Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An truly outstanding novel!
This book, James M. Cain's debut novel, is arguable the finest of its genre and certainly of its period. Whereas previous first person narrative crime novels were seen from the eyes of the law, "The Postman Always Rings Twice" describes the crimes committed from the perpetrator's point of view. The novella moves along at a fast speed and can be read in one...
Published on 20 Jun 2001

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Postmqn Always Rings Twice.
The story is straightforward written in a worh a day Amer English. The characters are drawn with a few significant strokes and the trail ofactions flow easily. I shared the emotional pains of the man and his partner. Theey were responsible for the liquidation of the husband, still .......
Published 10 months ago by Kanen Ragoonaden


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This may well be the most perfect short novel ever written., 3 Dec 2011
By 
Rachel Moody (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Postman Always Rings Twice (Hardcover)
I urge anyone interested in character driven, fast paced and spare writing, read this perfect novel, even if you have seen the film and think you know the story there is plenty to learn and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Postman Always Rings Twice, 28 Jun 2010
By 
N. A. Spencer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Crime thrillers are not what I would usually read but I found a copy of this book in a charity shop and decided to give it a go as I had nothing to lose. I was not disappointed, though only a small book (128 pages)the author wastes no time in getting the reader engrossed in the action. Frank Chambers (the drifter) soon ingratiates himself on Cora, the wife of Nick Papadakis when he arrives at their diner. From that moment on the plot develops quickly as Frank and Cora plot against the trusting Nick. Their subterfuge is portrayed brilliantly by Cain as the action and suspense increases. The plot twists and turns as the pair use increasing cunning to be rid of Nick. The pace of the narrative does not diminish in any way as the reader is led to an unforeseen climax.

Having read The Postman Always Rings Twice I would search out other works by James M Cain and other authors within the crime genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James M. Cain and Film Noir (May contain spoilers), 13 Feb 2010
James M. Cain's novels The Postman Always Rings Twice and Double Indemnity (amoung others) were made into Films during the 1940s.
The Postman Always Rings Twice is classic hardboiled fiction, a sexy violent and love story. Its fast paced narrative and enthralling plot ensnares the reader in the salacious world of Frank Chambers and Cora Papadakis. The book was later developed into a film in 1946 after a long fight with the censors.
The story tells a twisted love story between our protagonist and the femme fatale, whom plot to kill her husband in the hopes of being together.

A fantastic read from a truly talented writer. As Dashiell Hammett puts it "A good, swift, violent story"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut eros diam, interdum nec pharetra nec, aliquam in lacus. Vivamus ullamcorper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal and efficient, 14 May 2011
By 
J. S. Dixon "Jeremy Dixon" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book on the recommendation of a friend. The story is based around three characters, Frank Chambers - a petty crook, Nick Papakadis - a Greek bar owner whom he goes to work for his moody wife Cora. Chambers and Cora are imorral and greedy and the Greek bar owner is affable but stupid. However, the book is so well written that you come to empathise with all the characters despite their obvious flaws.

Whilst the style might be characterised as "hard boiled", it is also moving. This is a very short book, almost a novella. The startling thing about it is the simplicity and sparseness of the language. Not a word is wasted. The suspense is maintained throughout. I felt that I wanted to read it it again to work out how the author had made so much out of so little. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a classic, 10 Mar 2011
It seems no accident that the victim of the crime in this story is a Greek, for the plot seems to have much in common with a Greek tragedy: the protagonists are subject to their own passions and their behaviour seems to be punished by a series of fateful events. Lust, murder and a series of betrayals lead to the ultimate downfall of the central character, the narrator of the story.

The prose style is terse and reminiscent of other similar stories of the thirties, such as the novels of Raymond Chandler. It's easy to see how this book so easily lent itself to the 'film noir' genre and not only inspired Hollywood films, but also Visconti's Italian classic film 'Ossessione'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, short, compelling, 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Postman Always Rings Twice (Hardcover)
I read this book inspired by the film. The book's starkness means that unlike most adaptations there is more texture on screen than on the page. However, the clipped style of writing inspires a much more vivid sense of the main character and more appropriate lack of clarity about Cora, the 'dame'. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing, 10 May 2008
By 
A.K.Farrar "AKF" (Timisoara, Romania) - See all my reviews
Some books are just straight disturbing - this is one of them.

I initially thought it was only a tacky thrill getter - bit of sex, bit of violence and a `tough talking dude' - but once I broke through that (and it did take some breaking through) I realized this is quite a well written book.

It is about violence - it is about alienation - it is about deprivation and emotional screw-up: It is about justice and the perverseness of morality.

That is a pretty strong cocktail, and the language, of necessity, is harsh, unforgiving and downright brutal at points.

So too the plot - with an economy to be admired, there is an attempted murder, a successful murder and an accident resulting in another kind of murder ... all in the space of around 120 pages.

Women get slapped around - and like it: Men get beaten-up - and don't. It is the `film-noire' world beloved of the gangster genre. But this is not a gangster book.

The chief character is a drifter - he bums around America - scratching a living here, stealing there, spending short periods in jail before moving on.

He drifts into a situation where his animal driven lusts and craftiness allow access to what I am tempted to say is a perfect partner for him. There is the problem of her husband - and their attempt to remove him forms the spine of the story.

But, `As flies to wanton boys ... `

The God's agents are the forces of law and order - who are playing a game with lesser mortals. Any sense of justice or basic human decency is soon swept away once we encounter the petty motives fuelling both defence and prosecution.

I have to admit, I am reminded of Tess, of Lear and Heathcliffe ... pretty strong company for a pot-boiler to evoke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Postmqn Always Rings Twice., 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story is straightforward written in a worh a day Amer English. The characters are drawn with a few significant strokes and the trail ofactions flow easily. I shared the emotional pains of the man and his partner. Theey were responsible for the liquidation of the husband, still .......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars frankly boring, 24 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Postman Always Rings Twice (Hardcover)
I am afraid to say i did not quite get this plot. I am not sure how it became published. I would not recommend this book to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Postman Always Rings Twice
The Postman Always Rings Twice by James M. Cain (Hardcover - 24 Mar 2005)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews