Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The third in the series must surely hook any Rebus follower.
All the expected ingredients of the Rebus series are to be found here: the dour inspector himself, grisly murders, a grim sense of humour, throw-away, almost James Bond-style one-liners. If you like crime fiction it ought to be pretty well impossible not to be entertained by any of these brilliant books.
In Tooth and Nail the Scottish cop is on his usual form -...
Published on 24 Aug 2000

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of an oddity
This is the third book Ian Rankin's inspector Rebus series. I am a big fan of the whole series of books (which now runs to over a dozen books) and this is a good book, if something of an oddity as it is set in London rather than Edinburgh.
The series...
...each of the books in the Rebus series is self-contained (in the sense that it deals with a case or group...
Published on 8 Sep 2005 by John E. Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The third in the series must surely hook any Rebus follower., 24 Aug 2000
By A Customer
All the expected ingredients of the Rebus series are to be found here: the dour inspector himself, grisly murders, a grim sense of humour, throw-away, almost James Bond-style one-liners. If you like crime fiction it ought to be pretty well impossible not to be entertained by any of these brilliant books.
In Tooth and Nail the Scottish cop is on his usual form - upsetting his superiors, his ex-wife and his daughter, while still managing to help Scotland Yard with their pursuit of a serial killer. With a stunning climax set in Central London, this should convince anyone who has read the first two Rebus books to stick with this complex, somewhat haunted, character. Most of the action in this story takes place in London, and the scope for Edinburgh itself to become, as it usually does in the series, virtually a character in the plot itself is therefore limited. However, this does not detract from the book because the action moves at a cracking place, the plot is well constructed and there is always a feeling of not wanting to put it down.
I have tried to read the series in order as far as possible, and I believe that this helps to enhance one's enjoyment of the world which Ian Rankin has created for Rebus. Whilst each book is self-contained, various characters seem to crop up regularly throughout the series and there are numerous references back to incidents which have taken place in earlier stories - all of which helps the whole concept to hang together very well.
Both this book and the entire series are highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of an oddity, 8 Sep 2005
This is the third book Ian Rankin's inspector Rebus series. I am a big fan of the whole series of books (which now runs to over a dozen books) and this is a good book, if something of an oddity as it is set in London rather than Edinburgh.
The series...
...each of the books in the Rebus series is self-contained (in the sense that it deals with a case or group of cases) but there is significant character development through the series and it is best to read them in order. Ian Rankin is much better writer than the average crime writer. He has a number of strengths that make the Rebus series the most enjoyable contemporary crime series. Rankin's strengths include strong story telling, the ability to conjure up imagery very quickly and effectively, strong characterisation and an excellent sense of place (he is particularly interested in exposing the seedy underbelly of Edinburgh). He writes well and does not rely on local patois or dialect (unlike Irvine Welch for example) - this has the advantage of making the books easier to read but it does lead to the sense of place occasionally faltering. For me, he is the best British crime writer, almost in the same league as Thomas Harris and James Ellroy. One of the strengths of the series is the central character, John Rebus. He is an interesting, flawed man - with a failed marriage behind him, a rather distant teenage daughter he barely knows, a traumatic military career (ultimately in the SAS) and something of a drinking problem. He is a curmudgeon - he has problems with dealing with authority but also expects absolute respect from the people below him in the hierarchy. He is not a team player, he likes to work alone and keep secrets. Despite all these flaws his passion, drive and humanity make him a sympathetic character.
The book...
...as noted above, the third book in the Inspector Rebus series is a bit of an oddity. Rankin transfers Rebus to London to try to catch a serial killer. This takes Rankin away from one of his strengths as he clearly knows London a lot less well than he knows Edinburgh and his usually faultless sense of place sometimes goes a little awry. He compensates for this with a strong story although he does flirt with cliché about the psychology of serial killers together with a rather incongruous and not entirely believable relationship for Rebus. This is a good book even if it is not entirely successful. It is one of the weaker books in the series but it is still well worth reading.
Note that there is an omnibus version, "Rebus: The Early Years", incorporating the first three novels (Knots & Crosses, Hide & Seek and Tooth & Nail) available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third Rebus novel, 13 Oct 2006
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tooth And Nail (Paperback)
This is the third Rebus novel and is set in London. Because of this it seems a little strange if you are used to the Rebus of Edinburgh but it is still a great book. If it were in Edinburgh I'm sure it would have been more in line with the other Rebus books and felt even better.

In the introduction that the author, Ian Rankin, has helpfully added it says that this is the only Rebus set in London and he did that because he was living in London at that time. It also talks about the Scottish words that are used in the book that put up a language barrier between Rebus and his London colleagues. However in the book they get their own back with the use of Cockney rhyming slang.

The book follows Rebus as he is requested to investigate a serial murder case in London from his native Scotland. It follows the case through to completion with a thrilling car chase which ends in Trafalgar Square. And as usual there are a few laughs along the way and the various thought processes of the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my first Ian Rankin, 12 Mar 2007
By 
Fiona Smith "smithy" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tooth And Nail (Paperback)
Have just read this and enjoyed it a lot. The plot was well crafted and the characters believable.

Despite being graphic and disturbing at times it was well balanced with wry humour and anedotes

I will certainly read more of this author's work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - can be read standalone or as part of series, 8 Feb 2008
By 
Janie U (Kings Cliffe, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tooth And Nail (Paperback)
I have read a lot of the Rebus books and always think that one of the great things that Ian Rankin manages to do by the end of the novel is tidy up and close off the main subject but keep enough ends still loose to feed into the next book, encouraging you to pick up another one.
This Rebus story is an interesting one as he is in London. He misses home all the time and makes lots of comparisons between his surroundings and experiences with Scottish equivalents - this I think is written as a comfort for Rebus as well giving a familiar reading experience to the reader.
I always think that Rebus is older than he actually is. The book is written in the early 90s and he is in his early 40s but seems to think that chilli and lasagne are something modern. This has the effect, to me, of making Rebus very appealing.
I am trying to read the books in order (although have read quite a few of the later ones) and I am loving the way he is developing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nailbiter, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tooth And Nail (Kindle Edition)
Didn't see the end coming for this one . picked lots of possibles but not the killer. Classic who dunnit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book for a great writer., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tooth And Nail (Kindle Edition)
Having read this book when it was first published. I wondered if it you hold my attention, and it did. There were lots of twist and turns as well as a few red herrings. To send Rebus to London was a great idea. This book is well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great., 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tooth And Nail (Kindle Edition)
Took me a long time to read this early REBUS. Why? it defines the character. Thanks it was a great retrospective on my fav copper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best, 22 Jan 2014
This review is from: Tooth And Nail (Paperback)
This is the best Rebus novel I have read. It could be that I happen to be in London and London is where the story is set. (I found the paperback in our flat.) It is not the newest, but it brought me back to the series.

On the strength of the case that won him a promotion on his home turf (Edinburgh), Rebus has been invited to join the Met's team trying to catch a serial killer. Perhaps because he doesn't know who, specifically, sent for him, and his supervisory London Inspector is somewhat hard on him, he tends to act alone. In fact, he gets himself into a bit of a jam more than twice. Rebus is a very good human being. At the same time he acts boldly, he is fearful. And though he is tentatively assertive with women, he is self-doubting.

We are impressed with our hero's humanity in scenes alternating with horrible scenes revealing the disturbed psyche of a mad killer, who seems affected by art and memories of mummy and daddy. Eventually, amidst dangers of all kinds, including being sent back North, Rebus's sharp mind puts the pieces of the ugly puzzle together. There is a riveting and yet humorous chase scene that ends up inside the national Gallery, in the gallery showing a Goya.

What takes this mystery beyond the usual rough and tumble is the use of psychology (and a lovely psychologist) to plumb the dark reaches of Wolfman's behavior and to anticipate what he/she will do next. (Yes, there is deliberate ambiguity.) In addition to the immediate storyline, Rankin picks up on the relationships Rebus has with his former wife and, more significantly, their daughter. If I must have one criticism of this book it is that there are too many convenient connections among the characters, and Rankin acknowledges that in a slippery way by having Rebus wonder about it, and then observe that London is a small town. It's not, especially for strangers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Rankin, 13 Dec 2013
By 
J. S. Morgan "johnmorgan747" (44, RH1 2JN,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tooth And Nail (Kindle Edition)
This is the the third Rebus book. Don't know how I missed it when first published as I've been an avid Rebus fan since the first one. An unputdownable book from first to last page. But then you Rebus fans already know that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tooth And Nail
Tooth And Nail by Ian Rankin (Audio CD - 3 May 2004)
Used & New from: 5.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews