Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars birlliant
How this man has become a normal person with normal views on people and life astonishes me. I was at first quite nervous about reading this book, as i didnt want to be left too distressed by what happened to him in his early life.Although that part of the book is hard to read, im so glad i did because this book has a happy ending.

Dave is a truly inspirational...
Published on 10 Aug. 2006 by debs

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Put-downable
I've seen the welter of 5-star reviews but am in the small minority who were not enthused.

While I don't disbelieve Pelzer's life story (I didn't get that far) I do wonder if some of the sub-script was created for the book. Most of us recall episodes, incidents and emotions from childhood but we don't have this author's apparent photographic recollection of...
Published on 14 Dec. 2009 by Top Banana


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars birlliant, 10 Aug. 2006
This review is from: My Story: A Child Called It, The Lost Boy, A Man Named Dave (Paperback)
How this man has become a normal person with normal views on people and life astonishes me. I was at first quite nervous about reading this book, as i didnt want to be left too distressed by what happened to him in his early life.Although that part of the book is hard to read, im so glad i did because this book has a happy ending.

Dave is a truly inspirational person, im supirsed there hasnt been a film made from his story.

One of the best books ive ever read.Highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly sad, amazingly brave, 9 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: My Story: A Child Called It, The Lost Boy, A Man Named Dave (Paperback)
This trilogy books are well worth the read and I read them all in a matter of a few days, it is best to read them in sequence, I was totally absorbed by them all and unable to put them down. Written from the eyes of the child, young person and young man, this individual illustrates his dispair, fear and how the abuse impacted on his life as he grew up. His struggle to develop meaningful relationships with his peers and how for many years he was misunderstood. It identifies how the authorities for many years initially failed to protect him and how his own mother had the power to convince others that he was bad (even though the school had concerns regarding his well being). It highlights the trauma and confusion of being passed from one foster home to another following his removal from the family home. His final book illustrates the amazing power his mother still endured over him and how he truely wanted her to love, accept him and be proud of him and his search for answers as to why it all happened. What an amazing strong person he is as he eventually was able to forgive the horrific abuse. Get them all and read them and thank you to Dave for your honesty and bringing the impact of child abuse to the forfront.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book i've ever read; My story by dave pelzer, 5 July 2005
This review is from: My Story: A Child Called It, The Lost Boy, A Man Named Dave (Paperback)
Dave Pelzer i'd never heard of him before i read this book. It was recommend to me by a friend and i couldn't put it down once i started reading it. Even though i felt some of the stuff in the book was a bit gross i had to find out what she - the mother did to him and how he survived. It is one of the most emotional books i have read.
The main part of the book is about how his life went from being a happy son to a child called "it" which lives in the garage in an army cot. He isnt given food but has to steal it from other school pupils. He thinks that his dad is his hero but all his dad does it treat him as part of the family and doesnt believe in what his mother is doing. Unfortunately his father left him. Dave soon gave up on everything until one day. When something very special happens but im not going to say what it is. This is my favourite part of the book as things get a bit better for dave. I find it the most emotional part of the whole book. The book then goes on to tell you about how he goes in to foster care and has alot of ups and downs along the way. The last part of the book is about how he goes on to become a pilot and very succesful in his adult life.
I felt really sorry for dave during this book and by the way its written you feel like you are with him growing up as the writing in the first part of the book is written asthough he is only 10 but the last part is written like he is 25. The book is written in such a great way you understand the pain he was put through and how he thinks in such situations.
I would recommend this book to older people of about 12+ as some of the parts may upset younger people or they may not understand it. This book its a brilliant read so go and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Story, 9 Dec. 2002
My Story is about the memories of a man who from early childhood has been physically and mentally abused by his mother, who should have been the one person protecting him from such horror's. Throughout the triliogy you begin to feel like you are David and feel the things he is going through. You will laugh and cry, but mostly you will be numb.
My Story will definitley open your eyes to what goes on behind closed doors and the eventual good it can do for others!!
A MUST read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than a book almost asif you were him, 13 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: My Story: A Child Called It, The Lost Boy, A Man Named Dave (Paperback)
i am 13 yrs old and i just quickly read a few pages of the book on holiday..suddenly i was glued to it getting heat rashes in the roasting sun sitting on the plastic chairs even tho i sooo wanted to move i sooo wanted to read the next page...its just gripping details and hurendous beatings but in a way funny happy and feeling proud to acctually be reading this book..im in the middle of reading his brothers book after dave got taken away the biatch of a mother turned on him...i wish i could meet dave pelzer wat a man he must be to come through all that and make it into the r.a.f have children...before i read that book i propably only read like 20 books...and never finished most, but this one i bought the child called it...then the double book and read all of it in about 2 days...i even beat mum wilst everyone was swimming i was reading and what a book it is..the best book and story i have ever read i would rather read this book than play on the computer..u should get this book wether u dont like that sort of thing or not...brilliant i even left the last few words so i new i hadant finished the book becouse i just didnt wanto it just pulls you in so much..10 stars amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking true story, 27 Dec. 2003
My Story is a book that you will not be able to put down. You will wake in the night, wanting to just read the next chapter (then the next, then the next!!). It is so tragic you can only wish that it weren't true. Anybody who has children will give them extra hugs while reading this book. It is the true story of a boy mentally and physically abused by his mother from the age of 4 until his rescue, at the age of 12, by his teachers and social services, and this only after his arms were raw where he had had to clean the bathroom with a mixture of bleach and scouring powders - this wasn't bad on his usual scale, he had been made to drink the concoction in the past. You will read the book in tears, hoping that there is going to be a happy ending. This is truly a story of bravery beyond imagination. It is hard to imagine a child going through this torture and coming out the other end. "My Story" has 400+ pages. I received it as a Christmas present on 25.12.2003 and have just finished it, 27.12.2003. It is that riveting. Read this if you feel brave enough, but have the tissues handy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly amazing human being!, 16 Oct. 2004
This review is from: My Story: A Child Called It, The Lost Boy, A Man Named Dave (Paperback)
I have never read a book that has left me with a feeling of sheer shock, horror and disbelief. A harrowing journey of survival and acceptance with a continuing love for mankind,which will leave you in tears of sorrow and joy. Exceptionally well written. David Pelzer is one of the most amazing and remarkable human beings in every sense of the word. "My Story" is a book I believe everyone should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Child Called It, 4 Mar. 2003
This review is from: My Story: A Child Called It, The Lost Boy, A Man Named Dave (Paperback)
David Pelzers courage to write this book is second only to his courage to survive horrific torture at the hands of the person who should have protected him, his mother.
His disturbing account of the ritual abuse, torture and deprivation is at times so graphic and disturbing, you will weep as you experience David's terror and pain.
His steadfast refusal to give up is truly an example of triumph through adversity, and never more evident than in his ability to form a loving relationship with his son. He gives you insight to this at the end of the book.
This book will make you experience a gamut of emotions from pain at his abuse to joy as he finally with the help of his courageous teachers escapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Child called It, 11 Jun. 2004
Having seen this book on the shelf a couple of days ago enticing me to buy it, I was so overwhelmed from start to finish that after two days I found myself reading it again. Although this book was very upsetting and disturbing at times it was a brilliant read and I just had to keep on reading. The way the Dave's young life was put accross was outstanding and truly reflects the truth and agony relating to child abuse. I admire the way Dave was so brave growing up, dealing with his mother's taunting, violence and abuse and the way he became stronger in himself by gradually learning to cope with her "games". Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CHILD CALLED "IT", 31 Dec. 2005
This review is from: My Story: A Child Called It, The Lost Boy, A Man Named Dave (Paperback)
When you start reading this book, you will be amazed. it is full of tears and emotions. You want to carry on reading. The amount of pain and emotional, physical abuse the child has been through can not be justified in any way. I had to put the books down so many times, not because it bored me but because i was in so much shock. i could not believe a child could suffer in silence this much. hunting for food, daily chores, being starved...we cant even begin to imagine! It makes you think very carefully and appreciate life a lot! One of my favourite books and definately something you have to have on your shelf at home!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Story: A Child Called It, The Lost Boy, A Man Named Dave
My Story: A Child Called It, The Lost Boy, A Man Named Dave by Dave Pelzer (Paperback - 25 Sept. 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews