Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoyed the film, you'll enjoy this.
I must admit I only bought this book due to the films baesd on it, as I was interested in how the book differed to the movie. In my experience, movies usually massacre books when they're converted to the big screen yet I was fairly impressed by the movie and therefore assumed that the book must be just as good.
This book deviates from my usual preference of book, so...
Published on 15 Dec 2004 by Matt Horton

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fantasy but the films are better
Well you know how it is you start reading a book (after seeing the film) and at first you are really enthusiastic but gradually as the book goes on you find the going less easy and towards the end it feels like you are running through a sand dune (you desperately want to reach the end and come out the other side but you feel tired and can't really be bothered). Ok, maybe...
Published on 9 Mar 2009 by Duncan Light


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoyed the film, you'll enjoy this., 15 Dec 2004
This review is from: Robert Ludlum: The Bourne Trilogy: The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
I must admit I only bought this book due to the films baesd on it, as I was interested in how the book differed to the movie. In my experience, movies usually massacre books when they're converted to the big screen yet I was fairly impressed by the movie and therefore assumed that the book must be just as good.
This book deviates from my usual preference of book, so I can't compare it to other books in its genre. I can however say that I thoroughly enjoyed these books, but they differ greatly from the films as the book is a lot more complicated, and contains many things that just cannot be included into a 2-hour movie. This is actually a good thing, because I wasn't bored while reading these books even though I'd already knew how it'd end.
The story itself is refreshing in its content - it is original and unclichéd, and definitely deserves 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Bourne Trilogy - Good Reading, 6 Jun 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Dumbarton, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robert Ludlum: The Bourne Trilogy: The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
Firstly, if you don't like heavy books, then buy the novels separately. I already have several of this type (Michael Connelly, James Lee Burke, Ian Rankin), so knew what to expect when I ordered. But be warned - three decent length novels in a single volume makes for a hefty tome.
Twenty or more years ago I read a lot of Ludlum books, but then moved onto other authors and forgot all about him. But, like many people, I have seen all three of the Bourne films, each of them several times. Somehow, knowing who's on which side and what happens next does not detract from the excitement.
So I decided to read the books and see what Ludlum's original stories were like. And what a revelation! The films seem to take the basic premise of the story behind the books then veer off in a completely direction.
The books can each be read in isolation, although you'd be daft to buy the trilogy and not start at the beginning! There is more depth in the books than in the films and there are twists and turns to keep you wondering what's to happen next. I read from the start of the first to the end of the third as if it were a single continuous story. Thought about reading something else in between each one but couldn't bring myself to put it down until I'd read the lot.
If you've seen the films and think it'd be boring to then read the books, don't worry, the main similarity is the name of the eponymous hero. The stories are far more detailed and intricate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could be a bit overwhelming..., 22 Aug 2007
By 
Sara Chung (SF, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robert Ludlum: The Bourne Trilogy: The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
I orginally read all three books at different times years ago. I Loved them all, especially the first one. I picked up the trilogy book as it seemed a good way to read them all again. I have to say it was not as enjoyable the second time around. Probably because I knew what was comming and also it became a chore to slug through the 1,400 pages. I recommend a reader do one book at a time then take a reak for a few weeks or more before comming back, otherwise it all starts to run together. The Bourne Identity is a classic in the thriller genre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Great, 27 April 2004
By 
M. Barrow (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robert Ludlum: The Bourne Trilogy: The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book if you're the kind of person who can pick up abook, and read for two days solid. If you're not, then you may struggle. Ihave an hour commute on the train to and from London each day, so read afair bit. Prior to this, I had read most of the Clancy and a few of theGrisham books, among others.
With Clancy and Grisham, the pace is fairly steady, however with theBourne trilogy, expect much more of a rollercoaster; you can find yourselfreading for three days before reaching an exciting bit. Don't get me wrongthough the exciting bits really are fantastic when they come along.
Another thing to bear in mind is that the book is big - it's about 9"tall, 5" wide and 2" thick, that really makes for some reading!
Overall, worth buying if you're a fast reader, have plenty of time on yourhands, and have very strong arms!
Oh, and the story is good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Yardstick, 13 Sep 2009
This review is from: Robert Ludlum: The Bourne Trilogy: The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
For me this trilogy will always be the yardstick against which I compare action/adventure and thriller/assassin/government agency themed novels.

It is considerably more complex than the films, although they do provide an excellent adaptation and are very good in their own right. But the plot is changed a lot and reduced a lot for the films. You miss out on some of the best action and a lot of the character development.

I think what is most appealing about Bourne is not only his identity crisis after waking up, wounded, and not knowing who he is, that he works for a clandestine government agency. A lot of the appeal is also in how he goes about his job. Unlike James Bond and others, he doesn't rely on gadgets and contacts and having massive amounts of money thrown at each mission. He doesn't have a team to back him up. He's just one man with a mission, and he carries it out in a totally believable way. Everything from his fighting techniques, the way he eludes those chasing him, to how he manages to run circles around the authorities, with their superior technology and manpower, are incredible yet completely believable. When he does rely on the help of others, it's a select few trusted friends and ex-colleagues, and he uses their skills and contacts intelligently. He's somewhat understated, as compared to a lot of action-heroes, and it's a more intelligent brand of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A GREAT IDEA!, 13 Aug 2004
This review is from: Robert Ludlum: The Bourne Trilogy: The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
I read the Bourne books years ago and enjoyed them immensely! With the new movie comming out I thought I'd reread this classic thriller trilogy, and was pleseantly surprised to see all three books available in one Volume. Bravo! A capital Idea! If you have never read these books you are in for a treat, no great literature but wonderful reading for a summer afternoon of escapisim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, Great Plot, Great Characters, Great Book, 10 Jan 2005
This review is from: Robert Ludlum: The Bourne Trilogy: The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
Having seen the film, I was interested in reading the book. It doesn't take long to see that the plot of the book is very different from the film.
For example, it is not just a story about bourne against the US government, he also has problems with another assassin, so there is more dynamics involved in the plot, keeping it fresh through the three books.
You will get drawn into the characters, they are well written and change through the story.
Overall - great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bourne Trilogy - A Very Basic Review, 30 July 2007
This review is from: Robert Ludlum: The Bourne Trilogy: The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
If you can deal with the fact that Robert Ludlum sometimes used 30 words when 10 would have sufficed and if you can deal with a story where Mobile Communication, Modems and Sat Nav haven't been invented or aren't in the full public domain, then these three books are a truly excellent read. Upon reading these, you'll reach straight for the fourth book book in the series, which is as good as the first three, if not better.

WARNING - If you're expecting a carbon copy of the motion picture scripts, beware, the stories are completely different, except for the whole "Assasin loses his memory" 'thing'. Characters that are dead in the films are alive in the books, characters that are alive in the films...you get my drift... All three books are truly well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discovering the Bourne Identity, 17 Jan 2006
This review is from: Robert Ludlum: The Bourne Trilogy: The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
I started to read a book about 10 years ago. I went to a wedding, slept over at someone's house and in the morning pulled a book off of the shelf. Fantastic, a real page turner. I put the book down, got distracted, only later realising I had left it behind, and would not get the chance to go back. To top it all I couldn't remember the title. Skip forward 10 or so years and I was gob smacked when I saw the Bourne Identity!!! The same book that I had thought about on and off for about 10 years!!!! These books have no real pretensions as high brow literature, but are very good ( if not some of the best) thrillers. Robert Ludlum was a damn good author. Buy these if you have or have not seen the film. As good a Jason Bourne Matt Damon is, you will like the original. Buy BUY BUY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bourne Trilogy, 25 Jan 2012
By 
H. Oakes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robert Ludlum: The Bourne Trilogy: The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum (Paperback)
Always loved this Trilogy! read the original Bourne Identity after seeing the original film of the same name, with Jackie Smith and Richard Chamberlain. (Watch it, its far better than the Matt Damon version!) no special effects just seriously good acting. Book is great! Love the tension and excitement that builds, its believable too. Great author as always.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robert Ludlum: The Bourne Trilogy: The Bourne Identity, The Bourne Supremacy, The Bourne Ultimatum
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews