Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TRUE MUST!!!
This is by far the best book ever written about monty python. Even if you haven't seen everything they did or even you are a die hard fan (like me) here is every detail anyone could want to know. You need hours, weeks, months to see all the pictures and read everything. You can find out everything about their lives, the situation in british comedy in the sixties, how they...
Published on 10 Aug 2004

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Say No More!
The problem with this book is that it's really fragmented, you get one Python for half a page, then another for the other half, than another, then another and sometimes they're all recalling the same incident from their own personal point of view, you even get Graham Chapman sticking his oar in and he's passed on, he is no more, he has ceased to be, bereft of life, an...
Published on 17 July 2010 by Duluoz Lautrec


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TRUE MUST!!!, 10 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Pythons' Autobiography By The Pythons (Monty Python) (Hardcover)
This is by far the best book ever written about monty python. Even if you haven't seen everything they did or even you are a die hard fan (like me) here is every detail anyone could want to know. You need hours, weeks, months to see all the pictures and read everything. You can find out everything about their lives, the situation in british comedy in the sixties, how they met, the extremely detailed story of the flying circus, all the movies, the books, the albums and an enormous amount of unseen fhotos. A true achivement. Nothing less could satisfy the fans of those geniouses who made us laugh, made us think, made us better people, gave us great memories and now finaly... talk about it.
Thank you John,Eric,Graham,Terry,Michael and Terry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable and unpickupable!, 27 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pythons' Autobiography By The Pythons (Monty Python) (Hardcover)
The first thing I should warn potential buyers about is the size and weight of this book if you buy the hardcover edition. I did not realise that something weighing marginally less than a slab of marble would eventually be trying to make its way through my letterbox. The hardcover edition of this book is for only the sturdiest of bookshelves and the beefiest of arms. In short; it is not a tome to be read in the bath.

However, once you have decided whether or not obscenely large books are for you, I would definitely recommend this one. It is one of the more interesting books about the Pythons because it is actually written by them; hence the title. All of the Python's, bar Graham as he is conveniently dead, have written a few pages about their childhood and first forays into comedy, culminating in the formation of Monty Python. I found it incredibly fascinating to learn about the different backgrounds they each came from and the circumstances which eventually brought them all together.

In between the mini autobiographies are lusciously printed photographs spanning their entire career; taken on their film sets and various live performances among other locations. They really help to bring alive the Python's descriptions of their experiences of making their TV show and subsequent films and live tours. This book is perfect for the fair weather and the hardcore Monty Python fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I found this is my stocking!, 25 Dec 2003
This review is from: The Pythons' Autobiography By The Pythons (Monty Python) (Hardcover)
First of all merry xmas to everyone!!
I was so deliriously excited when i opened my stocking to find this i couldn't put it down for 3 hours!As a result i didnt open my other presents.The only reason i put it down was to go to sleep,well it was 4a.m..
This is a must have for any python fan.Or any fan of comedy.
It chronicles all the of the pythons childhood and beginings in showbusiness.There are many,many pages dedicated to the tv shows and the movies.I have managed to get through the first half of it and i love it.And as for the weight of the book above stated.Yes it is a heavy book but that is because it is crammed full of a thousand never seen before pictures!In full glossyness.
overall this is a must buy!I am no going to finish the rest!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooray!, 5 July 2004
This review is from: The Pythons' Autobiography By The Pythons (Monty Python) (Hardcover)
As an eighteen year old python fan, any substantial and comprehensive Python stuff is quite difficult to come by as it all seems to have been made and released before I was born. You see where my problem lies. Anyway, this book certainly compensates for my lack of Monty Python things. It is a very big book. That's one thing to be said for it, it is also very interesting. All the team are interviewed here and it gives a very thorough insight into how they came together, making the TV shows (of which I have seen very little! Release the TV series on DVD in the UK!! I can't understand why it's been released in North America and not over here!) also into making the fantastic films and beyond...
It was good to find out all this information because I learnt a lot that I didn't know already. This certainly isn't a cynical release, unlike the recent re-release of The Holy Grail and Life of Brian on DVD with no new special features just different packaging (why?) This book will be of genuine interest to any python fan, no matter how much or how little they feel they actually know. As someone who admittedly knows little, it only made me want to find out more.
It suprises me how badly Python is served in terms of'mercandise' these days. Obviously a few years ago there was more, but it was so influential, you'd think there would be more...maybe because it was only a cult thing...I don't know...Anyway, this book is extremely valuable to anyone who loves the show, the films etc. I really would recommend it. You find out how the group worked, the inner tensions, and basically what it was like to be part of the funniest thing in the history of things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Python, in definitive terms., 26 Dec 2003
By 
Mr. T. Morris (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pythons' Autobiography By The Pythons (Monty Python) (Hardcover)
This book is fantastically written providing personal perspectives - biography, insights in to how the TV series and films were shot and the ideas developed, and the issues that came up - including mentions of the famous interview with the Bishop of Southwark and Malcolm Muggeridge where they discuss Life of Brian.
All this in a huge, beautifully illustrated book. A must have for any Python fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light Entertainment - Heavy Book!, 15 April 2004
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pythons' Autobiography By The Pythons (Monty Python) (Hardcover)
Considering I wasn't even born when most of this was dreamed up is testament to the influence these guys have had on popular culture. This is at times a dip into the past, with diary entries from Terry J and Michael, but is mainly the story of Python told by those who knew him... as it were. What comes is out is not just the fractious nature of the relationship between the members, but more amusingly the way in which some stories are recounted in 5 or 6 different ways, each remembering it differently to the others. The author has crafted some great confusion from the interviews he recorded.
It is certainly not bedtime reading. Not because of the material, but because the book is laughably heavy. Definitely not possible to be carried by swallows, African or European, even on a piece of string.
Blessed are the Cheesemakers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Ripping Yarn!, 18 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Pythons' Autobiography By The Pythons (Monty Python) (Hardcover)
A must for all Pythonites as the team tell all in their own words. Particularly strong on early Python history and their feelings for each other. The comedic equivalent of the Beatles Anthology.A Chateau de Chasselas and not a dead parrot!!! Spam anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Say No More!, 17 July 2010
By 
Duluoz Lautrec (Dewsbury, Yorkshire.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Pythons' Autobiography By The Pythons (Monty Python) (Hardcover)
The problem with this book is that it's really fragmented, you get one Python for half a page, then another for the other half, than another, then another and sometimes they're all recalling the same incident from their own personal point of view, you even get Graham Chapman sticking his oar in and he's passed on, he is no more, he has ceased to be, bereft of life, an ex-Python.
If you're looking for laughs, they're few and far between, stick to the DVDs.
One last thing is that there's a large illustrated version of the book and a regular sized paperback non-illustrated version and I'd recommend the illustrated version because it's full of little bits'n'bobs that are interesting although the text seems on the titchy size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A little content spread over a large book, 5 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: The Pythons' Autobiography By The Pythons (Monty Python) (Hardcover)
This is the latest in a series of (some might say money-spinning) Python books. It is a large-format hardback volume, perhaps modelled on the recent Beatles and Rolling Stones autobiographies. Unfortunately though, in this case there just doesn't seem to be much new, or even of real interest, to reveal. Influential though they were, the Python reminiscences that make up this book are only mildly engaging to the reader. Michael Palin's diary is interesting and John Cleese comes across as less than pleasant. There are a few (but not many) good illustrations, and some bits are quite funny. And , er, that's it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you mean to tell me coconuts migrate?, 23 July 2004
By 
Ms. P. V. Young (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pythons' Autobiography By The Pythons (Monty Python) (Hardcover)
The shear volume of material in this book is enough to keep one entertained for hours. I am also among the breed of younger python fans and have found this book incredibly interesting since I wasn't around to experience the python phenomenon first time round.
This book is filled with python facts and is a must for any die-hard fan. The only downside is the size and weight, but this downside is far outweighed ('scuse the pun) by the indepth material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pythons' Autobiography By The Pythons (Monty Python)
The Pythons' Autobiography By The Pythons (Monty Python) by Bob McCabe (Hardcover - 15 Sep 2003)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews