Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very strange trio of men.
A morning walk along the beach from his home,The Watch House, for his newspaper leads Wycliffe on a trail which mystifies him. Suicide? Murder? Yet another of Burley's which I read in 2 sittings. He offers so much besides a good crime novel - tho' not his best for me - his academic musings on art, mathematics, authors; his cosy relationship with Helen, his love of a good...
Published on 25 Mar 2007 by Jane Baker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars predictable
Easy to read book. not a great deal of concentration needed, so would be a good holiday read. Dated in parts if read now. on the lines of Agatha Christie.
Published on 6 Aug 2012 by Jewels


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very strange trio of men., 25 Mar 2007
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wycliffe's Wild-Goose Chase (Wycliffe Mysteries) (Paperback)
A morning walk along the beach from his home,The Watch House, for his newspaper leads Wycliffe on a trail which mystifies him. Suicide? Murder? Yet another of Burley's which I read in 2 sittings. He offers so much besides a good crime novel - tho' not his best for me - his academic musings on art, mathematics, authors; his cosy relationship with Helen, his love of a good meal - he always seems to manage to find a decent pub for lunch. The other thing I like is his habit of mentally reminding himself of clues, clips of conversations which help with bits the reader may have forgotten. A rich variety of characters - all slightly weird or unusual and Wycliffe himself is very aware of his own flaws and insecurities. A man I'd love to have dinner with!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wycliffe's Wild-Goose chase, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My partner has always enjoyed Wycliffe books and this one is no exception. A book that is hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great storyline as always, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great read by W J Burley, just makes me want to read more and more. I look forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Jun 2013
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fully deserved five star rating. I enjoyed this book and read it in two sessions. I recommend it to all Kindle readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wycliffe Novel, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe's Wild-Goose Chase (Wycliffe Mysteries) (Paperback)
A good read, I like Wycliffe novels. Complex but not too much. Nice to read in bed before sleep. Interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars predictable, 6 Aug 2012
Easy to read book. not a great deal of concentration needed, so would be a good holiday read. Dated in parts if read now. on the lines of Agatha Christie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pleasurable reading, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Get pleasure from reading the Wycliffe novels and consider them well researched and written giving the reader an unparalled viev of the geography and population of the area well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wycliffe's Wild-Goose Chase (Wycliffe Mysteries)
Wycliffe's Wild-Goose Chase (Wycliffe Mysteries) by W.J. Burley (Paperback - 6 Oct 2005)
6.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews