Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Detective Story
I agree with the previous reviewer that this was a long anticipated book.
After the ending of L.A. Requiem there was a fear that Crais was retiring Elvis and Joe. However his fans are rewarded with another superbly crafted work.
The character development continues and you learn more about Cole and discover that Pike may no longer be the superman he seemed to be...
Published on 6 Mar 2003 by J. E. Parry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Crais’ best, but still intense
The plot is too predictable; but the gunfight, at the end, is totally worth it! Elvis’ girlfriend’s son, Ben, gets kidnapped from the back of Elvis’ house. The kidnapper calls and says it’s because of Elvis’ actions in Vietnam that the boy was taken. Elvis and Pike team-up again to find out who took Ben and get him back alive. Elvis is...
Published on 27 Feb 2006 by Clarence T. Henry


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Detective Story, 6 Mar 2003
By 
J. E. Parry "Jeff Parry" (Pontypool, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Detective (Hardcover)
I agree with the previous reviewer that this was a long anticipated book.
After the ending of L.A. Requiem there was a fear that Crais was retiring Elvis and Joe. However his fans are rewarded with another superbly crafted work.
The character development continues and you learn more about Cole and discover that Pike may no longer be the superman he seemed to be. Crais has also woven in his heroine, Starkey, from Demolition Angel to add to the pot.
For those fans of Michael Connelly we also get a homage to his Heironymous Bosch character. Thankfully this is far better done than the high tech thrillers where they just say "it was just like something from a Brown/Clancy/Bond book". Unless you know the character you'll miss the link.
The story zips along and you won't want to stop reading. The story alternates between the viewpoint of Cole, Pike and Ben. The plot is believeable and never relents. You hate the breakdown of his relationship with the boy's mother and hope that it will survive.
Like Connelly he breathes life into an L.A. that every knows, even if they've never been there. However just one word of warning. There are 7 previous Cole/Pike stories and not 4. I recommend that you read them all before starting this.
For those who read Crais for the first time you don't know what you've missed. You WILL want to read more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Cole novel yet...., 28 Feb 2003
By 
S Bullen (Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Detective (Hardcover)
As much as I love the Elvis Cole books, they've always felt a little 'pulpy' - crime, crime-solving, go home. Then came 'L.A. Requiem', turning the relationship between Cole and his partner Joe Pike into something more than just a buddy-buddy situation - a very real friendship. We also got a look in at the before- unknown past of Pike. Now arrives 'The Last Detective' and we finally get to see into Cole's life. How he grew to become the man he is. This really helps to turn Cole into the three-dimensional character he had always destined to be. This book is not only the best in the Cole series, but also the most mature. Cole still has his witty comback lines and Pike is still, well Pike, but they feel more human, adding to the dangerous situations they find themselves in by making them finally seem fallible. A masterpiece and a must read for any Elvis Cole fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable!, 27 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Last Detective (Paperback)
Having only read one Robert Crais book before this and found this lurking at the back of my bookcase, I decided to give it ago. What have I been missing out on?
The book does not let up on the pace.
The last detective being Elvis Cole along with his trusty not very talkative sidekick Joe Pike become involved in a race against time battle with three mercenaries to rescue Elvis's girlfriends son Ben who has been kidnapped by them.
What follows is the fight to find the men and rescue Ben.
Expect some twists and to be kept on the edge of seat reading.
If you enjoy it as much as me you'll finish it in a day or two and become an avid fan of Robert Crais!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not sure I understand the criticism, 20 July 2004
By 
JayPee (Surbiton, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Detective (Paperback)
Having come across Robert Crais quite late, I've had a fast track through all of the Elvis Cole novels, and yes, he does abandon some of the tried and trusted formula - but surely one would expect that of any author as he seeks to develop his characters and avoid becoming too comfortable and predictable.
There are some probelms with the book - I don't think that the dream sequences Elvis has work well, and there are times when sticking to the first person narrative clearly becomes a problem as he seeks to tell the story from multiple angles.
However, this is a very fast paced story, with enough twists and different angles to have kept me in suspense until very late on, and I for one look forward to the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth The Wait, 23 Feb 2003
By 
rspeir - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Detective (Hardcover)
For those of you you haven't read any of Robert Crais' work before, STOP NOW. Get a hold of his previous four books in the series, Voodhoo River, Sunset Express, Indigo Slam and L.A. Requiem. Read them in that order before settling down with The Last Detective...and enjoy!!
The Last Detective continues plot and character developments from the previous novels and not being aware of these points will certainly reduce the reader's enjoyment of Crais' newest Elvis Cole and Joe Pike thriller.
Commited fans of the series will be aware that this novel does for Elvis Cole what L.A. Requiem did for Joe Pike - namely provide us with more of Elvis' background: his childhood and army service in Vietnam.
We get to witness the events that really mould his psyche and make him into the character that he is.
The story kicks off 9 months after L.A.Requiem. The normally indestructable Joe Pike is still recouperating after severe injury at the end of the previous novel. A point that makes for facinating and often saddened reading when we see Joe doubting his ability to protect Elvis and himself at various points throughout the story.
Elvis' girlfriend Lucy is still finding life hard following L.A. Requiem's traumatic ending and this is putting visible strain on their relationship.
Matters are further complicated when Lucy's son Ben is kidnapped from Coles' home whilst under Elvis' care.
The kidnapper appears to be seeking revenge on Elvis following an incident involving Elvis' platoon in Vietnam.
What follows is Elvis' desperate struggle to rescue Ben, aided by a far from fit Joe Pike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a find Robert Crais is!, 3 Sep 2008
By 
Lynne Barrett-lee (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Detective (Paperback)
Lee Child, step away from the keyboard. Wow - what a brilliant find Robert Crais is. Just as I was getting all antsy about a) there being so long to wait for the next Jack Reacher novel and b)the fact that the last one was so, well, not quite up to scratch - it read so much like it was rattled off at the publisher's gunpoint - I find myself blown away by another stunning hero. Elvis Cole is a glorious creation and though some might argue he's too much the identikit good guy (troubled past, heroics in the marines,strong moral code but not afraid to do what a guy's gotta do, FAB house perched atop a canyon and so on) I come to these books as a female, so he's precisely what I want my heroes to be. This (my second Cole and Pike novel - the first was the new one - also excellent) was about the abduction of his girlfriend's son, and it pushed all the right buttons in terms of narrative tension and pace. Indeed, I think I probably read it in real time - i.e. the scant time between the abduction and the denouement. Gripping stuff. So, Mr Crais, if you read your reviews (and I'm a novelist myself so I don't doubt you do) please accept five stars and my grateful thanks. To find a great new author is a joy - to find one with a huge backlist is just about nirvana... Can some kind person please now tell me the proper order in which to read them all? Would be most grateful. You can do so via my profile page. Ta!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A step up, but oh so different, 22 April 2004
This review is from: The Last Detective (Paperback)
If you've already read the previous Elvis Cole novels by Crais, this onewill either have you on tenterhooks for the next installment or hankeringafter the old wise-cracks.
Personally I loved 'Last Detective', it followed on from 'L.A. Requim'perfectly; we saw how Pike became Pike, and here we start to find out justwhat shaped Elvis Cole. Sure, Elvis is very different from the earliernovels, but this only deepens his character; Elvis is falling apart, andI guess we've only seen the well-developed facade Crais has created for usthe reader.
Its fast and just a little bloody, but there are reasons for this, its notmindless. Ben Chenier's knowledge of guns and his kidnappers crimes shownaivety versus brutality.
By the end I just wanted Elvis to be able to have a good shower and a longsleep; he deserved it. I'm off to re-read the series.
Last word: If you prefer Elvis Cole dusting Jiminy Cricket rather thanseeing him struggle with his past, 'The Last Detective' probably won't befor you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than previous books, 12 Jan 2004
By 
rob alexander (Hull, E.Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Detective (Paperback)
This is the 3rd Elvis Cole novel i've read and by far the best. The other two were lightweight 'pulp' detective fiction, but in this book the characters and Crais writing have really taken off. The action is lightning paced and described from all angles, a literary trick i've seen before but rarely working as it does here. The humour is played down as are the twists and turns and distractions of earlier books for the brake neck pacing of this life or death story. It is more violent than previous outings but this is balanced with real humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars impressive, 7 July 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Detective (Hardcover)
I have read all Robert's books and this is my favourite.
Even though he has written fantastic books before (LA
Requiem, Hostage), this one was so gripping that I spent
the whole night on it, and the last time this happened
to me was for The Silence of the Lambs (although this
book is NOT about any serial killer stuff, even if the
bad guys are bad enough ...).
Read it, it cannot be anything else than the best thriller
published lately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic Elvis Cole novel, 28 Feb 2005
By 
S. Weston (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Detective (Paperback)
This book was very good. A lot darker then then the others, with possible exception to the excellent L.A. Requiem.
Some reviews state that Elvis turns from being funny to being misrable against his character, well what would you expect if someone took the son of your girlfriend and claimed it was your fault.
I think this book gives new depth into Elvis Cole's character and Joe Pike's. An excellant read, brilliant climax, looking forward to the Forgotten Man(March 17th.)
Read, and be impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Detective
The Last Detective by Robert Crais (Paperback - 2 April 2008)
5.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews