Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Year is still 50BC!
After a five year gap Asterix has returned in probably one of the slightest books in the series but undoutably one of the funniest. It pails in comparison to some of the earlier books but is still highly enjoyable. Perhaps the jokes are becoming just too sophisticated for some people! Latraviata is surely one of the best creations in the series. Lets hope there are more...
Published on 24 April 2001

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay...
This latest Asterix venture doesn't fare so well. To be honest, it just feels crusty. It makes a perfectly enjoyable read, but unlike the previous books, there seems to be little to make you read it again. There are very few jokes in it, and those that are there are recycled or very obvious. The art, too, has lost some of its quality. A lot of it looks a little flat, and...
Published on 11 May 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay..., 11 May 2001
By A Customer
This latest Asterix venture doesn't fare so well. To be honest, it just feels crusty. It makes a perfectly enjoyable read, but unlike the previous books, there seems to be little to make you read it again. There are very few jokes in it, and those that are there are recycled or very obvious. The art, too, has lost some of its quality. A lot of it looks a little flat, and the returning characters seem to be drawn a little differently. Personally I think they were just thrown in for the sake of it.
The whole thing feels like it's on its last legs. Since Goscinny died, the series seems to have been getting continually worse, and this latest outing does nothing to help the situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Year is still 50BC!, 24 April 2001
By A Customer
After a five year gap Asterix has returned in probably one of the slightest books in the series but undoutably one of the funniest. It pails in comparison to some of the earlier books but is still highly enjoyable. Perhaps the jokes are becoming just too sophisticated for some people! Latraviata is surely one of the best creations in the series. Lets hope there are more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great story, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asterix and the Actress (Paperback)
excellent story as usual, we done drawings and well published.
I just hope they will continue to provide more pleasurable reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK, enough. Leave Asterix be now, 25 Mar 2006
By 
R Bain (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Asterix and the Actress (Paperback)
Since Uderzo started producing Asterix books alone, it's become clear that while he is a great visual artist, he's no storyteller.

Original writer Goscinny penned dozens of memorable stories, with Uderzo providing the pictures, and together they created the world that Asterix inhabits.

But without Goscinny, Uderzo just doesn't have the narrative skill or imagination to carry it on, so he resorts to more and more outlandish plots and characters, which just don't ring true. Instead of building on the world of Asterix, he's spoiling it.

All of us who grew up with Asterix have to thank Monsieur Uderzo for bringing such a brilliant creation to life. But things have gone so far downhill with his last few books, it's now time he left the plucky little Gaul alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book after 5 years of absence., 12 July 2001
By 
Daniel Eiras (NYC, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been hearing some poor reviews of this new installation in the Asterix series, and I must admit that I disagree that this edition is a lackluster attempt at revitalizing the Asterix line of books. I have been an avid Asterix fan for many years, and although I will not say that this book is among my favorites in the series, I think Uderzo did a good job of developing a new and innovative story line. With this installation, the reader learns a lot about Asterix and Obelix's past and about their families. I disagree that the jokes and puns in this book are just reused jokes from previous books; Uderzo plays on the operatic theme of the book (making allusions to Rigoletto and other famous operas) as well as uses some jokes that have become well known staples of Asterix dialogue. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and hope that it will not take another 5 years before the next installation is published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fun reading, but haven't we had it all before?, 5 April 2001
By 
Wim Jacobs "ishpuini" (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A new Asterix album is always something to look forward to, but since Uderzo is on his own, the series is becoming just a faint echo of its haydays, this last one being the worst ever. The story is weak and the few jokes don't offer anything new. Dragging Asterix and Obelix's parents into the plot does not help, on the contrary for me it seems to point out an author run out of fresh ideas.
If you're not a die hard fan, don't buy it, but rather complete your collection with any one of the older albums. If you have them all, well then you have to buy this one, but only to keep the collection complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asterix and the Actress (Paperback)
all very nice I am very happy about amazon service too. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good laugh, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asterix and the Actress (Paperback)
I have enjoyed these books for years and this is as good as the rest. Anybody liking a good laugh will enjoy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A comment, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dear Amazon UK

The book "Asterix And The Actress" was a little banged on one of the sides. I thought about changing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny stuff!, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Asterix is a classic every child should enjoy his antics. The play on words used when naming the characters makes the reader think. Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Asterix and the Actress
Asterix and the Actress by Albert Uderzo (text and illustrations) (Paperback - 18 April 2002)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews