Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wycliffe and the famous author
Charles Wycliffe and his wife Helen are on holiday when they are introduced to David Cleeve who writes as Peter Stride. He has made himself a fortune and Helen is a fan. But the author steers clear of all publicity and is a very private person. He consults Wycliffe on a professional basis once her realises he is a detective because he feels his life is in danger...
Published on 14 Jan 2012 by Damaskcat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair
I have enjoyed reading WJBurley but I'm afraid to say this title didn't come up to scratch therefore three stars. Maybe other readers may find it interesting
Published 13 months ago by gary c atkins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wycliffe and the famous author, 14 Jan 2012
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Charles Wycliffe and his wife Helen are on holiday when they are introduced to David Cleeve who writes as Peter Stride. He has made himself a fortune and Helen is a fan. But the author steers clear of all publicity and is a very private person. He consults Wycliffe on a professional basis once her realises he is a detective because he feels his life is in danger.

Unfortunately Cleeve won't give Wycliffe enough information to follow it up and see if the threats are genuine. Then a young girl is found dead - poisoned by means of a dart spiked with nicotine. Naturally Wycliffe is asked to take over the case.

At first it seems an almost motiveless crime but gradually Wycliffe and his colleagues uncover layers of deceit and secrets long hidden. No one is exactly as they seem and many leads trace back to an archaeological dig which Cleeve has funded on his own land. I enjoyed this well written and complex story and the clues are well placed - including plenty of red herrings. Cleeve is a memorable character - larger than life but never tipping over into excess.

I recommend this series to anyone who likes their crime novels in the classic mould but with plenty of psychological depth. These books are far more than bland police procedurals and Wycliffe himself makes a change from the usual hard bitten detective with the drink problem and the impossible personal relationships. He has his moments of irritability and he prefers to mull over his theories by himself but overall he is a likeable character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good book set in a lovely part of Cornwall, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this Wycliffe murder story, and although I guessed correctly about the change of identity of one of the main charactersI had no idea who did the murders, how or why until the end. Just what I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fair, 15 July 2013
By 
gary c atkins (leicester.england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed reading WJBurley but I'm afraid to say this title didn't come up to scratch therefore three stars. Maybe other readers may find it interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wycliffe and the Four Jacks, 27 May 2013
By 
Ms. P. Brogan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wycliffe and the Four Jacks (Wycliffe Mysteries) (Paperback)
I love all the Wycliffe books and buy as I see them. I really enjoy the T.V series as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Alternative To Jane Baker, 8 Sep 2007
By 
Callisto (Exmouth England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wycliffe and the Four Jacks (Wycliffe Mysteries) (Paperback)
I enjoyed 'Wycliffe And The Four Jacks.' As with the others, it is a good topographical insight into Cornwall, as well as a well written thriller. However, the constant crude use of the term for sex,by the main character, was uncalled for. He was an unlikeable, selfish, sex mad, womanizer. I do not see, why women stay with such men. They could earn a living. I assume, that the reviewer loves hischaracter, as portrayed, on paper. Helen came over, as humorous, and adaptable, although the veal part grated with me. The obtaining of it is cruel. I did not see the need to bring in his supposed sexuality. He comes over as a man who is sensitive, and feels deeply, and questions his work constantly. and I can sympathize, with his opinion, on Cleeve's murder.

The standard of printing was below normal. On Page 53 'Condemned,' was spelled as 'Contemned.' there was also, constant misuse of the phrases 'Each Other,' and 'One Another.' the former is used for two people, and the latter, for more than two. these should have been corrected, prior to publication.

The story differed a lot, on TV, particularly the ending, as a lot of them do.this is possibly, because they have to be condensed into about 50 minutes, and the different tastes of that audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very patient wife, 9 Mar 2007
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wycliffe and the Four Jacks (Wycliffe Mysteries) (Paperback)
Another wonderful Wycliffe mystery.

W.J.Burley combines so much in his crime fiction novels and this is one of the best for me.

Complex as usual so far as character and plot are concerned; the usual evocative scenery in elusive areas of Cornwall, known only to locals. Wycliffe is supposed to be on holiday with the ever patient Helen but becomes involved in a crime involving a complicated network of relationships in a small community which stretches back over 3 decades. There's so much here: Wycliffe's recall of academic memorabilia; his relations with colleagues; an underlying sexuality which is only ever subliminal but makes the reader feel that a night with him might be memorable!!!! His interest in food and wine - and then there's his cynicism which seems to be always in conflict with his idealism. He states his politics in this novel but it's still mystifying. Wycliffe is an enigmatic character yet his wife accepts that even though they have just started their holiday she understands his immediate involvement in a local crime and she goes her own way taking ferries, doing local sight-seeing alone withour a murmur of complaint - and serves veal cutlets and wine when he finally turns up for supper. They both deserve medals. Brilliant. I read this in 2 sittings. I love Wycliffe but I could not be married to him!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wycliffe and the 4 jacks, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
each of the authors books are spell binding you do not get bored with the story line very addictive if you like these kinds of books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wycliffe and the Four Jacks (Wycliffe Mysteries)
Wycliffe and the Four Jacks (Wycliffe Mysteries) by W.J. Burley (Paperback - 3 Mar 2005)
6.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews