Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last Bosch is back !!!
We always have to wait a year for a new Bosch novel and that is my only complaint about Mr Connelly. Detective Bosch has always been one of my favorites (along with Jack Reacher) and in this novel he is back with LAPD and his partner Kiz Ryder.
The pace is fast, maybe too fast as i finished the book in three days and again i have to wait another year for the next...
Published on 1 Jun 2005 by Markus Ronald

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First Bosch I solved before the end ...
Bosch is back in the LAPD doing what he does best - trawling through casebooks and solving the unsolvable.

Bosch is one of my favourite fiction characters, different but alongside Jack Reacher for tenacity. However, we go in a different direction with Closers. Gone is the verve of the old Bosch, instead we get a story that is in the main dry and soulless. For...
Published on 21 Mar 2007 by J. Potter


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last Bosch is back !!!, 1 Jun 2005
By 
Markus Ronald "Ronnie" (Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Closers (Hardcover)
We always have to wait a year for a new Bosch novel and that is my only complaint about Mr Connelly. Detective Bosch has always been one of my favorites (along with Jack Reacher) and in this novel he is back with LAPD and his partner Kiz Ryder.
The pace is fast, maybe too fast as i finished the book in three days and again i have to wait another year for the next novel. If you have not discovered Bosch then you have a lot of reading to do as there are now thirteen novels available and they are all as good as you can get. The plot unfolds beautifully and Connelly succeeds again in twisting you around his little finger.
I liked the introduction of a new commander, and he definately adds colour to this new novel.
So, in conclusion, go for it ! you will not be disappointed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars connelly just gets better and better!, 17 May 2005
This review is from: The Closers (Hardcover)
After a two year retirement Detective Harry Bosch is back with the LAPD currently assigned to the cold case files. The first case out the of the chute is the killing of a highschool teen 17 years prior. the case is reopened after blood is matched to that found on the murder weapon -- DNA evidence, and the blood belongs to local white supremacist Roland Mackey (of mixed race himself black father white mother). This might all sound like an episode of CSI, but as Connelly always does he deftly takes the reader deeper into the characters and the plot finding meaning beyound just a police procedural who-dun-it. To my mind no one tops Connelly in this genre, and even those who don't normally read thrillers should take a stabe at Conelly. This book and "A Tourist in the Yucatan" have been my favorite thriller reads of 2005! Tourist is a rough little gem, check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Connelly - The Closers, 28 Jan 2006
By 
RachelWalker "RachelW" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
After a 3 year hiatus, Harry Bosch is back with the LAPD, largely thanks to his ex-partner Kizmin Rider. Now they’re back working together, in the Open-Unsolved department of homicide, hoping to apply new techniques to old, near-forgotten cases in order to catch perpetrators who have so far escaped the reach of justice. The first case they’re dealt is the unsolved, 17-year-old murder of teenager Becky Verloren, taken from her bed and shot dead in the hills above her home.
It’s a case, with uncomfortable political and racial undercurrents, that sees Harry Bosch back in his element, and Connelly writing close to the top of his game.
Let’s face it: Bosch is always at his best when he’s getting down and dirty righting wrongs, fighting for justice for those who can no longer get it for themselves. He is, unfailingly, at his most compelling in the thick of a case, usually one that has lain cold for a long time. Connelly is at his best, too, with these kinds of cases, and he is even more able to render the keen and sharp sting of injustice when it’s a state of affairs that has stood for a long time. He’s at his best when race is an issue, too, even a tangential one as here. The Closers is near his best, then? Without a doubt, in my opinion.
While The Narrows was a great thriller, it wasn’t really such a great detective novel. Seems that way a year later, anyway. Looking back, the impression is that it went very fast, seemed to be over almost too quickly. Enjoyable and high-class fiction, indeed, a thrilling thriller indeed also, but lacking that vital something which makes a good Bosch novel an absolutely great one, which this new one is. Back in LA, back in Homicide, Harry is where he really belongs, and you feel it. Harry seems wonderfully at home, less restless, more content than he’s been in a while, and you’re only able to feel glad about it. His new boss isn’t out to get him, either, which is a refreshing change: there’s a great potential new relationship here that could prove fertile ground in future novels. With this new book Connelly has again extended the potential of his series.

With Harry back where he belongs, Connelly’s able to do what he’s always been so good at: atomise Los Angeles, a city where, despite its name, no one seems to be entirely innocent, and a city full of contrasts:
“It was a city full of haves and have nots, movie stars and extras, drivers and the driven, predators and pre. The fat and the hungry and little room in between. A city that despite all of that would still have them lining up and waiting every day behind the bomb barricades to get in.”
Like its real-life counterpart, Connelly’s L.A. has a fascinating, hypnotic pull that keeps me coming back, glad to be there every time.
Though the plot threatens to drag for a little while in the middle, largely due to lack of progress on the case (and thus in the book), in the end the whole thing pays off as satisfyingly (hugely so) as the first pages would suggest, with a truly excellent close. Another huge success, complete with a couple of deep punches to the gut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rhymes with Anonymous, 15 April 2006
"The Closers" is Michael Connelly's fifteenth novel, his eleventh to feature Harry Bosch and was first published in 2005. Orphaned at twelve when his mother was murdered, Bosch's teenage years were spent in and out of orphanages. He enlisted in the army and served in Viet-Nam, before returning home and joining the police force. Once a member of the LAPD's elite RHD (Robbery-Homicide Division), he was demoted to the Hollywood Division after an Internal Affairs investigation. After more than ten years in Hollywood, he was notified of a 'promotion' back to RHD - however, he chose to quit the force instead. Bosch had occasionally been seen by some as a maverick, but increasingly by others as a 'man with a mission'. He left the LAPD with an armful of Hollywood's open-unsolved cases, tool out a private investigator's licence and continued to 'speak for the dead'. However, a couple of phone calls from a former partner, Kizmin Rider, have now led to his return to the LAPD.

"The Closers" tells of Bosch's first case back with the Department. Although he has been partnered with Kiz Rider again, Harry is now working in a very different environment. The pair have been assigned to the Open - Unsolved Unit and are based at the Parker Center rather than at Hollywood. Kiz had worked with the Police Chief as a policy advisor after leaving Hollywood : she had impressed sufficiently for him to approve both Bosch's return to the Department and her transfer to the Unit. However, Harry has been put on probation for a year : any mistake will be punished with a very quick return to civilian life. Harry's arch-nemesis, Deputy-Chief Irving, doesn't take long in 'welcoming' him back. Irving, once a very powerful figure in the Department, has been sidelined by the new Chief and given a minor posting away from the Parker Center. However, he is convinced that Bosch will make a blunder so embarrassing to the Chief it will guarantee his own return to power : nobody else, he feels, could clear up the subsequent mess.

Bosch's first case is a 'cold' hit. Rebecca Verloren, a sixteen-year-old mixed-race schoolgirl, was murdered in 1988. A couple of early blunders in the original investigation had led to the case initially being written off as suicide. However, after the autopsy was completed and the gun was analysed, the case was re-classified a murder. Unfortunately, no suspects were ever identified and the case went cold. However, some blood and tissue had been found inside the gun and recent advances in DNA comparison techniques have given the department a possible suspect and motive. Roland Mackey, although his record hadn't included murder, had been a serial offender and did have links to some white-power groups - including the Chatsworth Eights. Furthermore, the gun used to kill Rebecca had been stolen from a Jewish man who had been harassed by the Eights. However, Harry and Kiz both realise they don't yet have enough evidence to bring a string case against Mackey. There are also a few loose ends that may need looking into. Rebecca, it would appear, had a few secrets - including a boyfriend, a pregnancy and an abortion.

Connelly has produced another very good book. He has made the right decision in returning Harry to the LAPD, and a very clever one in not returning him to Hollywood. I was glad to see Harry contacting Jerry Edgar (a former partner) at one point, while a meeting with Thelma Kibble provides an enjoyable couple of pages. Thelma, who had made her first appearance in the standalone novel "Void Moon", turns up here as Mackey's probation agent. The meeting reminds Harry of the events of "A Darkness More Than Night" and also a neighbour he had in Vegas, during "The Narrows". It would probably be a slight advantage, though it's not entirely necessary, to have read one or two of the previous Bosch novels. "Angel's Flight", an excellent book, would give an indication of Harry's relationship with both Kiz Rider and Irving - either way, "The Closers" is definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open-Unsolved Unit- aka Cold Case, 24 Jun 2005
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Closers (Hardcover)
Detective Hieronymus "Harry" Bosch is back in all his glory. Michael Connelly, in his eleventh novel, has brought Harry back to the Los Angeles Police Department. Harry had retired but after three years his feet were itchy to get back to his real love, LAPD. He was invited back by his old partner, Kismin Rider. She is a smart, tough but warm detective and very much respected by her peers.
Harry came back to the Open-Unsolved Unit (aka "cold case" squad). This excited him. He had so many unsolved crimes in his career, and in his mind he could picture many of them. On his first day at the squad he was obtaining coffee for his partner when his old nemesis, Deputy Chief Irvin S. Irving, gave him a warning, "Watch your step, Harry, there are many watching you!" This threat didn't bother Harry, but the fact that Irving sought him out made Harry wonder what the real story was all about. Later that day, Harry and Rizen were given their first case. Rebecca Verloren, 16, was discovered missing from her Chatsworth home many years ago, and now, there was a new DNA clue to help them solve this mystery.
Along the way Harry relies upon his skills, sometimes a bit rusty, but his "gut" is so sure that he knows what clues to look at and what is real and what is sometimes false. He gets back to his research, and the people he knew before he quit the job. Often, a long ago name or profile will surface, and we wonder how long will it be before this person shows up. A next door neighbor from Las Vegas from one of his last cases bears a remarkable resemblance to one of the people seen in a newspaper article that has a close relationship to this new case. Michael Connelly often inserts small clues about previous stories into his novels, and I find this piece of detective work thrilling. I look forward to each novel to find the most unlikely clues inserted in the most unlikely places.
Harry Bosch has arrived in this novel. He feels at home. He knows his job, he is a seasoned partner, but all the same, this is a new beginning. Harry does his best job and his best reasoning in this novel. Michael Connelly has found the heart of the man in this novel. "The Closers" is the best of the best and highly recommended. prisrob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very solid police procedural, 28 Dec 2005
By 
Kentspur (Er...Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a very solid Harry Bosch novel. Well-written, logical and with enough plot twists and turns to make it interesting without making it silly.
I think the difficulty with such a long running character is that they themselves can become a fraction dull. No description of what he looks like etc; little development (there's not a lot left to develop is there this long into the series) and I did not get the impression that he 'lived' outside of the confines of the story. The romantic encounter - at least he got one - is so tastefully handled that it's blink and miss it and the references to his daughter seem to be there so she does not drop out totally a la EastEnders when a character becomes inconvenient.
I picked the killer straight away. First time he was mentioned. That did not wreck the tension of tracking him down. It just made me feel mebbe I've read too many of these things. I think I've got how Connelly selects his murderers and gets them in to the book early enough that they are established, but fading by the time they are revealed so their unmasking is a surprise.
Negativity aside, this is a very strong work. It does exactly what it says on the tin. Solid and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and taught - A "no tricks" solid read, 5 Mar 2006
By 
Brian Butterly "Varied Taste" (Dorking UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Excellent tale of a closed case that reopens under the auspices of a new team where Harry Bosch comes out of retirement to work with a former partner. Bosch is not rusty when it comes to sifting the evidence and the predictable / cliche type of story doesn't inflict itself upon this novel.
It is an entirely plausible and gripping narrative with good characterisation, the rebuilding of the partnership and the unfolding events all work to keep the reader's interest throughout.
I read it going back and forth on the commuter train and it made the journey fly by. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars L.A. Cold Case Confidential, 25 Mar 2007
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I must confess to being new to Michael Connelly and his well-established leading character Detective Harry Bosch, but I'm told that reading this 2005 `episode' won't spoil my enjoyment of earlier instalments so I think it safe to say that, after reading The Closers, I will surely be buying most of Connelly's back catalogue. Put simply, he's a very good writer, very vaguely in the mould of Ian Rankin in the sense that he doesn't go for bombs and fireworks but instead concentrates on what's going on in the mind of our leading man - and his leading lady partner I hasten to add, Kiz Rider.

The whole story from start to finish is told from Harry Bosch's point of view. This is made slightly easier because he and Rider are investigating a cold case that stretches back 17 years, an unsolved and apparently motiveless murder of a teenage girl. Again, drawing the parallel with Rankin's Detective Rebus, this is a tale of relentless and by-the-numbers police procedural work, with Bosch occasionally taking some maverick-style risks (based on his gut instincts) in order to get his man. Along the way he interviews several potential suspects and the reader will inevitably be drawn into making judgement calls as to who is the culprit and who's just a red herring. So good old fashioned who-done-it I suppose but it rarely if ever felt stereotyped or unoriginal. My one complaint is that I ended the book not really knowing what Harry Bosch looks like - tall or short, broad or thin, and can only assume that the majority of readers of this successful series will already know. Some say that we draw the pictures of characters in our minds based upon what they do and what they say; in my case I have to confess that I was none the wiser at the end than I was at the beginning. In his partner Rider I felt that she had a little bit more clout and kudos than (sorry for the comparison) Shiobhan Clarke, partner of John Rebus, and she deserved her place as the other main character although again I closed the book knowing little more about her as a person than I had on page one.

Overall though a very professional and thorough piece of writing with few flaws and none worth mentioning; it's not thrilling but it certainly gets you `into it' and sharing Bosch's determination to track the killer down. The mark of a good story then: one that you find yourself caring about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars First Bosch I solved before the end ..., 21 Mar 2007
By 
J. Potter "johniebg" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Bosch is back in the LAPD doing what he does best - trawling through casebooks and solving the unsolvable.

Bosch is one of my favourite fiction characters, different but alongside Jack Reacher for tenacity. However, we go in a different direction with Closers. Gone is the verve of the old Bosch, instead we get a story that is in the main dry and soulless. For 300 pages we pace through the numbers with only the odd sniff of the man we know and love. Not sure what is going on here. The lack of colour from the story could possibly have been explained away with a little introspection of the Bosch character, listless at his daughters departure to Hong Kong, but there is no attempt. We have a few highlights with his study of the casebook - a Bosch trademark but the real Bosch doesn't kick in until the last 100 pages. From then on we are cool, but this sort of story telling used to happen with Connelly from page one.

This is the first Bosch plot I had worked out before the end, which says more about the story telling than it does my ability to solve murders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good to have Harry Bosch back on the force, 7 Aug 2006
By 
Linda Oskam "dutch-traveller" (Amsterdam Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After a break of three years Harry Bosch is back on the LAPD police force, working as a detective on the newly established Open-Unsolved Unit (aka Cold Cases) together with his partner Kiz Ryder. They get the case of a young girl who was found murdered in 1988. With the new DNA techniques that are now avaiable they have found a possible suspect, but everything is too obvious about this guy, except for an obvious connection between him and the victim. So it takes Harry and Kiz a few days of good detective work, some good lateral thinking and some luck to find the real culprit.

It is good to have Harry Bosch back on the force and it is a streak of genius from Michael Connelly to attach him to a Cold Cases Unit, as this gives a lot of freedom to the author to come up with interesting cases and to give a good description of policing procedures. A nice read, even though not Connelly's best effort as solving the case goes at times too smoothly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Closers
The Closers by Michael Connelly (Hardcover - 16 May 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews