Customer Reviews


19 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am Asterix the Gaul, and I will have my Druid back., 8 Aug. 2004
By 
Ad van der Rest (Maidenhead, Berkshire, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Asterix The Gladiator (Hardcover)
'Asterix the Gladiator' is the 4th of 31 adventures published between 1961and 2001; This adventure is from 1964. It has it all: Bad singing, a unique use for Parsley, a Chariot race to equal Ben Hur and cutting edge Gladiator training (minus Russell Crowe). Asterix and Obelix travel to Rome to rescue their Druid Cacofonix from a fatal encounter with the Lions in the Colloseum. Cocofonix is treated with serious disrespect most of the time because of his appalling singing, but the Gauls pull together when 'one of their own' is under threat. There is no real peril for Cacofonix as we know that rescue is inevitably on the way. As usual, Asterix and Obelix impose their Gallic attitude wherever they are; the Romans just have to make way (as does the water in the Roman baths). This is the best adventure yet, and for me rates in the top 10 of the 31 adventures. This new re-inked and re-coloured edition brings new life to the story. My original 1969 edition was not badly produced, but clothing colour was originally inconsistent with later adventures, and this has now been corrected. Fully deserving of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Asterix the Galdiator, 23 Jan. 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Asterix the Gladiator (Paperback)
`Asterix the Gladiator' is one of my favourite Asterix books and it has all the elements of the series I have grown to love. It has a simple but engaging story, the excellent tongue in cheek humour, the delightful animation and plenty of play on words that always raise a smile. This has so many aspects that make this particular book enjoyable, be it the various funny names (Odius asparagus for example) or nice touches like Obelix collecting Roman helmets as a tally of the soldiers he has beaten up, this book is charming throughout. This follows Asterix and Obelix as they go to rescue their bard Cacofonix who is captured by the Romans and is condemned to being thrown to the lions. The only way they can get to him is by becoming Gladiators and it is here that the real fun begins. Of course there is much Roman bashing, the inevitable pirates will get sunk and I'm sure there is a roast boar or two in there and it is these common themes to each book that delight fans, whilst the individual stories keep you from getting bored with the format. If you haven't tried any Asterix books yet then this is a pretty good place to start, it has all the aspects that have made the series so beloved and it is a great story to boot. I have read this many times and still enjoy it and I'd say it is a pretty safe bet most other readers will as well.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent addition to the series, 1 April 2014
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Asterix the Gladiator (Paperback)
This is the fourth Asterix adventure. Odius Asparagus, the Prefect of Gaul, is going on leave to Rome and wants to take a present for Caesar. "I have a brilliant idea! Why not take Caesar one of the invincible Gauls?"

The least intimidating of the indomitable Gauls is Cacofonix the bard so he is the one kidnapped and taken to Rome. Asterix and Obelix are hot on their heels though to try and get their bard back. While in Rome they find out that Caesar wants to throw him to the lions at the next games in Circus Maximus, and "only condemned men, lions and gladiators get into the circus," so they train to be gladiators.

The book features fights galore, at which Obelix collects helmets of the people (mainly Romans) he beats as part of a competition with Asterix. The pirates also feature for the first time in the Asterix series.

The story involves a kidnapping, just like the previous adventure Asterix and the Goths did, but this doesn't detract from the story here. The strong, well-defined characters make for some really good jokes, including plenty at the expense of the bard and his bad singing. This is another excellent Asterix story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good version - but not great, 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asterix the Gladiator (Paperback)
I've been a great Asterix fan for nearly 50 years.
Sadly, I lost all my original books some years ago so I'm now collecting them again, from book 1.

I love the re-coloured versions of the early books as it brings them more into line with the newer ones.
Ok - not original, but I prefer the better colouring.

Books 1, 2 and 3 have been done brilliantly - this one - not quite so good.
It does appear to have been re-coloured in a bit of a rush, and not as neatly, or as sharply as the others.

Still a superb book though that I'm pleased to have.
Great story too....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent Fun!, 22 Oct. 2010
In the 70's, Asterix was cult:
resisting Roman imperialism, and succeed!
Extremely funny also the Romans with their subtle
resistance -- and hereby undermining! -- towards
Caesar's aspirations.
This is funny on so many levels: the personal (watch
the look on the face of Caesar's son!), the social,
the political, the economic --giving an intelligent
funny description how things function. Because it is
so well researched, on learns also something about
history.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny as they come!, 19 April 2014
By 
Mr. DW JONES (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Asterix stories never cease to make me laugh. The witty storyline along with excellent cartoon work is a great double act... Just as much as the heros themselves. The liberties taken by the English translations turn these books into a fantastic and hilarious read. By the way... The Romans are crazy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Asterix, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good read, very funny, brings back fond memories from a bygone childhood. would recommend to children of all ages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, tom 8, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ave. Really enjoyed the magic potion and the characters. I like Caesar because he is funny. I would like the magic potion to be real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 28 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Asterix the Gladiator (Paperback)
bought for a university course. An enjoyable and easy read. Paper back, as expected, and arrived on time. Great quality. Cheapest I could find and a great buy considering the hard back addition is £15 upwards!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another one to add to the collection, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asterix the Gladiator (Paperback)
We are collecting the Asterix books, so this was another one to add to the collection. Perfect condition and sent promptly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Asterix the Gladiator
Asterix the Gladiator by Albert Uderzo (Paperback - 21 April 2005)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews