Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good and not at all boring
I was surprised to see some people considered this book dull. I actually found it be the best-written and most believable of his books (I have not yet read Brandenberg). He's gotten much better at working in his exposition instead of having characters "reminding" each other so much what happened before the book began. I found this book much less confusing than his...
Published on 3 Mar 2006

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time for a change
It's definitely time for a change. Having enjoyed Porter's previous work I found this disappointing and barely credible. There are too many far-fetched scenarios and set pieces for a start, and the story itself fizzles out to a damp squib ending. The heroine,Herrick, is badly drawn and Porter's previous adversaries, Vigo and Harland, are wheeled out in bit parts almost...
Published on 7 Nov 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good and not at all boring, 3 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Empire State (Paperback)
I was surprised to see some people considered this book dull. I actually found it be the best-written and most believable of his books (I have not yet read Brandenberg). He's gotten much better at working in his exposition instead of having characters "reminding" each other so much what happened before the book began. I found this book much less confusing than his other books, with his characters more interesting and more clearly defined so it's easier telling one from another, a bit of a problem with his first two books. As for the reviewer who felt the "liberal press" dumped on the novel, I can't imagine why that would happen. Just because the bad guys are Islamist terrorists doesn't make the book an ultra-conservative tract--it's not one at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really believable conspiracy novel - a 1984 for 2010, 26 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire State (Paperback)
As with other Henry Porter thrillers, this is well written, crisp and pacy, and hard to put down. But this is much, much more frightening than his earlier books.

Based on recent technological developments, it poses the notion that a corrupt and corrupted government can - and most likely will - invade our privacy and manipulate us for its own political ends.

When I started to read the book, it seemed that some of the surveillance technology described and in existence was only ever likely to be used by spooks or in war - spy drones, co-ordidated access to all our on-line or electronic transactions, segregation of aliens etc.

But the horrors depicted became fact even as I read the book. Spy drones are now being deployed in the West Country, and the proposal to put everyone's health records on a data base, and later, that all our interactions with goverment should be electronic and an electronic profile obtained, is now a reality.

What will be next? On-line voting, so that exercising our democratic freedoms become, in reality, just another means of the government controlling our every thought, belief and action?

This book depicts in clear, readable, and horrifying clarity, what has begun to happen to this nation. If the technology is there, a corrupt government will use it to control us. George Orwell was right, and so is Henry Porter.

What we need now is concerted campaign to make sure the tide is turned back and we can reclaim our ancient freedoms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Time for a change, 7 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Empire State (Hardcover)
It's definitely time for a change. Having enjoyed Porter's previous work I found this disappointing and barely credible. There are too many far-fetched scenarios and set pieces for a start, and the story itself fizzles out to a damp squib ending. The heroine,Herrick, is badly drawn and Porter's previous adversaries, Vigo and Harland, are wheeled out in bit parts almost incidental to the plot. Overall, not a patch on Remembrance Day and A Spy's Life. This is the literary equivalent of a rock band's difficult second album.
Time to go back to the basics Henry; pace, realism and believable characters are fundamental to this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars magnificent!, 28 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Empire State (Hardcover)
rarely has it been my pleasure to be gripped by a book such as this. many words, all of praise, spring to mind about mr porter's fictitious explanation of why the west had to act as it did in afghanistan and iraq. prescient. noble. necessary. and right. mr porter is no american flag waver. no, he uses fiction to demonstrate that might is not always right. is democracy better, per se, than the theocratical societies of the middle east. mr porter does not know and makes no pretence to do so. instead he concentrates on the human relationships underpinning the peace keepers of the united nations and their allies, and foes, of the western intelligence agencies. violence is there as is sex and not always enjoyable but mr porter wants to show us what is real, not what is pretty and must be applauded for that. this is what makes this book such an exceptional exposition of why the west is right and has to keep fighting intolerance wherever it is found., not an easy message but an important one nonethlessless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chilling, 26 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Empire State (Hardcover)
Having spent a week in New York I was chilled to the core by this book. For all the apparent way New Yorkers have recovered from the cataclysm of 9/11 this recovery is only skin deep. The traffic snarls, people rush hither and thither and the fast food outlets - scrumy - are packed. And yet as Mr Porter points out with such tautness all is not as it seems. For here in New York lurks menace. The book moves around the globe at a dizzying pace. Unlike some readers I was not all confused by this. Mr Porter's takes us with him as the hero Hartland and the mysterious Janice grapple with the threat posed by Islamic fundamentalists. Make no mistake these people are enemies of their own people as well as of the West. Their hypocrisy knows no bounds. They eat pork, smoke, drink and use women for their own ends and all the while protest they are truly holy. Mr Porter casts no judgement and poses as the dumb narrator. It is obvious to me he knows more about the secret world than he lets on. And that is why this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting, 3 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Empire State (Hardcover)
At first none of this book makes sense. The head of the US National Security Agency is knocked off at Heathrow. A Pakistani employee at the airport and his family are then discovered also dead in their council house nearby. Sammy Ziade in New York is delivered two postcards showing the Empire State Building from someone called Laz Khan, one posted in Turkey and the other, Iran. A group of migrant workers, including Laz, en route from Afghanistan to the EU is killed in Macedonia. Laz escapes death, but is then tortured by the Man With No Name. It falls to our old friend and the hero of Mr Porter's previous explosive novel Robert Harland and his loyal sidekick Jennifer to sort it out on behalf of the UN. To the uniniated all this might seem a parody of earlier Cold War thrillers when the action moved around the world like a mad metronome. But in Mr Porter's more than able hands the cliche of what acdemics on thriller writing have dismissed as "hectic scene shifting "becomes one of those must-read books. Some of the characters who we meet early on never appear again and their role remains unclear but generally everything falls into place. We are plunged headlong, feet first, into a brutal world where no one can be trusted and where no one has any mercy. Only Harland has any sense of decency and standing up for what is right, as opposed to what is expedient. As in his earlier novels Mr Porter has captured the flavour of the world behind the headlines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire State (Kindle Edition)
This is a good spy thriller no hesitation in recommending. No more to say its dumb kindle insist I say more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good book from Henry Porter, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire State (Kindle Edition)
I have read and really enjoyed 3 of Henry Porters books, they are well plotted and engaging, If you like credible complexity, a strong narrative and believable characters look no further. Empire State, has them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a read, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire State (Kindle Edition)
This book had me gripped from the very beginning. I read the one before this and could not wait to start. Will keep you guessing right up to the very end and so many twists, turns it is a real thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire State (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoy Henry's writing all his books are well put together. Great page turner, found it difficult to but down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Empire State
Empire State by Henry Porter (Paperback - 15 April 2004)
£6.65
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews