Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars58
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2004
Although this book could have been written a bit better i think its well worth a read.
Thanks to Ronnie being so open with the way he deals with life this book gives you a great window type view of how a great Snooker player struggles to play the game at the top while trying to deal with every day problems life puts in your way.
The book helps you to understand what has troubled Ronnie for so many years bringing sense to the TV interviews he has made in the past.
Its true that the book is an easy read and fairly short however with the vast age range that makes up Ronnies fans im sure this will go in its favour.
Well done Ronnie
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2003
I am not usually a book reader, but read this book in a couple of days, people who play snooker will read it and think wow!, how can this person play the game as well as he does and have so many other problems to deal with in his life. Non-snooker fans will probably know Ronnie anyway due to his natural flair and apparent ease with which he plays the game and therefore it will be fascinating for them as well. Ronnie has been open, honest and quite rightly proud of his achievements. It is nice to hear a snooker player say what he thinks about other players, Ronnie has spoken his mind truly in this book. I think he has put on a mask to his problems for so long and is now facing them well, and moving on with his life and career. Buy the book.Well done Ronnie!.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2003
Ronnie O'sullivan is without a doubt the most naturally talented snooker player to ever lift a cue. This book gives us an insight into his life, focusing on both the highs and lows of his career. The book features every detail of Ronnie's life including his record-breaking UK championship victory, his time in rehab, his ongoing battle with depression and his World Championship victory. This book also shows how down-to-earth Ronnie O'sullivan is and makes the reader believe that 'you can do anything you set your mind to'. Also contained in the book are pictures of Ronnie and his friends and family who have supported him throughout his life.
A must for any Ronnie O'sullivan fan.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2004
Perhaps you're thinking that you have no interest in Ronnie O'Sullivan andcertainly not in snooker, but first and foremost it must be said thatsnooker is a mere coincidence in this book, this is the story of the manand his struggle with the game, not the game itself.
It is a frank andopen account of the ups and downs in the life and tumultuous career ofsnooker's prodigal son, (and sometimes atithesis) and his battle with alife that has never been easy even in success.
If you are looking for a book with linguistic flair, a life-story writtenby someone who can wax lyrical with an eloquent narrative as smooth assilk this is not the book for you. There isn't a single embellishedsentence, no contrived statements and certainly no sense of readermanipulation. It is a true story written true to the man with often brutalbluntness and O'Sullivan never attempts to soften the blows hedelivers.
Honest to the point of being abrasive he is never moreforthright than when discussing his own failings and, thankfully, hisachievements. It is at once shocking and immensely moving, at timesshowing the poignant innocence of a child, written with such raw emotionthat the reader can't help but sympathise with him, willing him throughall of his problems with the fierce desire and encouragement of a closefriend.
It is the most open, the most genuine, the most truthfulautobiography I have ever read and I recommend it to anyone at all thatwishes to read a memoir that feels like a personal diary where theintricacies of literature never overshadow the events. This book iseverything an autobiography should be and O'Sullivan refuses to let up foran instant, not for a single second will he allow you forget that this itis not a story, it is a life.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2003
I am a fan of Ronnie and so it took me just a few seconds to decide to buy the book the minute I saw it. It also took me lest than a day to finish it, i just cant stop reading. This is one of the best autobiographies I have ever read so far! The autobiography is excellent as it focuses on Ronnie's early life as well as the critical moments of his life e.g. losing his dad to prison and going to the Priory to cure his addiction and also how snooker affects his life. The later part of the book focuses on his road of erasing his title as the peoples champion to become World Champion, and how he handles the pressure in important matches. I highly recommend this book to everyone!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2006
This is a great book, in which Ronnie O'Sullivan tells the reader everything about his childhood, how he began his snooker career, and especially his depression and drug abuse.
It is a book which shows how to turn your life around, and how to become a winner again.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2003
This is a very nice autobiography! I had read it several times already.It tells the story of Ronnie's developement of snooker till he became world champion as well as his personal life. You will also find out that whatever that the newspapers says that he quote "nobody likes the Williams", is not true. If you read Ronnie's book, you will know he never said such things.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
I read this book to get a bit of insight into his character and see how he became one of the all-time greats. What Ronnie delivers is a full and frank account of his life - both the good and the bad - and it's this open honesty that I think really makes this a great read. It's obvious by reading the book that he's a normal guy (with an insanely good natural talent for snooker) that has had his share of obstacles, and for the most part, I would say, overcome them to really make a name for himself.

After reading the book, it's a lot easier to appreciate where he's coming from and I think in turn, this helps you appreciate what a great player he is. His autobiography definitely converted me from occasional supporter to loyal fan.

A definite must-read if you want to get inside the head of one of the biggest names in snooker!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2003
Let's face it, all aspiring (and some Professional) snooker players wish they could play the game with the sublime ease and beauty displayed by Ronnie O'Sullivan. He was a child prodigy of the game making a 100 break whilst still around 10 years of age. What a lot of people didn't realise, me included, is that he was so unhappy and suffering from depression. This book charts his life and describes the good times and bad times in gritty detail. Read this book and you'll be surprised by many things that at the time seemed so ridiculous; his apparent disinterest, his outbursts that seemed so petulant. The answers are all here!
Ronnie is to be congratulated for his heart felt honesty; he doesn't hide anything from us.
A true insight into the troubled life of a real genius; I wish him continued good health and a happy life.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
What we have here is the official autobiography of Ronnie O’Sullivan, and whilst I doubt that he actually wrote any of it, it is a fascinating insight into his early life. What it doesn’t really do, though, is to leave you feeling like you understand him. By the time that you get to the end of the book, you’ll still see O’Sullivan as the same old enigmatic snooker player.

The book is a little out of date by now, too – a year is a long time for Ronnie O’Sullivan, and he’s arguably one of the most notorious snooker players to have ever lived. His talent seems to go up and down like a yo-yo, as does his frenetic personal life.

But if you’re expecting some sort of expose then you’ll be mistaken, too – there’s not so much celebrity gossip in here, but the passages on young Ronnie’s childhood and his descent into the murky snooker clubs of Essex are definitely worth a read, if you’re a snooker fan.

And that kind of brings me to the crux of this review – if you’re not a snooker fan then you’re probably not going to enjoy the read much. It’s the same with any celebrity autobiography – it’s only really worth reading if you’re a fan of the celebrity. But if you are a Ronnie fan, and if you like to read the occasional memoir, then you could do a lot worse than this.

Because when it comes to the text, it’s certainly professionally written, as well as well-edited – I didn’t spot a single mistake, and I keep a look out for them. Plus, the book includes some pictures – always a plus with an autobiography!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)