Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!
Loved this book! I was a huge fan of the Boy George biography and needed a fix after I had finished it...(no heroine pun intended). Not old enough to have experinced the eighties, Steve Strange was mentioned a great deal in 'Take it like a man' and i was fascinated by the glamourous scene in what was considered by all, a depressing time. Although a little ego-centric at...
Published on 22 Sep 2004 by steviedc2002

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars ... read this book yet it wasn't really entertaining or funny. Good he turned himself around
I knew him well and was interested to read this book yet it wasn't really entertaining or funny. Good he turned himself around.
Published 2 months ago by Sam Steele


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 22 Sep 2004
This review is from: Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange (Hardcover)
Loved this book! I was a huge fan of the Boy George biography and needed a fix after I had finished it...(no heroine pun intended). Not old enough to have experinced the eighties, Steve Strange was mentioned a great deal in 'Take it like a man' and i was fascinated by the glamourous scene in what was considered by all, a depressing time. Although a little ego-centric at times, Steve was funny and brutally honest. Just reading it made me want to go back in time, get glammed up and get a cab to the Camden Palace. Although not all glamour, his honest account of humble up bringings and the vile side of the drug scene is admirable. A great book whether or not you lived through that era or are even a fan of the new romantic scene.
Has Phillip Salon or Marolyn done a book yet? I think that would be the next on on the list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read This Book!This man was The 80's......., 4 May 2002
This review is from: Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange (Hardcover)
If you only read one book this year,then this has to be it.It takes you on a journey from Steves early days as Wales first punk through to his clubs nights at The Blitz etc,where he was responsible for the "Movement with no name" which the press eventually labelled "New Romanticism",a name which Steve hates to this day,to his fight & brave comeback from drugs hell.Now we will all get a chance to see him on the up & coming "Here & Now Christmas Party" this December.
The book tells such tales as the day Steve had to sack Boy George for picking pockets (allegedly!) at one of his clubs and how Steve Norman & Martin Kemp "kidnapped" Steve to try to get him off drugs.
This man is a survivor.
Read this book!
You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chatty, candid, humble and warm!, 28 Jun 2002
This review is from: Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this candid and chatty autobiography..... only wish it was longer, and wished there were even more photies.. maybe a follow up would be nice...Steve is sometimes overlooked and not always credited as the leader of a total movement ....not just a movement about 'dressing up' and re-creating yourself but about the way in which the music/club scene in London progressed.... far too often Boy George is credited globally yet it really was Steve who paved most of the way.... in this book he is amazingly humble and far from grandious - really enjoyed it! Also a great read for anyone who is in any kind of recovery...Wish him so well..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven and Hell!, 10 Dec 2007
By 
TobyToby (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange (Hardcover)
Pick any pop-culture movement of the last 30 years and you'll find that a single, shadowy figure keeps cropping up at conception-time. That immaculately-dressed man, the uncrowned king of pop-culture, is Steve Strange.

Far from being a book about ego, this is a book about the power and fragility of creativity - and reads like copy typed directly from the dictation machine. The tone of the narrative is so matter-of-fact at times that you have to keep pinching yourself and re-reading passages to truly take in the amazing events described.

My advice: blitz the book in a night, then sit back and have a good think about where pop-culture would be without Steve Strange. Think about the themes that emerge - the constructive and destructive power of creativity, the politics of influence, the impermanence of fame, image and reality, honesty. Steve Strange's autobiography has got it all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Strange, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this biography of Steve Strange.He could do with updating his biography to the present day with visage new 2013 album hearts and knives due to be released soon.He has done a lot of music material with different bands since this biography he has made tv appearances on shows such as uk chat show loose women when he was on about making new music material.Steve strange and visage made way for the disco and dance era he is an absolute genius a must read for people who like Steve Strange and about his career as a doorman at the Blitz club in London well he was known as the (door whore) for the Blitz club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars STRANGE BUT TRUE, 3 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having always been a fan of the remarkable Steve Strange(I once saw him in Wardour Street W1,and i was to shy to say anything)i was looking forward very much to reading this book.The wait was certainly worth every minute of it,because his Autobiography is a very honest piece of work,well written and articulate,its just such a shame that the book wasnt longer.Well done Steve you are a true Star,and i wish that i had said hello to you when i had the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blitzed has an informal style which makes it quite readable, 10 May 2003
By 
Curns "curns" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Steve Strange was an icon of the Eighties music scene, a visionary and a leader. I suspect he's often over-looked but his contribution was vital. His clubs kick-started a movement and the band he fronted, Visage, were pioneers of - what became - the New Romantics: make-up, big hair, big hats and even bigger shirt lapels and cuffs. From the beginning of the decade, and out of the punk movement, came the classic Fade To Gray. Visage and Steve Strange were combining fashion and music in a radical new way.
Blitzed has an informal style which makes it quite readable. Strange name-drops his way through a decade and apologises quite a lot for his behaviour. It's a cautionary tale of a rise to fame, money mis-management and drug addiction. It's the story of London squats and club-land rivalry and of a community who knew they were changing nightclubs, the fashion scene and music - and doing it all in a few short years. It is a struggle to stop a man falling over the edge and trying to make sense of a life where once his name was in lights but the money is long gone.
In some respects it's a fascinating tale of fame and hedonism. If, however, you've read biographies of other Eighties pop stars then you've heard a lot of it before. The story seems to have been repeated: humble beginnings drive creativity which lead to fame and then there is a some-kind of fall (usually, drink or drug induced). Blitzed is an enjoyable read but Boy George will give you more and Marc Almond will take you further. If you knew the club scene of the time there's a insight into the door policies of the new breed of Eighties clubs and how they worked. If you are looking for the story of Visage then, obviously, it's covered here and this will be a valuable reference - but it's more about the man than the band.
If you remember the decade then you'll read this book regardless but, sadly, I felt there could have been a little more. Nonetheless, Blitzed reinforces Steve Strange's rightful place as a leader of a movement who's certainly not about to fade away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ... read this book yet it wasn't really entertaining or funny. Good he turned himself around, 17 Oct 2014
This review is from: Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange (Hardcover)
I knew him well and was interested to read this book yet it wasn't really entertaining or funny. Good he turned himself around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed reading about Steve, 3 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange (Hardcover)
Really enjoyed reading about Steve, Hope he does another one to continue so i can read about how later life has been for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is such a good read, I would definitely recommend it to anyone who remembers this era!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange
Blitzed!: The Autobiography of Steve Strange by Steve Strange (Hardcover - 21 Mar 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews