Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars11
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2004
'Asterix and the Banquet' is the 5th of 31 adventures published between 1961and 2001; This adventure is from 1965, although it did not manage a UK publication until 1979. It is the most French adventure, being literally a tour of France. The Romans beseige the village, enraging the Gauls. Asterix and Obelix decide to travel Gaul assembling a Banquet from specialities across the country to show the Romans that the Gauls are entitled to travel in their own country if they want to. Their journey around Gaul, from their village (somewhere on the North-Western peninsula between Tregastel-Plage and Perros Guirec), goes Clockwise round France, through Rouen, Paris, Cambrai, Rheims, Metz, Lyon, Nice, Marseilles, Toulouse, Agen, Bordeux and Le Conquet, before returning to their village. The story is not as focused as some of the finest adventures, but this is still a good story. Many of the laughs are about the French people and the incompetent occupying Roman army. Obelix first meets his faithful dog Dogmatix, who follows Obelix from outside a Pork Butcher in Paris (Lutetia) unnoticed by our heroes until they return to the Gaulish Village. This new re-inked and re-coloured edition is not much changed compared to the (already good quality) 1979 edition. It is glossier and a little brighter, but the improvement is not as marked as with earlier adventures.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2000
This is one of those rare Asterix books where we get to meet other characters from the village out of their natural habitiat. In this case Chief Vitalstatistix is visiting his brother in law, and takes our intrepid heroes along for the ride, on ampora leads to another and soon Asterix and Obelix are treking around Gaul looking for delicacies for the inevitable final banquet. As usual there are plenty of Romans and magic potion to spice things up. If you are already a fan of Asterix then thhis book will definitely not disappoint, if you've never read about the exploits of the little Gaul before, then what have you been doing? Buy this immediately!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
This comic was excellent which I had read book but it was ruined. I bought digital book is perfect and excellent condition forever. Better than Apple's iBooks version because of there's no front cover on iBooks. Amazon has front cover. Price is good reason.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
Always a fan of asterix and obelix, i enjoy the comedy in it and the artistry.

will recomend it anyday.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
Bought these for my little lad, shame he cant read them yet, thats my excuse anyway.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Love it. Plus - first sighting of Dogmatix!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
This one is looking fine so that ok
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 April 2014
This is the fifth Asterix adventure. Roman General Overanxious is on a special mission from Caesar. "All Gaul is at peace with the liberating Roman Army, except this one little village of dissidents."

After he fails to battle them into submission he has another idea. "We shall isolate the Gaulish village from the outside world. You'll have to be self-sufficient and live on the produce of your own village! The outside world will forget you."

Asterix has other ideas though and makes a bet that he and Obelix will be able to escape, go on a tour of Gaul and return with all the local food specialties from all over Gaul as prove, serving them in a big banquet.

"And this is the start of the famous tour of Gaul."

The plot is a bit busy I feel and would be most appreciated if you knew France and the stereotypes of its people. However there are still some good jokes in here, mainly relating to Obelix's weight and some of the character names, such as a guy they meet who betrays them called Unpatriotix, and two highwaymen they encounter, Villanus and Unscrupulus. The pirates feature again, and Dogmatix is introduced, although not by name.

Overall maybe not the best Asterix but that is because of the high standards of the other ones.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2011
My son is tearing through these Asterix books. They were recommended to us by a specialist teacher as the language used in them is so varied. Of course the cartoon pictures help too!
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
OK
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.