Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars timeless, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
asterix seems timeless, son enjoys it as much as we did when we were young. Bought as the 'fun' side of a Romans project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A witty cliche of English characteristics we all recognise, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asterix in Britain (Paperback)
Very amusing. Great illustrations and up there with the best Asterix stories. I would agree with other reviewers who have also rated this highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gr8, 15 Dec 2013
Fantastic books lived this as a child even more as an adult lol and the books prices are cheap too thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic asterix, 14 Dec 2013
By 
P. Latimer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Asterix in Britain (Paperback)
classic unsurpassed Asterix - Goscinny and Uderzo at their indomitable best, and if you want an objective Gallic view of all that is best of the Brits - no magic potion required - then there is none finer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for pros in language(s)., 1 Nov 2013
By 
Goujon Yves (Tarnos, South-West of France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's all said in the subject line: a perfect translation, just as funny as the French original (I'm French) translators (I'm a Professional translator as well) should own to find inspiration through real fun and excellent humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Super Just-so!, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asterix in Britain (Paperback)
Want to know why we really drink tea? The answer is here!
Beyond the original concept of the 'irreducible Gauls' (for which read the French resistance), each Asterix book leads its heroes not only in a quest, but also seeks to explain the origin of what they discover. Rugby? Tea?The answer is here.
The English translations are fabulous! All the jokes depend on plays on words, but the ones in the English translations are probably even better. This is probably the best because it's the one where the French and English jokes all meet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic Asterix, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asterix in Britain (Paperback)
have just bought this for my nephew as he saw it at Bath Spa. Read all the Asterix books as child. reading this again as an adult, I get a lot more of the jokes! (but still fantastic book for kids)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Asterix in Britain, 21 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asterix in Britain (Paperback)
Son still interseted in Asterix after visit to Parc Asterix, France in the summer. Likes the format and pictures. Will be buying more books in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Asterix in Britain, 31 Mar 2011
If you understand British history then you will laugh your socks off! Though this book is not the full story. Get the hard back version if you want to know why the English 'cock their little finger' when drinking tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST.., 26 April 2010
By 
Pemete (Budapest, Hungary) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Asterix in Britain (Paperback)
..for all the visually distinctive brits - with bristling handlebar mustaches -living with an unquenchable love for warm beer and for jolly good hot water with just a spot of milk in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Asterix in Britain
Asterix in Britain by Albert Uderzo (Paperback - 26 May 2005)
7.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews