Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
Loved this book! I was a huge fan of the Boy George biography and needed a fix after I had finished it...(no heroine pun intended). Not old enough to have experinced the eighties, Steve Strange was mentioned a great deal in 'Take it like a man' and i was fascinated by the glamourous scene in what was considered by all, a depressing time. Although a little ego-centric at...
Published on 22 Sep 2004 by steviedc2002

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Romantics remebered
As a huge fan of Visage in the 80's i was a bit disappointed by this book. Much of it concentrates on Strange's nightclub work but misses out much of how the Visage singles/albums came about. Little information onthe writing of songs etc. So Visage fans you may be disappointed.
Published on 30 April 2003 by Mr. D. Batte


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 22 Sep 2004
Loved this book! I was a huge fan of the Boy George biography and needed a fix after I had finished it...(no heroine pun intended). Not old enough to have experinced the eighties, Steve Strange was mentioned a great deal in 'Take it like a man' and i was fascinated by the glamourous scene in what was considered by all, a depressing time. Although a little ego-centric at times, Steve was funny and brutally honest. Just reading it made me want to go back in time, get glammed up and get a cab to the Camden Palace. Although not all glamour, his honest account of humble up bringings and the vile side of the drug scene is admirable. A great book whether or not you lived through that era or are even a fan of the new romantic scene.
Has Phillip Salon or Marolyn done a book yet? I think that would be the next on on the list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read This Book!This man was The 80's......., 4 May 2002
If you only read one book this year,then this has to be it.It takes you on a journey from Steves early days as Wales first punk through to his clubs nights at The Blitz etc,where he was responsible for the "Movement with no name" which the press eventually labelled "New Romanticism",a name which Steve hates to this day,to his fight & brave comeback from drugs hell.Now we will all get a chance to see him on the up & coming "Here & Now Christmas Party" this December.
The book tells such tales as the day Steve had to sack Boy George for picking pockets (allegedly!) at one of his clubs and how Steve Norman & Martin Kemp "kidnapped" Steve to try to get him off drugs.
This man is a survivor.
Read this book!
You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chatty, candid, humble and warm!, 28 Jun 2002
I really enjoyed this candid and chatty autobiography..... only wish it was longer, and wished there were even more photies.. maybe a follow up would be nice...Steve is sometimes overlooked and not always credited as the leader of a total movement ....not just a movement about 'dressing up' and re-creating yourself but about the way in which the music/club scene in London progressed.... far too often Boy George is credited globally yet it really was Steve who paved most of the way.... in this book he is amazingly humble and far from grandious - really enjoyed it! Also a great read for anyone who is in any kind of recovery...Wish him so well..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven and Hell!, 10 Dec 2007
By 
TobyToby (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pick any pop-culture movement of the last 30 years and you'll find that a single, shadowy figure keeps cropping up at conception-time. That immaculately-dressed man, the uncrowned king of pop-culture, is Steve Strange.

Far from being a book about ego, this is a book about the power and fragility of creativity - and reads like copy typed directly from the dictation machine. The tone of the narrative is so matter-of-fact at times that you have to keep pinching yourself and re-reading passages to truly take in the amazing events described.

My advice: blitz the book in a night, then sit back and have a good think about where pop-culture would be without Steve Strange. Think about the themes that emerge - the constructive and destructive power of creativity, the politics of influence, the impermanence of fame, image and reality, honesty. Steve Strange's autobiography has got it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Strange, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange (Paperback)
Love this biography of Steve Strange.He could do with updating his biography to the present day with visage new 2013 album hearts and knives due to be released soon.He has done a lot of music material with different bands since this biography he has made tv appearances on shows such as uk chat show loose women when he was on about making new music material.Steve strange and visage made way for the disco and dance era he is an absolute genius a must read for people who like Steve Strange and about his career as a doorman at the Blitz club in London well he was known as the (door whore) for the Blitz club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars STRANGE BUT TRUE, 3 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange (Paperback)
Having always been a fan of the remarkable Steve Strange(I once saw him in Wardour Street W1,and i was to shy to say anything)i was looking forward very much to reading this book.The wait was certainly worth every minute of it,because his Autobiography is a very honest piece of work,well written and articulate,its just such a shame that the book wasnt longer.Well done Steve you are a true Star,and i wish that i had said hello to you when i had the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blitzed has an informal style which makes it quite readable, 10 May 2003
By 
Curns "curns" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange (Paperback)
Steve Strange was an icon of the Eighties music scene, a visionary and a leader. I suspect he's often over-looked but his contribution was vital. His clubs kick-started a movement and the band he fronted, Visage, were pioneers of - what became - the New Romantics: make-up, big hair, big hats and even bigger shirt lapels and cuffs. From the beginning of the decade, and out of the punk movement, came the classic Fade To Gray. Visage and Steve Strange were combining fashion and music in a radical new way.
Blitzed has an informal style which makes it quite readable. Strange name-drops his way through a decade and apologises quite a lot for his behaviour. It's a cautionary tale of a rise to fame, money mis-management and drug addiction. It's the story of London squats and club-land rivalry and of a community who knew they were changing nightclubs, the fashion scene and music - and doing it all in a few short years. It is a struggle to stop a man falling over the edge and trying to make sense of a life where once his name was in lights but the money is long gone.
In some respects it's a fascinating tale of fame and hedonism. If, however, you've read biographies of other Eighties pop stars then you've heard a lot of it before. The story seems to have been repeated: humble beginnings drive creativity which lead to fame and then there is a some-kind of fall (usually, drink or drug induced). Blitzed is an enjoyable read but Boy George will give you more and Marc Almond will take you further. If you knew the club scene of the time there's a insight into the door policies of the new breed of Eighties clubs and how they worked. If you are looking for the story of Visage then, obviously, it's covered here and this will be a valuable reference - but it's more about the man than the band.
If you remember the decade then you'll read this book regardless but, sadly, I felt there could have been a little more. Nonetheless, Blitzed reinforces Steve Strange's rightful place as a leader of a movement who's certainly not about to fade away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful insight into the shrouded world of Mr Strange!, 22 Mar 2002
By 
Stephen Evans "A Budding Author" (Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are of a certain age ie over thirty, you will recall the "new romantic" movement and the glamourous Steve Strange. This biography gives you a chronological view of Steve's life and the music and clubbing scene of the early eighties.
Steve's rise and many falls are covered here and his positive views on the future. Steve comes accross as an honest generous extrovert. I wish him every success for the future and look forward to a TV documentary of his colourful life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 9 Mar 2005
By 
rcst (bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange (Paperback)
... as a former fan (and err... sleeping partner) of Mr Strange, this book made interesting reading.
From his Welsh upbringing to the brief success he enjoyed with Visage, through to the debauchery and decadence of his private life, this book covers most things, candidly, too.
Not as well written as the Marc Almond or Boy George memoirs and definitely taking himself way too seriously, Mr Strange seems a strangely lonely and forgotten character in this book. 'Po-faced' has been mentuioned about this book... and it's true.... a book about one's life should be funny as well as revealing.
Oh, and by the way.... could I have that fiver back I lent you in 1988 in Cardiff?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars New Romantics remebered, 30 April 2003
By 
Mr. D. Batte "davebatte" (Hull) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange (Paperback)
As a huge fan of Visage in the 80's i was a bit disappointed by this book. Much of it concentrates on Strange's nightclub work but misses out much of how the Visage singles/albums came about. Little information onthe writing of songs etc. So Visage fans you may be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange
Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange by Steve Strange (Paperback - 5 Dec 2002)
Used & New from: 11.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews