nov 2007
By 
Judith (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Exit Music (Hardcover)
This must be one of the best Rebus novels, and they have all been great. Rebus is everything he has been throughout the whole series, but this book is tighter than any of the others. Not a word is wasted, and the characters that Rankin has developed really come into their own. The ending is a real surprise, and very moving. Part of me would love Rebus back in some way, but the other part thinks that this would be hard to match, and we should let Rebus go into retirement on a high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good end to a great series, 4 Nov 2007
By 
S. Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Exit Music (Hardcover)
The Rebus series had to come to an end some time, and I think this is the perfect send off. There's another murder, another link to other killings, another suspension for Rebus, another example of Clarke being dragged down the same old path, etc etc. However, that said, this is ANOTHER brilliant book, well written as always, clever as always, funny as always and realistic as always! I look forward to the Clarke series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Exit Music
Exit Music by Ian Rankin (Hardcover - 6 Sep 2007)
17.27
Available for pre-order
Pre order Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews