Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read
Strong women are Maureen Lee's speciality - strong Liverpudlian women living in the 1940s, to be precise. And they don't come much stronger than Queenie. She is a gem. I've read, I think, all of Maureen Lee's Bootle sagas and her characterisations just get better and better. The novel takes its cast of memorable characters from childhood through to adulthood, from the...
Published on 16 Sep 2004 by Clarky

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars boring
I am reading my 13th book of Maureen Lee but unfotunately Queen of the Mersey was so boring.
I kept on reading it up to pg 165, then i couldn't read anymore.
I am now reading The September Girls, this is more like the Maureen Lee i know.
Up to now Stepping Stones and Queen of the Mersey have been her 2 worst books,
in my humble opinion.
Published 24 months ago by loretta


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read, 16 Sep 2004
By 
Clarky (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Queen of the Mersey (Paperback)
Strong women are Maureen Lee's speciality - strong Liverpudlian women living in the 1940s, to be precise. And they don't come much stronger than Queenie. She is a gem. I've read, I think, all of Maureen Lee's Bootle sagas and her characterisations just get better and better. The novel takes its cast of memorable characters from childhood through to adulthood, from the 1930s to the 1970s, with many unexpected and dramatic twists and turns along the way, bringing the wartime and post-wartime years to life in a fresh and lively way. Even if you are far too young to remember air raids and the evacuation of children from the cities to the countryside, I think you'll enjoy Maureen Lee's evocation of how it must have felt. Highly recommended if you want to be swept along by a gripping tale, well told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen of the Mersey, 15 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Queen of the Mersey (Paperback)
I have read about a quarter of the book so far and am thoroughly enjoying it. I have not read one of Maureen Lee's books without liking them, this one is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed the MaureenLee books that I have read so far with this being no exception. Great read, takes you right into the story where you feel part of the characters lives. Maureen Lee stories are set during WW2 as is this story...and then beyond...right through to the 70's. I am mising the characters now that I have finished this book but will be purchasing another Maureen Lee immediately.
I would say if you enjoy her books, this is one NOT to be missed...I highly recommend. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maureen Lee, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
This review is from: Queen of the Mersey (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes Good Reading., 5 Mar 2014
Maureen Lee is a really good author. My late mum first put me on to her books. Never looked back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen of the Mersey (Paperback)
brought many of these books , they are good used books in very good condition
would recommend this book by Maureen lee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Queen of the Mersey, 13 Nov 2013
Maureen Lee's books are very interesting and easy to read. They are well researched and historically correct and her characters appear to be very real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars about every day lives of people, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very down to earth book about how people lived their lives in poor conditions during the war ,sad happy funny ,interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book really easy to read very interesting and well worth buying. Maureen Lee is a good author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Queen of the Mersey
Queen of the Mersey by Maureen Lee (Paperback - 5 Feb 2009)
6.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews