Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exciting Asterix adventure among the Goths, 10 Sep 2004
By 
Ad van der Rest (Maidenhead, Berkshire, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Asterix and the Goths (Asterix (Orion Hardcover)) (Hardcover)
'Asterix and the Goths' is the third of 31 adventures published between 1961 and 2001; This adventure is from 1963. This is the first of many books where Asterix and Obelix travel to another country and make fun of the ideas we have about that nation. Getafix the Druid attends the Druid Conference at the Forest of the Carnutes. A raiding party of Goths is watching the Conference (like Druid 'Oscars') to kidnap a Druid to help their cause. Asterix and Obelix must follow the Goths to set things right. Like all Asterix adventures this story works, on slightly different levels, for both children and adults. This is a comedy of confusion. The Romans have confused the Gauls with the Goth's. The Gothic chieftans are plotting against each other. The Gauls are playing on the suspicion of all the leaders, playing groups off against each other. The drawings are polished, compared to the crude colouring in the original 1974 UK edition. The new edition wonderfully re-inks and re-colours the story. The drawings are sharp and the colours are bright. An enjoyable and interesting story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny adventure, 18 Mar 2008
By 
KN (Lancs. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is easily one of the best Asterix stories.

It begins with Getafix competing against his peers at the druids contest, and winning. Then we are introduced to the Goths, a warrior race bent on conquest but somewhat lacking in brains. Having spied on the druids contest, they kidnap Getafix for his magic potion.

Things don't turn out as planned for the Goths, as Asterix, Obelix and Getafix manipulate the different Gothic tribes to turn on each other. First, with the magic potion, and then without it. The Goths are too dense and busy fighting each other to notice the effects wearing off!

This leads to mayhem in Germania that lasts for years, keeping them out of Gaul. A brilliant story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Asterix a breath of fresh air, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These books just take me back to my childhood, And now at 55 there like a breath of fresh air I for one recommend them, If you Know Asterix from your childhood or are new to the asterix stories I suggest you get these and enjoy, I already have the next 2 new one's pre orderd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic Asterix tale, 6 Jun 2012
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the third Asterix adventure. It starts with Getafix getting ready to leave the village for the annual druid conference (which is what he was getting ready for in the previous book Asterix and the Golden Sickle, although both are still stand-alone). Unfortunately Getafix ends up getting kidnapped by the Goths who need a druid to help them invade the Roman-invaded France. It is down to Asterix and Obelix to rescue him.

A great story with the Goths talking in Gothic text, and lots of humour too what with all the running battles going on and such. The village feast scene returns at the end too. A classic Asterix tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves these books, 22 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. N. Cairns (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My son really enjoys these books, brings back memories from when I used to read Asterix about 30 years (or more) ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest comics ever, 20 Nov 2001
By 
Saravanan (Srivilliputtur, India) - See all my reviews
This is THE best in Asterix comics. After Getafix gave the magic potion to some Goths the story briefly outline the history of clash between all goths.
It was So funny and sometimes I used to think that it was a satirical attack on the modern wars.
It is a must for Asterix lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars christmas present, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asterix and the Goths (Asterix (Orion Hardcover)) (Hardcover)
purchased as a christmas present so cant comment on the book itself but the service was good and fast even though it was the christmas period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENJOY IT., 29 Jun 1999
By A Customer
FANTASTIC, AMAZING, BRILLIANT, EXCELLENT, ASTONISHING, REMARKABLE, PERFECT, briefly: PURE ASTERIX ENJOY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Asterix and the Goths (Asterix (Orion Hardcover))
Asterix and the Goths (Asterix (Orion Hardcover)) by Albert Uderzo (Hardcover - 15 April 2004)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews