Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cornish legend
This was not the usual rivetting Burley for me. I was not deeply engrossed though never tempted to give up on it. As usual his depiction of Cornwall and the surrounding coast was as entrancing as ever but the story was rather "thin" and more about local animosities and inter family grudges than murder. Even Wycliffe didn't seem transfixed by the brooding solitary figures...
Published on 20 Feb 2007 by Jane Baker

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre
This is the first of the Wycliffe books but I did find them rather bland. Compared to the Sherlock Holmes novels I found the clues to be much too clear, and Wycliffe as a bland and dull facility to tell the story through. Im not sure if they are all the same, but the full price for this novel is definately not worth it... But maybe that's just me!
Published on 1 Nov 2010 by M. S. Fennell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cornish legend, 20 Feb 2007
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wycliffe and the Scapegoat (Paperback)
This was not the usual rivetting Burley for me. I was not deeply engrossed though never tempted to give up on it. As usual his depiction of Cornwall and the surrounding coast was as entrancing as ever but the story was rather "thin" and more about local animosities and inter family grudges than murder. Even Wycliffe didn't seem transfixed by the brooding solitary figures he came into contact with. Characters were more weird than complex and they never came alive. Lots of motives but not really plausible enough or deep-rooted to warrant murder. Just a bit too shallow, both in plot and background. I'll carry on reading his works though so , whilst disappointing, not bad enough to call it a day on him. I've already got "The quiet Virgin" lined up to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder and ritual, 2 Jan 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jonathan Riddle - local undertaker and builder - is far from being the most popular person in the town. When he disappears the day before the `scapegoat' is sent into fiery oblivion in the annual local ritual rumour has it that this was no dummy but the dead Riddle's body.

Wycliffe - having watched the burning wheel with its dummy attached disappearing into the sea - does not believe the rumour. In his usual fashion he seeks to understand the life of the victim in order to work out how, why and by whom he has been killed.

There is some doubt as to whether Riddle is dead but some of his clothes have been found and he has not been in contact with his family which is out of character. Wycliffe has to assume he is dead. As he digs deeper he discovers plenty of people who could have had motive for doing away with the victim - not least his own family.

This is a fascinating story showing how family life is rarely what it seems like to outsiders. I am enjoying reading this interesting series with its West Country settings and its believable characters and plots and I would recommend it to anyone who likes conventional crime novels without too much violence or bad language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book club choice, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was chosen by my book club to read. Had never read any of the other Wycliffe books, but now am a fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 Aug 2013
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy WJBurley and his Wycliffe stories. Anyone who enjoys crime thrillers must give them a try.A well deserved five stars and recommend to all Kindle readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 1 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Wycliffe and the Scapegoat (Paperback)
This is the first of the Wycliffe books but I did find them rather bland. Compared to the Sherlock Holmes novels I found the clues to be much too clear, and Wycliffe as a bland and dull facility to tell the story through. Im not sure if they are all the same, but the full price for this novel is definately not worth it... But maybe that's just me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wycliffe and the Scapegoat
Wycliffe and the Scapegoat by W.J. Burley (Paperback - 5 Jun 2003)
£6.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews