Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for men, women and children!!!
Forget Men are from Mars - this is what you really want to / need to know. It will not only help you understand your own and your partner's behaviour, but will give you endless hours of conversation and debate next time you're in the pub! It's not one of those boring, dull relationship books, and does not set out to prove one sex is better than the other - merely that...
Published on 23 April 2002 by Ibanezzer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Be open minded on the theory ...
I'm not one for self-help books and this is the first I have read as the title seemed a bit fantastic.

While it is possible to accept that there are possible personality differences, there is a bit of a leap of faith made from the evidence. This is in terms of the data presented and the resulting theory that males and females are different in the brain and...
Published on 20 Oct 2007 by Darren H.


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for men, women and children!!!, 23 April 2002
Forget Men are from Mars - this is what you really want to / need to know. It will not only help you understand your own and your partner's behaviour, but will give you endless hours of conversation and debate next time you're in the pub! It's not one of those boring, dull relationship books, and does not set out to prove one sex is better than the other - merely that both sexes are different, despite modern society and political correctness trying to suggest that we are more similar than we really are. In fact, according to the book, it will take evolution a million years to catch up with moden society!
Having endured a few jibes from my male friends for reading a 'bird's book', they have now seen their girlfriends reading it after my recommendation and are now reading the book themselves! I must have sold dozens of copies of this book just by talking about it with people!
It's easy to read, addictive and humourous. I guarantee that you won't have another conversation with a member of the opposite sex without thinking about this book!
Buy it and read it NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book BUT not for those who actually want a hard core relationship solving book like the work of Gray...., 2 May 2009
By 
Ms. S. Reynolds "Cynical Reader." (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a hilarious read which does not aim to solve a persons relationship- if you want that kind of book back away now and search for John Gray's Men are from mars books instead.

The basis of the book focuses on biological differences between the genders, showing why biological differences result in differing behaviour, abilities and actions of the different sexes. It is presented through the medium of scientific research, anecdotes and observations or surveys on human behaviour.

It firmly rests on the nature side of the nature Vs nurture debate and somebody reading this must realise that it will therefore be bias. There is very little point in tearing the book apart on this premise as it is stated at the beginning that the entirety of the book is such. It does not pretend to be anything other.

People who do tear this book apart based on research must also remember that ALL research is bias in favour of a certain out come- therefore for every bit of research that proves one thing there will be equally research supporting the opposite. All this book is doing is using research supporting a specific research- similar to most other books, papers, theorists, theories etc. in the world. IT IS A PERSPECTIVE.

Hope this is of some help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! Some answers..., 4 Jan 2003
By 
C. M. Perkins (Stirling, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found this book fascinating, and my wife (I think) enjoyed the long excerpts she was subjected to as I read aloud to explain aspects of my behaviour to her.
Initially, some of the Pease's assertions sound just like gender stereotypes - then there is the compelling explanation of why we behave in this way based on the latest research into the brain.
We're just wired differently. "Men don't listen" because our brains only have one speech centre (women have two); and "women can't read maps" because their sense of spatial awareness is not as developed as a man's (in most cases).
The challenge for all of us is to use this knowledge not to reinforce gender stereotypes, but to compensate for genuine, physical differences in our brain wiring by modifying our behaviour. If we do, we will each be better understood by the opposite sex and have more meaningful, fulfilling relationships.
Despite the above paragraph, this book is not a dry, boring scientific research paper; it is a hugely entertaining and enlightening read. Packed with anecdotes, many of them about Barbara and Allan's own misunderstandings between each other, it is very readable.
Buy this book if you'd like some insights into how to improve personal relationships with the opposite sex; how to get along better with 'difficult' men/women at work; or if you'd like to educate your children (of any age) as to how they can more successfully interact with others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Be open minded on the theory ..., 20 Oct 2007
By 
I'm not one for self-help books and this is the first I have read as the title seemed a bit fantastic.

While it is possible to accept that there are possible personality differences, there is a bit of a leap of faith made from the evidence. This is in terms of the data presented and the resulting theory that males and females are different in the brain and that affects what we do ... possibly. Don't forget the authors make money from touring and telling people about this. If it were that good, then perhaps they would have shared a nobel prize for world peace.

Males and females may be different for reasons not yet fully understood and also that some of us are good communicators and some aren't.

Don't expect this to change your world if that's what you need. But at least use it as a catalyst to start the communication - which is probably a more useful message to take away from the book.

Two stars in that it may be useful, but take this with a "pinch of salt".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute must for men and woman alike, 26 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Have you thrown plates in frustration, threatened divorce, murder or even leaving the planet? If so read one of the most perceptive books of the millenium. We all agree that men and women are different but now you can find the real reasons why men can't communicate as women do and why women do perfectly logical things that they understand but men find confusing and frustrating.
This book looks at the myths of communication and relationships and using the evidence of scientific research proves that the sexes are made biologically different.
It was once thought that babies came into the world like a blank book and it was experience, parental influence and nurturing that influenced how that person would develop but this book very graphically shows that we arrive, like a computer, pre- programmed with ideas,instincts and abilities that date back to cave man days when women were "nest defenders" and men were " lunch chasers". Thousands of years have past since these primative beginnings, life has moved on, men and womens lives have changed and many roles are now reversed, but the people have basically not moved on at all. Our expectations are so different and now more than at any other period in time the rate of divorce and relationship breakdown is at an all time high. This book will change how you see the opposite sex,show you how to handle the differences and be more tolerant and at peace with husbands and wives, sons and daughters. This book should be included in the National curriculum for years 12 - 17. I would guarantee that in 10 years the rate of divorce would begin to decrease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time, move on..., 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Under the pretext of not becoming too complicated for the non-scientist reader, this book happily mixes actual facts and personal opinions from the author(s). It is full of stereotypes and I don't feel like I discovered anything new or revolutionary. A waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 70 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading mix of fact and fiction, 17 May 2006
By 
Bexze (Kobe, Japan) - See all my reviews
An entertaining book, fine for a bathroom or train read. As mentioned by some reviewers already, this is a mixture of scientific studies on brain differences between men and women and the author's freely interspersed anecdotes, opinions and observations. A critical reader should be able to discern which is which.

I found a number of outright errors in the book. For example, "There are many more left-handed women." In fact, about 10% more men than women are left-handed. I also found innumerable sweeping statements like the following.

- "Until recently, women tended to be pregnant most of the time."

- "80% of all human societies have been [promiscuous] for most of human existence."

- "Until the introduction of the contraceptive pill in the 1950s, no-one noticed that women had emotional highs and lows."

- "Throughout human history, wars greatly diminished the numbers of men...so creating a harem for the returning males was an effective survival strategy"

- "Girls were a disappointment because the tribe invariably had an excess of females. This is the way it was for hundreds of thousands of years."

Unsubstantiated, unsubstantiatable, or just plain wrong. I mean, do we know how homo erectus greeted the birth of a girl? War may have diminished the numbers of men during specific time periods, but I think one could certainly make a case that childbearing had a much greater effect on female life expectancy than war did on male life expectancy. I haven't seen any anthropological references to modern hunter-gatherer groups with harems. What is "promiscuous"? Where are these societies? Who counted them?

I also found objectionable the running thread of "man the hunter" and the faulty logic that connected all male behaviour to this one supposed fact. Why, for example, do men need distance vision to hunt, but not peripheral vision to watch for predators? Men just want to have a "few pelvic thrusts" because they must always be on guard against attack. Primates living in the wild seem to have time for courting behaviour, even with watching for predators. And, wouldn't the women have to be on guard as well in this relentlessly hostile environment? Why aren't a few pelvic thrusts enough to satisfy them?

While it was sometimes amusing, and the brain research material was interesting, I found this book more irritating than enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why married people shouldn't write books, 7 Mar 2009
By 
Shambolic is the only way to describe this book.
Babs and Big Al attempt to present ideas and advice through the use of anecdotes they feel everyone will be able to relate to. Well I simply cannot relate to the idea that men are unable to follow a multi-tracked conversation and that women using indirect speech may result in planes crashing as pilots will not understand what is being asked of them. This of course pushes forward the idea that the person flying the plane could never be a woman, which I personally find quite insulting. The advice given in this book is ridiculous and unconvincing. At what point is a man likely to ask his wife is she would like him to listen to her problems as a man or a woman. This would just never happen! Though I do not wish to pass judgement on those who choose to buy this book-if you do, you're an idiot.
THE END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If Sherlock Holmes had read this book..., 22 Sep 2003
By A Customer
I think that if Sherlock Holmes had read this book, he'd have said. "It's obvious that we have here a couple where the wife can't drive or park a car, but on the other hand her husband is not aware that she's been sleeping with the plumber for the last few years. Elementary, Watson."
At least when I read the part when this poor guy goes on and on about women's weak sex drive, I though, yeah right, maybe if she tells you every night that she has a headache the problem isn't female sex drive, it's you.
On the other hand, I gave the book three stars because it's fun light reading, nothing more serious than a book-long Cosmopolitan article, and the cartoons are funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not scientific, but funny at times, 28 Mar 2002
By A Customer
Pease seriously lacks credible evidence to support his stereotypial views, yet the book made me laugh on several occasions. It's not to be taken seriously. For anyone interested in the whole issue of the differences between the sexes, i recommend 'anatomy of desire' .... atleast it is written by scientists and is based on intelligent studies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Why Men Don't Listen And Women Can't Read Maps (CD)
Why Men Don't Listen And Women Can't Read Maps (CD) by Barbara Pease (Audio CD - 3 July 2003)
Used & New from: £19.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews