Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars14
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 August 2007
Uderzo quickly redeemed himself after the awful previous book, which was the first created on his own. This is much more like the old stuff, a sure footed adventure on a mission overseas. There's lots of humour in this one without watering down the action, and some of the little plot devices are excellent. Features a spitting image of a certain famous espionage agent. Near to getting 5 stars, but the weak ending let it down.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2001
Fans of Asterix will love this book. As usual there is the blatant humour with all the little subtilties that even the oldest adult finds amusing. Yet another educational twist as things we take for granted are subjected to a makeover by Uderzo and Goscinny. Geniuses at work!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2000
I am 22. I read the Asterix books years ago when I was in school and I have just started to buy them for myself again. I know you are probably thinking "What? He`s nuts! " but I feel that the humour in these books is more suited to an older audience. I am pleased to say that I will have these books for ever now and I will be able to share them with my children, as and when they come along.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2002
Asterix and Obelix are off on yet another adventure, #27. This time it's to the Middle East to find rock oil for Getafix's magic potion, they are accompanied by a roman secret agent Dubbelosix who is determined to sabotage the adventure anyway he can. Asterix mets may strange people in the desert, which wears his patience down very thin, finally Dogmatix finds what they are searching for, so they set off for home with their precious cargo only to lose it all, or have they?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2001
When Asterix and Obelix go to the Land of Black Gold they come across the most breath taking adventures. The illustrations are fabulous! They show the all the details of The Promised Land, the way it looked in 50BC, at the time of the Roman occupation! Asterix and Obelix have the funniest way of doing things, when they go on the first quest ever for black gold!
Just Brill!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
This are for my grandson who is nine. He loves the Asterix books so was very pleased to receive this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
still a kid and loving these books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Good Story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
book in excellent condition and what a service!!! arrived in excellent condition as described and on time. value for money. very very pleased with my purchase, thank you so much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
VERY EXCITED AND PLEASED WITH THIS PRESENT. Our grandson is interested in ancient history, and the format of the Asterix series give him many hours of happy reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.