Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regency Romps
Jane Austen 'sequels'. There's the good, the bad and the indifferent, with the majority unfortunately falling into the latter two categories! This book is more Heyer than Austen, but by leaving the main players from Pride & Prejudice pretty well alone we at least avoid the complete personality changes seen in some 'sequels'! As another reviewer has already mentioned I...
Published on 26 Nov 2004 by Mrs. D. J. Smith

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling. Threw this down in disgust 3 pages from the end
If you’re looking for something true to the style of Jane Austen—do a 180 degree turn and never look back!
This attempt at a sequel to Pride and Prejudice, as written by Elizabeth Aston, is found greatly wanting. This is no better than your standard paperback Regency Romance. The plot is predictable and in no way original. The pacing was also hard to...
Published on 16 July 2003 by A Reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Regency Romps, 26 Nov 2004
By 
Mrs. D. J. Smith "eowyngreenleaf" (Luton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr. Darcy's Daughters (Paperback)
Jane Austen 'sequels'. There's the good, the bad and the indifferent, with the majority unfortunately falling into the latter two categories! This book is more Heyer than Austen, but by leaving the main players from Pride & Prejudice pretty well alone we at least avoid the complete personality changes seen in some 'sequels'! As another reviewer has already mentioned I too thought that Mrs Gardiner and Ex-Col Fitzwilliam were a bit off and although I thought parts of the plot a little unlikely I still found this to be a light an enjoyable read and was able to lose myself in Regency London!
Overall I'd say that this is one of the better 'sequels' out there, but it is by no means Austen. If you're looking for Lizzy and Darcy you won't find them here, but at least you know they have a happy marriage, despite what some continuatiors propose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling. Threw this down in disgust 3 pages from the end, 16 July 2003
This review is from: Mr. Darcy's Daughters (Paperback)
If you’re looking for something true to the style of Jane Austen—do a 180 degree turn and never look back!
This attempt at a sequel to Pride and Prejudice, as written by Elizabeth Aston, is found greatly wanting. This is no better than your standard paperback Regency Romance. The plot is predictable and in no way original. The pacing was also hard to endure--I felt like I was on a plane that suddenly crashed!
The characters are unlikable, and even Camilla Darcy is an unsympathetic character. The “romance” that occurs is both contrived and unbelievable. In addition, the author introduces characters with great potential, but does not use them to her advantage. In particular, George Warren is introduced with the potential for being a major antagonist, but he disappears as quickly as he appears. The author also seems to have misjudged the personalities of Mrs. Gardiner and Mr. Fitzwilliam—both were sympathetic and likable characters in Pride and Prejudice. You will recall that Fitzwilliam, in P & P, seemed to enjoy Elizabeth Darcy’s quick wit. Mrs. Gardiner, in P & P, is also presented in a similar manner—tolerant and affectionate. In this novel, Aston presents them as high-minded people who do not appear to regard their relations with any particular, sincere affection.
The author had a slew of opportunities to turn this novel around, but she didn’t appear to know what she wanted to do with them. Instead, we have a half-baked book here. She had moments of great potential, but ignored them.
Stick to Jane Austen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy sequel to Pride and Prejudice, 8 Dec 2008
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Darcy's Daughters (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and have read it twice now. I think the author has been sensible in leaving the major P&P characters in the background and imagining how the children of Darcy and Elizabeth might have turned out. Camilla - the second child - is very like her mother and Letitia - the oldest - reminded me of Mary - Elizabeth's blue stocking sister. The plot and its ramifications grows out of the characters of the main protagonists and the scrapes they get themselves into. What the book does highlight well are the changes in morals and the treatment and behaviour of women by 1818 - 3 years after Waterloo. The eighteenth century ways are disappearing and people are becoming more prudish and less tolerant. These shifts in themselves account for the changes in behaviour of Mr & Mrs Gardiner and the former Colonel Fitzwilliam. I think other reviewers have forgotten that the events of this book take place at least 21 years later than the events described in P&P. The book is well written and the characters believable. Jane Austen it isn't and nor is it meant to be but I think it comes close to being similar to the book Jane Austen might have written if she had been writing today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darcy's daughters at large, 8 April 2003
This review is from: Mr. Darcy's Daughters (Paperback)
Five daughters of Fitzwilliam and Elizabeth Darcy on the look out for husbands in London. Much more Georgette Heyer than Jane Austen but none the less an amusing and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so much a continuation as a new story, 20 April 2006
By 
Kindle Customer (Charlton, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr Darcy's Daughters (Paperback)
This was the first sequel that I read, after picking it up in the library and it captivated me. The descriptions were enjoyable and the sisters had very distinct characters. It would have been nice to see the Elizabeth and Darcy again, but it also meant that the book didn't have to be to closely related to P&P, instead it could have it's own plot without having to be faithful to the original novel. Not enough attention to detail is one fault that brings many sequels down. A love story of it's own, but if you are looking for a continuation of the original love story look towards "Mr Darcy Takes a Wife."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars drivel, 8 Jan 2005
By 
vib "vib" (London in England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mr Darcy's Daughters (Paperback)
I adore Austen sequels and picked this up with high hopes, only to be disappointed. Sadly, Lizzie and Mr Darcy are despatched abroad at the outset, so the P+P people who re-appear are Col. Fitzwilliam and Mrs Gardiner - both, IMO, seriously out of character. I also found it implausible that the girls could be let run so wild during their first season; surely they would be more watched and guarded?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Delight, 3 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr Darcy's Daughters (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It worked in bringing back to me the delight of the regency era and the pure pleasure I received in reading the original Pride and Prejudice. Although there are a few points in the book that slightly annoyed me, such as the 'hero' of the piece at first prefering the stupid and artificial Sophie to our 'heroine' Camilla, which made me want to throw something at the silly man. Also the fact that Camilla's sisters 'Night and Day' were let off the reigns a little which anyone could see was an obvious precursor to the havoc that came soon after. I can see the point of some of the reviewers that the plot was a little weak at times but I think that overall the story in the end makes up for any deficiancies of plot and narrative structure. This has given me the push to read other continuations of the story and find further enjoyment in the Darcy family. Alethea was a character that caught my eye in this story, with her strength of charcter and strong wit. Her story will be the next one I will read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 17 Feb 2007
By 
Diane E. Griffith (Romulus, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mr Darcy's Daughters (Paperback)
While Mr Darcy's Daughters is not a classic in the Jane Austin tradition, it is a witty and well paced novel in it's own right. If your looking for a classic Austin read Austin. If your looking for a delightful lighthearted book that is well written and well paced than Mr. Darcy's Daughters is for you. No it's not Austin but it is not suppost to be. It is a wonderful book by a talented author who has great promise and should be judged on her own merit. Read Mr. Darcy's daughters because it is a good novel, don't read it because you want to climb into the pages of a Jane Auston novel. Auston is gone, few if any can match her talent, but Ms. Aston gives it a damn good shot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Darcy's Daughters
Mr Darcy's Daughters by Elizabeth Aston (Paperback - 19 Aug 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews