Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Psychological warfare
In an attempt to undermine relations in the indomitable Gaulish village, Caesar sends out an agent who has an uncanny ability to sow discord wherever he goes. In no time at all he has the combative inhabitants at each other's throats.
Classic Asterix tale, this makes good use of the colourful characters in the village, and even has a landmark battle where all four...
Published on 12 Feb. 2008 by Keris Nine

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Format
This is a tiny edition of this book , the asterix books are printed in the size that they normally are for a good reason, so that you can enjoy Uderzos drawing, in this format you cannot. The size is included in the details but it is so unusual that it is reasonable to expect a seller to point out that they are selling a half-size rip-off. Deceptive by omission.
Published 16 months ago by m j anderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Format, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a tiny edition of this book , the asterix books are printed in the size that they normally are for a good reason, so that you can enjoy Uderzos drawing, in this format you cannot. The size is included in the details but it is so unusual that it is reasonable to expect a seller to point out that they are selling a half-size rip-off. Deceptive by omission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Psychological warfare, 12 Feb. 2008
By 
Keris Nine - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Asterix and the Roman Agent (Hardcover)
In an attempt to undermine relations in the indomitable Gaulish village, Caesar sends out an agent who has an uncanny ability to sow discord wherever he goes. In no time at all he has the combative inhabitants at each other's throats.
Classic Asterix tale, this makes good use of the colourful characters in the village, and even has a landmark battle where all four Roman camps join forces in battle against a village without magic potion, and practice their own form of "psychological warfare". Even the pirates get in on the act. Marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The enemy within, 11 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
Having failed to take the Gaulish village by force of arms, the Romans decide to plant an "enemy within". The Roman spy, Tortuous Convolvulus, flatters to decieve and sows the seeds of mistrust in all directions (the man should go into politics!). But watch out - he who sows a wind reaps a whirlwind, and Tortuous gets his just desserts when the Gauls play him at his own game. One of the best Asterix stories. If you like this, I recommend "Asterix and the Mansions of the Gods."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, memorable phrases, characters and artwork, good for young and old alike., 2 Jun. 2015
It was only through rereading this book in my middle age that I realised how I had absorbed the ideas, phrases and scenes into my own life. To a youngster, this is a glimpse into the adult world, even the political world, and it does leave you a bit wiser about manipulation and influence. In here you can watch women gossip, seeing the stages of it such as the leaning in and whispers, the group mentality. Then there is the fragility of power and how sensitive and paranoid the powerful are. some classic Asterix phrases - they just keep me around because I'm ornamental; I'm dropping the affair on the grounds of total incomprehensibility. Then the artwork - dumb Magnumopus, the chieftain boncing in frustration, and the wonderful battle of the village. It puts a smile on your face and stays in your mind. Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but still very good, 8 Dec. 2007
By 
Mr. M. R. B. Allen (Islington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Asterix and the Roman Agent (Hardcover)
Defintely not as good as the best Asterix books but even a second-tier Asterix book warrants four stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliantly observed characterisation (as always from Goscinny and Uderzo). I read it as a child, and have now bought it for my son (who loves it too)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gift for my nephew, 21 Feb. 2014
By 
D. M. Brennan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asterix and the Roman Agent (Hardcover)
This was a Christmas gift for my nephew who has now almost completed his collection of Asterix books. Very well received
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Roman Agent, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought it as it reminded me of my eldest daughter..... lol

Lets just say that she is a bit of a handful...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was excellent, my son loves it. Thank you very much. He wants more Asterix books, so we'll be back for more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asterix and the Roman Agent (Hardcover)
Bought these for my little lad, shame he cant read them yet, thats my excuse anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Asterix and the Roman Agent
Asterix and the Roman Agent by Albert Uderzo (Hardcover - 21 Oct. 2004)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews