Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, interesting and exciting read
This book was a wonderful discovery. A touch of Le Carre, an echo of Ludlum, but a lot of something of its own as well. Silva's fourth book, and his first of several set against the backdrop of the Middle East-Palistinian conflict and the holocaust. Silva introduces a fascinitating character in Gabriel Allon, and weaves a wonderful network of intriguing relationships with...
Published on 28 July 2005 by Rory Morty

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unremarkable legend
Considered to be a legend among his peers, Gabriel Allon is a former Israeli secret service field agent, who had retired ten years before this novel takes place, after his family was victim of a terrorist bombing.

After several setbacks which compromised Mossad's reputation, Allon's mentor Ari Shamron asks him to return to the field, to lead a hit on Tariq, a...
Published on 25 Jun. 2012 by Pedro


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, interesting and exciting read, 28 July 2005
By 
Rory Morty "Rory Morty" (Giessen, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kill Artist (Paperback)
This book was a wonderful discovery. A touch of Le Carre, an echo of Ludlum, but a lot of something of its own as well. Silva's fourth book, and his first of several set against the backdrop of the Middle East-Palistinian conflict and the holocaust. Silva introduces a fascinitating character in Gabriel Allon, and weaves a wonderful network of intriguing relationships with equally intriguing characters, most notably Ari Shamron and Tariq. Allon, a "retired" assassin formerly in the employ of Mossad is brought out of retirement when a former arch-rival, in the form of Tariq, is plotting the assassination of a major head of state. The plot is exciting and fast paced, and takes the reader to some fascinating locations. Silva's "art restorer" background for Allon is a gem. This book gets 4 and 1/2 stars from me! I thoroughly enjoyed it, and wholeheartedly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down, 10 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Kill Artist (Paperback)
A high degree of research coupled with the thriller writer's ability to keep you reading rapidly. Silva takes you into the world of international espionage and politics but James Bond this is not.

Silva's support cast of characters are as fascinating as the main character, Allon, especially Shamron. You want to know what will happen them. How will they react to situations.

The fault in the book(I will not give away anything) is the Leila/sarah scene. There was no logic to it. Silva, ran down a dead end and forced the scene.

As with all Silva's novels, there are two 'endings'. The second one, usually in the final or second to last chapter is always a let down. Believability drops to zero.

These two criticisms are dwarfed by what is an excellent overall book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A writer who goes from strength to strength, 21 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Kill Artist (Hardcover)
This the third Daniel Silva book I have read. Each of his books have been well researched and make for compelling reading. The Kill Artist deals with the current situation in the middle east and keeps the reader in suspense from beginning to end. Mr Silva appears to improve with each new novel. I would recommend this book to all your customers. I look forward to his next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the beginning there was Gabriel Allon..., 14 Aug. 2014
By 
Terry D "tdawson735" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kill Artist (Paperback)
A long time ago, when I first discovered Daniel Silva, I started by reading the eighth Gabriel Allon thriller `Moscow Rules'. Seven books later, after I'd finished reading `The Heist' - the latest in the saga - I decided it would be an excellent idea to go back to the very beginning, read `The Kill Artist' and find out how it all started.

I wasn't disappointed. Set some ten years after Gabriel's young son was killed - and his wife Leah disfigured and seriously injured - by a terrorist's car bomb in Vienna `The Kill Artist' is a gripping thriller in which many of Daniel Silva's Israeli, MI5/6 and CIA operatives - plus other characters - make their first appearance. It doesn't matter that Chiara Zolli has yet to appear in his life (she first appears in The Confessor, the third of the Gabriel Allon books) and her place is taken by the beautiful and equally dangerous Jacqueline Delacroix - or is her real name Sarah Halévy?

After the Israeli ambassador to France and his wife are blown up as their car crosses the Seine Gabriel Allon allows Ari Shamron to persuade him to undertake a `deniable' mission. The Middle Eastern terrorist Tariq al-Hourani is believed responsible - and, by assassinating one of the major players, Israeli intelligence believe he's determined to wreck the imminent White House negotiations over the Middle East...

The storyline is, in many ways, less complex than the later Gabriel Allon thrillers - but it's easy to see why Daniel Silva was already being compared with John le Carré and Robert Ludlum.

Read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well rounded thriller, 8 Jun. 2011
By 
M. Cantrell "Author of the Orwellian thriller... (Stoke-on-Trent and Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kill Artist (Paperback)
DON'T Be put off by the naff title, the book itself is anything but.

Set against the backdrop of the Middle East peace process, Silva has dispensed with stereotypes and caricatures. Instead he takes us behind the headlines and into the heads of the players in this human tragedy.

Both sides feature ruthless people, killers, but we understand what made them. They are damaged people, products of a cycle of violence none of them made but are trapped into continuing. Whether Palestinian or Israeli, they move in a world that makes them horribly alike. Silva shows the human tragedy of the conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great starter, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kill Artist (Paperback)
This is the second book I've read from this author; regrettably, in a way, the first was the latest in the Gabriel Allon series, 'The Defector' but such was the enjoyment of that book, I decided to go through the whole series once I'd collected all of them. I am glad I have, since this book starts out on a great footing. Full of action, quite a lot of background, so that readers can learn pretty much where the main players are coming from but none of this detracts from a fast-moving story bang up to date - even now, 8 years on - with issues we all know only too well.

The author successfully moves the action around the world with Allon tracking his nemesis, Tariq, a fanatical killer intent on one last act before he is finished off by a tumour. That Arafat is the subject of his intent serves only to provide the reader with an interesting take on the serious troubles of parts of the Middle East. That an Israeli hit squad deals with this problem only helps to confound the uninitiated in global politics - me for one, anyway.

I move on to the 'The English Assassin' with some excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unremarkable legend, 25 Jun. 2012
By 
Pedro (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Kill Artist (Paperback)
Considered to be a legend among his peers, Gabriel Allon is a former Israeli secret service field agent, who had retired ten years before this novel takes place, after his family was victim of a terrorist bombing.

After several setbacks which compromised Mossad's reputation, Allon's mentor Ari Shamron asks him to return to the field, to lead a hit on Tariq, a Palestinian assassin, whose objective is to abort the Israeli-Palestinian peace talks.

"The Kill Artist" does a good job on depicting the complexity of a conflict in which both parties claim legitimacy but committed actions beyond any moral standards. There is also a particular focus on how the agents on both sides are backed by a network of civil supporters and how recruiting is done, making this novel very interesting on a broader scope. There are also some thrilling action scenes, and Tariq and Shamron are interesting characters.

However, character and plot wise, there are some faults. Allon isn't an engaging character and seemed to be always one step behind, which is something I would not expect from a legendary agent. Sometimes his instincts are useful, but those years of retirement made him more like a burden than an asset. Also, the ending could have been better explained, as some key decisions made by some characters didn't make much sense to me.

+: Tariq's chapters; the main characters' background is much more interesting than what they're doing on the present time

-: Allon as an agent was disappointing; characters like Isherwood and Peel had too much attention from the author, adding close to nothing to the plot

=: Good enough to convince me reading the next book of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 17 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Kill Artist (Hardcover)
this is the first time i have read one of silvas books and what a great read it was.the story is very fast paced and somewhat in the gerald seymour style of writing so i say buy the book, lock your self away and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the kill artist,the first of a terrific series, 1 Aug. 2009
By 
Roy Walker "book fanatic" (Oxton,Nottingham.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kill Artist (Paperback)
Daniel Silva was new to me until just by chance I picked up the first of the trilogy which follows " The Kill Artist" in the new Oxfam bookshop in Nottingham.. It is essential that you read the books in chronological order after " The Kill Artist"
"The Kill Artist" is a stand alone novel which introduces the Israeli assassin Gabriel Allon and his scheming boss.
These books are top notch thrillers spiced with an insight into the art world.
NOT TO BE MISSED!
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic, 17 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kill Artist (Paperback)
I adore all the Daniel Silva books especially about the Gabriel Allon - to be hones, think I have a bit of a crush on him - have recommended all Daniel Silva books to my work colleagues and friends and they too are all hooked. Have yet to read the lastest book "The English Girl" but have this on my Christmas list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kill Artist
The Kill Artist by Daniel Silva (Paperback - 20 Jun. 2002)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews