Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best read!
A fantastic book; well worth the read. You ride the journey along side pippa as she reveals the heartaches and upset to the most pragnatic times in her life so much so you feel as though you are part of her! Would definately recommend this book i couldn't put it down!
Published on 28 July 2010 by K8

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly inspirational.....
Until I read this book I did have huge admiration for Pippa, now not so much.

There is more characters in this book than there is in my local town. The book really does ooze selfishness. There is not a mention of her giving up anything, from a young age it was all about what Pippa wanted and it reflected on her competitive youth career as it all came too easy...
Published on 20 Dec. 2011 by Druid


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly inspirational....., 20 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Pippa Funnell: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Until I read this book I did have huge admiration for Pippa, now not so much.

There is more characters in this book than there is in my local town. The book really does ooze selfishness. There is not a mention of her giving up anything, from a young age it was all about what Pippa wanted and it reflected on her competitive youth career as it all came too easy. So in youths she got by on a horse that was a machine cross country but her dressage sucked....only really getting on to teams because of jumping clear, it really shows an insight that she was a clueless pony clubber sitting on a sassy "push button" as when she finally nailed dressage she then struggled to ride cross country on other horses when it came to senior level but its nice to see she is far from a natural. Sheer grit and determination and a dash of cop on got her to grow up and finally earn a place on senior teams.

However, I can remember she competed at Tattersalls 3star event about 2/3 years ago and was rather moaney during an television interview about the height of the show jumping course.....did she expect the organisers to lower it for her, it was up to height and certainly not what you expect to hear from a rider with such alleged caliber.

The book is definitely worth a read, don't expect to learn too much about horses but learn how one should manage their personal attitude and approach if they have intentions of making a career in such a tough sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best read!, 28 July 2010
This review is from: Pippa Funnell: The Autobiography (Paperback)
A fantastic book; well worth the read. You ride the journey along side pippa as she reveals the heartaches and upset to the most pragnatic times in her life so much so you feel as though you are part of her! Would definately recommend this book i couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Had to be surgically removed from my hands!!, 30 Dec. 2004
By 
Kate Smith (Notts, England) - See all my reviews
This is by far the Best book I have read for years if not ever! Having said that I am a Huge fan of eventing and of course Pippa. This is definately the best autobiography I have read from an eventer, and showed the side of the sport many people don't actually realise is there. It had me laughing so much I cried with the Monkey incident, and reduced me to tears with the loss of Orville and Barnaby, to name but a few instances. Pippa has spared no emotion in this book, and it makes you really see what sacrifices she has made to become arguably the best in the biz. You feel you are riding the rollercoaster of highs and lows with her every step of the way, which is what makes this book stand out for me as the best I've read. After reading it you will know so much of what Pippa's been through you will feel that you have been a friend of hers for years!! Utterly Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pippa Funnell: the autobiography, 16 April 2009
By 
Regina Kershaw "mumjak" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pippa Funnell: The Autobiography (Paperback)
I loved this book so much I ordered another one straightaway for my
"horsey" daughter. It brought back vivid memories of horse-trials
watched on TV or reviewed in Horse and Hound.
It's Pippa's amazing honesty and forthrightness that appeals,from her
deep love for her horses to her relationship with William.
I think it would appeal to the younger generation too as a model of
persistence and faith in one's chosen career.
It is one of those rare books I shall treasure always (soppy,but there
you go...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A story told from the heart of eventing, 22 Mar. 2005
By 
Robert Stevenson (Halifax, NS Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Pippa Funnell - the autobiography
The equestrian sport of eventing has experienced a great deal of scrutiny, tragedy and change in the past decade. Though much discussion over the past three years has been of the new format changes, the most uncontested feel-good story in the community has been that of Pippa Funnell. Thankfully, Pippa found the time through a very busy 2004 to record some of the details of her journey.
Remarkably, she tells the story of her life to this moment in time (21 August 2004 -- such that the book could be launched at Burghley) in such a way that it is not just a summary of happenings. She draws you into to her horse crazed youth. She describes the pains of pursuing the life of an athlete - one where both parents are not always pleased with your decisions. She describes the sacrifices - particularly as they relate to family - that are implicit in the life of one seeking to be the best in the world. She details each event in the book with great success. Information is supplied for the reason of understanding - no more, no less, and we are then able to follow the story-line as it unfolds. She displays the uncanny ability to transmit the feeling of her 'nerves' into her written text. Fortunately, there is no tidy epilogue - and this is most suitable as her story continues.
Her account of the equestrian details is most satisfying. She expounds on her development as a rider - both physically and mentally/emotionally. Her insight in to her cross country riding and balance should be duly noted by many. Through her account of her work with Nicky Heath, we all learn of the importance of the mental game. And of course, she tells her tale in a fashion that pays highest respect to the horses that have made her successes possible.
When we finish her story, we feel satisfied that she has really 'left no stone unturned.' We get the sense that things will never truly go 'belly up' for Pippa Funnell ever again. Go ahead, read this book, and then shower your horse with praise. Thank you Mrs. Funnell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too many characters!, 3 Jan. 2005
This book has more "characters" than the Bible. I got the overwhelming feeling that Pippa did not want to offend any one of the (many) people who have supported her over the years, and as such left no-one out. This meant that the book for me, was short on what I would have enjoyed more - hearing about the horses and the preparations involved in a competitive, physically demanding and precarious sport. She seemed to have little recall for amusing anecdotes for the period before she started to write the book, and it was still on the dull side even once she was keeping a diary. Overall I would have preferred more about what the horses were/are like and training difficulties encountered and less about the wonderful people who put her up for a night in France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfactory, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pippa Funnell: The Autobiography (Paperback)
A subjective opinion about a subjective and likely ghost written account of someone's life experience. How much could one deduce from this, in order to inform a decision on the purchase of this book? Ultimately, if you like horses, give it a crack. After all, you can get it for less than 3 quid and if you can afford a horse, that's nothing. My wife seems to like it so that's to the good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this!!, 3 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Pippa Funnell: The Autobiography (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. Having read most of the top eventer's autobiographies, I have to say that this was the one that I most enjoyed. I was able to relate to Pippa more, as the book was very honest especially when dealing with her competition nerves and marital problems. It made her seem more human, despite being extremely successful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutetly fabulous read, 20 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Pippa Funnell: The Autobiography (Paperback)
Once i picked up this book i could hardly put it down,every chapter drew me more and more into the book.The book took you all through her journey to the top and also how her and her team mates trained for sydney. I would definately reccomend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not as good as expected, 4 Jan. 2005
By 
S. Harrison "Sal" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was really looking forward to this book, but was disappointed with it. In the book itself, Pippa tells us that the writing of the book happened when she had little time and was very busy, and Im afraid it shows. There is little of the behind the scenes information and you dont really get a feel for what it is like in Pippa's world. It is more a list of went here, this happened, went there, that happened, did this, I liked it, did that, I didnt like it, but no real pazzazz or enthusiasm to it.
Pippa is a wonderful, inspirational horsewoman and a genuinely nice person, and I wanted to share her experiences with her. Unfortunately it became a bit of a mundane read and really didnt open up Pippa's world to the reader in the way I expected. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pippa Funnell: The Autobiography
Pippa Funnell: The Autobiography by Pippa Funnell (Paperback - 1 Sept. 2005)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews