Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, but not quite as good as the novels
Between the feasts of his major Rebus novels, Ian Rankin offers up this appetiser of a collection of short stories. Although short, many of these tales are meaty and filling, and will surely satisfy Rankin's many fans.
Eight of the stories involve Inspector John Rebus, all are excellent. The others vary in time and location between modern London and eighteenth...
Published on 26 Aug 2002 by Dr. Sn Cottam

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Rankin I've come to love & revere.
Rankin is at his best when writing a full length novel especially about Rebus & Fox. Still a fair read.
Published 2 months ago by Mr. K. Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Note: better edition available, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggars Banquet (Kindle Edition)
Since buying this (which is excellent), I see that there is now also a Kindle Edition of:

The Complete Short Stories: A Good Hanging, Beggars Banquet, Atonement

which obviously includes what's in *this* book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another story from Ian Rankin, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggars Banquet (Paperback)
I did not feel this was up to Rankin's usual good standard - story felt underdeveloped and not weighty enough for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A banquet indeed!!, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggars Banquet (Paperback)
Another excellent read by Ian Rankin. Plenty of literary courses with lots of twists and turns in the plots. I don't know how Ian Rankin can keep coming up with best sellers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beggars Banquet, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggars Banquet (Kindle Edition)
Ian Rankin has to be my favourite author and Rebus my favourite cop. I've read all the Rebus books and everyone's a winner
Beggars Banquet is no exception. Once picked up it's gripping and hard to put down, and I'd highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Short stories, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggars Banquet (Kindle Edition)
Fine for filling in time. Not gripping, easy to pick up and put down does not make you want to read more of Ian Rankin's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a 'banquet', 13 April 2013
By 
Kay (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beggars Banquet (Paperback)
Beggars Banquet A very enjoyable collection of short stories of varying length, including some 'Rebus' stories, most first appearing in earlier collections along with other crime writers. I enjoyed the variety very much and it proved Ian is as equally at home with this format as with full length novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super read, 27 Mar 2013
By 
K. Rogerson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggars Banquet (Kindle Edition)
This has to be the best Rebus book yet. Once you start to read it ....it is very hard to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beggars Banquet, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Michael Mason "Mike book & CD mad" (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggars Banquet (Paperback)
I do like most of Ian Rankins books but this is a short story collection and I am not to keen on short stories.
Having said this it is a good book as most of Rankins book are. I have not yet finished it but I will soon.
For a collection of short stories it is a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beggars banquet, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beggars Banquet (Paperback)
An enjoyable mix of short stories by Ian Rankin, including some Rebus, an ideal read of the right length for bedtime reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short Sharp Rebus, 10 Sep 2007
By 
L. F. Carson (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beggars Banquet (Paperback)
Whilst this is a collection of short stories from Ian Rankin and his DI John Rebus character they lack nothing with each story still proving to be as interestingas the longer novels

Buy it now and you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beggars Banquet
Beggars Banquet by Ian Rankin (Hardcover - 18 July 2002)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews