Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first rate read.
I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish. David Niven was I believe one of the great characters of both Hollywood and the British film industry. This book contains so much information about Niv and all the famous people he mixed with. It does not over glamourise him nor does it go to lengths to damage his image. It relies on a lot of comments and opinions of...
Published on 26 Oct. 2009 by A. R. Jacubs

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It depends on what you want
This is the book to read if you want a well researched, detailed account of David Niven's life, warts and all. Lord reveals the Niven stripped of anecdotes and easy chatter. After half way through, I found the detail tedious and an endless list of 'who's who' in which film - and he made a lot of films. It depends on what you want, facts for a film buff or the stretched...
Published 11 months ago by Gina


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Dec. 2014
By 
B. CHARLES (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting book,giving slightly different prospective on previous autobiographical books by David Niven
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent biography of a charming gentleman, 10 May 2013
By 
BlackBrigand (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
NIV: THE AUTHORISED BIOGRAPHY OF DAVID NIVEN Graham Lord (Hardcover Edition)

My wife is actually the collector of theatrical and film biographies but I bought this one as the great David Niven was a friend to my father and I met him on a couple of occasions when I was a small child.

Graham Lord paints a revealing, amusing and sometimes emotive portrait of a man who lived his life with deep personal tragedies marring his happiness but who will always be loved by the public as a fine actor, a brilliant conversationalist and speaker and the author of several books of dubious veracity but immense humour.

Much of the content was previously unpublished and was drawn form interviews with his closest family and friends and personal correspondence and manuscripts never previously released by his estate.

An excellent biography of a much loved actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read, great price a very affectionate tribute
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Worthwhile and Absorbing Read, 9 Jan. 2014
By 
Andrew McCann (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Without doubt David Niven was a fascinating raconteur in addition to his attributes as a film actor. Consequently his life story, as revealed in his autobiographical 'The Moon's a Balloon,' makes an interesting read and it is no surprise that it was a best seller, when first released.

Having read the book many years ago, I recently re-read it once again having found 'The Moon's a Balloon available as a Kindle download.

Shortly afterwards I became aware of Graham Lord's `Niv' and found this to be an intriguing complement to `The Moon's a Balloon, ` despite the fact that it covers much of the same subject.

What Graham Lord's biography does well is to provide an objective view of Niv, especially from the perspectives of those who knew him well. The book also provides intriguing insights into the trials and tribulations in Niv's life and provokes a more in-depth understanding of the real David Niven.

Personally I found this to be a worthwhile and absorbing read, which worked particularly well alongside a renewed acquaintance with `The Moon's a Balloon'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read, and sad also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent absorbing read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A VERY GOOD READ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Dec. 2014
By 
David Watkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Niv: The Authorised Biography of David Niven
Niv: The Authorised Biography of David Niven by Graham Lord (Paperback - 14 Jun. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews