Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, educational and intelligent., 17 Nov 2000
By A Customer
I had never been much of a fan of Asterix (but for some reason liked Tintin) until I was writing a supposedly much more serious book on London's archaeology earlier this year, and decided to look at how different authors (both academic and popular) had imagined Roman London in the past. When I read Asterix in Britain I was astonished not only by how good the story and artwork was, but at the remarkable coincidences between Goscinny and Uderzo's depiction of Londinium and what we have actually excavated in recent years - including streets, buildings and details like timber doors just like the one knocked down by Obelix on p. 33. The similarities were almost too good to be true, so I asked for permission to use some of the images in the archaeology book called 'Heart of the City'. The publishers kindly agreed and as a result Asterix drawings can now be directly compared to real Roman buildings and other finds discovered in London in the 1990s. What greater recommendation can it have then one from the unlikely source of a London archaeologist. Mind you we still haven't found evidence for double-decker chariots. Up Britannia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most enjoyable of the lot., 10 May 2000
By A Customer
The brilliant Asterix series hits one of its high points here. Asterix in Britain provides a golden opportunity for Goscinny and Uderzo to lampoon Britishness and the British (which the French are always eager to attempt!), an opportunity that they seize with both hands.
The pages are packed with a vast array of (affectionate) British stereotypes, with constant themes being the language ("oh, I say, rather, old fruit, what?") and the famous "stiff upper lip" that my compatriots are supposed to exhibit. Obelix, of course, would rather they spent a little more time on cooking boar properly ("boiled in mint sauce, poor things")!
As with the whole Asterix series (the books written by Goscinny, in any case), the action comes at a furious pace, and the jokes are, as ever, a delight. How Bell and Hockridge (the English translators) do it is beyond me. And it's even educational - thanks to the frequent Latin tags (yes, it is funnier if you learn what they say and where they come from).
As with most Asterix books, this one can be read on several levels. Certainly, when I reread an Asterix book, I almost always find that I understand some reference or allusion for the first time (have a look at shape of the building behind the garden of the Briton who gets involved in the chariot chase!).
Most Asterix books have one particularly memorable scene - in this case, it's the rugby match (Obelix, naturally, has now found a reason to like Britain). All sorts of things going on (including in the background, a sure sign of a good cartoon), loads of people involved, mostly at cross-purposes, fights - you name it, really. Only three points for a try in those days, I notice...
If you've never read an Asterix book, you've missed a great deal. Try this one (especially if you're British yourself) and you'll see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jolly good Asterix adventure, what., 14 Aug 2004
By 
Ad van der Rest (Maidenhead, Berkshire, GB) - See all my reviews
'Asterix in Britain' is the 8th of 31 adventures published between 1961and 2001; This adventure is from 1966. This is a classic adventure set in Britain. Britain has been conquered by the Romans, except for one village in Cantium (Kent). Asterix and Obelix travel to Britain to help the village with a barrel of magic potion. The jokes come thick and fast. The Britons serve their Boar boiled, served with Mint sauce and drink warm beer (To the disgust of our heroes). Britain is lovingly reproduced: Everything stopping at 5.00 for a nice cup of hot water (with a spot of milk). The enthusiastic Gardner who will not have people walking on his grass; The Roman army in beer drinking exercises. Obelix impacting a Rugby match; The hilarious efforts of Asterix and Obelix to find each other in the Tower of London. I consider this adventure in the top 10. This new re-inked and re-coloured edition breathes fresh life into this excellent story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great humour, one of the best books of the series, 28 July 2009
By 
A. Guimaraes (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Asterix in Britain (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of Asterix and I think that this is one of the funniest book of the series.

In this book, Caesar successfully invades Britain because the British soldiers would stop their battles for "tea" - which happens to be just plain hot water (with milk!) - and refuse to fight over the weekend. Only one village remains unconquered and they need the help of Getafix, the druid, with his magic potion. So Asterix and Obelix are sent to help the british in their battle. And coincidentally, also help the british to discover the herbal tea!

I just love the way that they explore historical facts, the language and clichés with amazing and sharp humour while delivering their story. There are loads of cultural references, from Churchill, football, the channel tunnel, the british coolness and indifference and most importantly the infamous british cooking - Obelix is outraged every time the british boil the boar with mint sauce instead of roasting it.

Brilliant humour, Goscinny at his best writing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I rate this book 5 crowns in terms of childrens books!, 21 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This book is a very thrilling book,especially for 8-13 year olds.I read this book a long time ago,and I'm not afraid to say that I will never get bored of reading it!This book is great fun so if you haven't read it,do so NOW!Children and adults can read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asterix in Britain, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
`Asterix in Britain' is yet another delightful book in the Asterix series and if you are familiar with the other books you will know the general style and format of the book. Basically Asterix and his friend Obelix are recruited to help their British cousins fight the Romans and escort a barrel of magic potion back to Britain. It gets mislaid on the way and they have to track it down before the Romans do. This leads eventually to the usual ending with much Roman bashing and fighting. There is slightly more to the story than that, but you should read it yourself to see what unfolds. This has the typical play on words and pun jokes Asterix is famous for, as well as the wonderful touches in the animation that really bring the scenes to life. There are also numerous comments and jokes on British society and culture (warm beer, tea drinking, rugby matches, British cooking, British emotional reserve etc etc) and it is all very funny and tongue in cheek. If you a fan of Asterix you will know what to expect and this is as good as they come and if you are new to Asterix then you can't go far wrong than if you start here. Great animation, simple but fun story and more Gaulish adventures, what more could you ask for.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking adventure through a strange land, 28 Aug 2007
This review is from: Asterix in Britain (Paperback)
Not the best written story, it's not very inventive and feels quite loose, but is still very satirical, with plenty of references to our very different customs. Our Gallic heroes seem to get quite cross after a while with their cousins from across the water, for being so...well, English! A pacy adventure through Ancient Britain, complete with warm beer and strange customs. Very popular here, for obvious reasons, but I'm not sure if this is even in my top ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Asterix story, 18 Oct 2014
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Asterix in Britain (Paperback)
This is the eighth Asterix adventure and this time Asterix is in Britain.

At the book's beginning Caesar invades Britain. "All Britain was occupied... All? No... one village still holds out against the invaders." Sound familiar? Anyway they can't hold out for much longer so Anticlimax, a second cousin, once removed of Asterix, goes in search of the famous magic potion. A barrel is made and Asterix and Obelix escort Anticlimax and the barrel back across Britain with the Romans hot on their trail.

Along the way there is a lot of fun and jokes, although maybe too much stereotyping of certain things, tea for example, but all-in-all another great Asterix story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asterix in Britain (Paperback)
Much appreciated thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice comic, 11 May 2014
This review is from: Asterix in Britain (Paperback)
I read it for ages, it is really a good comics. This one is actually interesting to see how the british clichés are shown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Asterix in Britain
Asterix in Britain by Albert Uderzo (Paperback - 26 May 2005)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews