Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing
Francis Garland, is found shot dead in the street and Wycliffe is called in to investigate. He soon discovers that the victim's father, Edwin, died of a heart attack a few days before and starts to wonder whether or not he was murdered too. There is a complex network of relationships and rivalries going on around the Garland family and Edwin Garland's will only adds to...
Published on 19 Jan. 2012 by Damaskcat

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, but not the best of Wycliffe
When local businessman Edwin Garland dies of a heart attack, there's not much surprise in it. But when his son is shot dead on the evening of his funeral, both deaths become the focus of a murder investigation. Was Garland murdered as well? And even if he wasn't, are the deaths connected?

Garland's will hints at some enormous joke perpetrated by Garland and his...
Published on 2 Jan. 2010 by Jules Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, but not the best of Wycliffe, 2 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Wycliffe and the Winsor Blue (Paperback)
When local businessman Edwin Garland dies of a heart attack, there's not much surprise in it. But when his son is shot dead on the evening of his funeral, both deaths become the focus of a murder investigation. Was Garland murdered as well? And even if he wasn't, are the deaths connected?

Garland's will hints at some enormous joke perpetrated by Garland and his friend, artist Gifford Tate; a joke that has not yet finished playing out. Tate died some years ago, and the last remaining member of their trio of friends has no idea what his friends were up to. Wycliffe realises that the will may provide more than the obvious financial clues as to motives for murder. But teasing out the real clues from the abundant red herrings may take him a little while...

It's not difficult to work out what joke Gifford and Tate were playing, as the clues are clearly signposted for the reader -- perhaps a little too clearly, because it takes Wycliffe an annoyingly long time to realise what is going on. But there's still plenty of meat in the shifting stories offered by the suspects as they try to protect themselves and their secrets, and knowing what the joke was is only part of what's needed to be sure of whodunnit and why. Watching Wycliffe and his colleagues painstakingly sift through conflicting stories and motives to find the real truth is an entertaining way to pass a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 19 Jan. 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Francis Garland, is found shot dead in the street and Wycliffe is called in to investigate. He soon discovers that the victim's father, Edwin, died of a heart attack a few days before and starts to wonder whether or not he was murdered too. There is a complex network of relationships and rivalries going on around the Garland family and Edwin Garland's will only adds to the confusion with its cryptic comments attached to some legacies.

This is perhaps one of the slowest mysteries in the series and I found my attention wandering at times. I think possibly I had too many distractions while I was reading it and didn't really absorb some of the nuances of the story. That said it is still a mystery worth reading and it was quite a way into the book before I thought I'd worked out what was going on and who committed the murder. Wycliffe feels he is being slow too and maybe chasing clues which don't need chasing.

If this is the first Wycliffe story you have read and it didn't grab your attention then I would suggest reading one of the others such as Wycliffe and the Quiet Virgin which is faster paced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
Mrs. M. Phillips "legwarmers" (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe and the Winsor Blue (Paperback)
not one of the best but a decent enough story. The plot was a obvious very early on but with a twist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Wycliffe, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe and the Winsor Blue (Paperback)
Solid detecting, his story really brings to life the Cornish setting,and enough red herrings to keep you to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 18 April 2013
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy watching Wycliffe on television and this was the first W J Burley I have read. I found it very interesting and give it a four star rating. I also recommend it to Kindle readers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Winsor Blue, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite an intriguing story this one. I am working my way through the whole series and I am enjoying them very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable read for mystery fans, 18 Sept. 2007
By 
DaviesUK (London, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wycliffe and the Winsor Blue (Paperback)
It's never a good idea to have your series detective a bit slow on the uptake, but I'm afraid that's what I felt about Wycliffe in this outing.

The solution to the Great Mystery of mischievous Edwin Garland was blindingly obvious to this reader from about page 30, so I was yelling at him through the next 200 pages until the penny finally dropped for him. Still, there were murders to solve along the way, and it was entertaining in a horrific way to discover how un-PC this novel now seems, being wriiten in 1986 ..... for instance, the patronising attitude to women police officers, and Wycliffe's feeling of superiority when he actually accepts that a female might be a useful detective. Times have certainly changed for the better, and if this book does nothing else, it reminds us of that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe and the Winsor Blue (Paperback)
Good price. Good delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wycliffe and the Winsor Blue
Wycliffe and the Winsor Blue by W.J. Burley (Paperback - 4 Nov. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews