Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ludlum at his very best, again!
Fantastic story, truely awesome. I have never read a novel that is so engrossing. Twist after twist after twist, double-cross after double-cross, it almost leaves your head spinning when you put it down! If you like reading pulp fiction then don't get this book. But if you like totally gripping and enthralling spy thrillers, then for God's sake go and buy it because they...
Published on 19 July 2003 by J. R. Hall

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ludlum: unbelievable complexity and far too long.
According to the publisher’s blurb on the cover of this book, Robert Ludlum is “The World’s Number 1 Storyteller”. Well, perhaps he was in earlier times, but not on the basis of this overly-long book, which I understand was his final work.

The plot is easy to summarise. Nick Bryson is a field agent who used to work for the Directorate, a...
Published 11 months ago by Brian R. Martin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ludlum: unbelievable complexity and far too long., 5 Mar. 2014
By 
Brian R. Martin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Prometheus Deception (Paperback)
According to the publisher’s blurb on the cover of this book, Robert Ludlum is “The World’s Number 1 Storyteller”. Well, perhaps he was in earlier times, but not on the basis of this overly-long book, which I understand was his final work.

The plot is easy to summarise. Nick Bryson is a field agent who used to work for the Directorate, a secret intelligence organisation, devoted to ‘saving the Western world’, but so secret that most people are unaware of its existence. Nick made an operational mistake on his last assignment and is forced to retire to a lecturing position at a small college, the implied threat being that if he doesn’t go quietly he will be eliminated. After a few years he is called in by someone from the CIA, who tells him that the Directorate was actually set up by KGB agents, and has been used to undermine the operations of Western intelligence services. Nick finds this hard to believe, but the evidence is very convincing, and he is recruited to help destroy the Directorate.

This introduction could have formed the basis of an interesting, if not very original, plot, about how a dedicated agent comes to terms with finding that his entire life was a sham, including the possibility that his wife, who deserted him five years earlier, was a ‘plant’. Instead it is used to construct a lightweight story along the lines of a violent James Bond film, but much more unbelievable. During his attempts to find out more about the Directorate, who are its members and where it is now located, he travels effortlessly over the world, and along the way falls in with a young female agent who is apparently working for Mossad, the Israeli secret service. At each location they are pursued by agents of the Directorate bent on killing them. The body count rises very rapidly, not just of the villains, but numerous innocent bystanders as well. Nick emerges as an indestructible superman, impervious to all pain, and their frequent escapes from mortal danger become increasingly ludicrous.

A good spy thriller should of course have some twists and turns, but as the story evolves these are piled on remorselessly. It transpires that many of the political establishment of most of the major powers is implicated in some sort of takeover of world power for themselves; there is an unbelievable reunion with his wife; even the Mossad agent at one point apparently tries to kill him, but Nick overlooks this ‘mistake’. Ludlum seems to have been carried away by technical details in the final sections of the book. The climax is pure James Bond, with a giant conflagration of an absurdly luxurious hi-tech mansion, and the convenient deaths of most of the baddies, although at the end doubts are sown that the monster could be rising from the ashes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Start - Unsatisfactory Denoument, 29 Dec. 2008
This review is from: The Prometheus Deception (Paperback)
The plot of the Prometheus Deception reminded me of the idea behind the Bourne Trilogy. The similarities between Nick Bryson, who has to discover the truth about his past life, and Jason Bourne, who has to reconstruct his past following amnesia, are indeed striking. Both protagonists are lone fighters entangled in a web of conspiracies and their adversaries seem at first glance far more powerful. These motifs permeate most of Ludlum's plots and the Prometheus Deception is no exception. Ludlum once again manages to weave a lot of accurately researched historical and technical information into the story. Another ingredient, which makes his books enjoyable reads.

The basic plot of the story can be summarised in a few sentences: Nick Bryson used to work for the Directorate, a secret intelligence organisation, which is so well hidden, that most people do not know it even exists. Following his retirement, he works as a university lecturer until he is recruited by the CIA, who make him believe that the Directorate was a false - flag agency set up by KGB conspirators, who attempted to undermine the operations of the Western intelligence services. As an ex-operative, Nick is recruited to help destroy the Directorate. From then onwards the story twists and turns, and in the end the reader and Nick Bryson can no longer be sure who is friend, and who is foe.

For the first four hundred pages, I was not able to put this book down. Just like Nick Bryson the reader becomes obsessed with discovering the truth. Ludlum successfully manages to make you feel that nothing in the whole plot is what it seems to be, and that ultimately every protagonist is in some way connected to the Prometheans.

At the expense of the suspense created in the first part of the book, I felt that Ludlum lost himself in too many technical details in the last part of the book. The combat scenes are far too elaborately described and thereby distract from the plot. The overall denoument of the story is somewhat unsatisfactory and hurried
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not his best! full of inconsistancies, 15 Sept. 2009
By 
ratscat13 "ratscat13" (North East Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Prometheus Deception (Paperback)
Ludlum returns to his favourite theme of world domination by a secret society.

However this is not the greatest he has ever written. The book follows his usual formulae of man (in this case Nicholas Bryson) of dodgy government agency background discovering a secret, shadowy society bent on running the world. Helped on the way by a female side kick - who usually turns out to be not all she first seems.

The premise usually works for Ludlum - however this book is full of glaring contradictions. How can a woman who is overcome by a weedy guy take on a contract killer and win? How come when a garage is full of locked vehicles Nicholas breaks in only to find the keys in the ignition? (the explanation is that separating the vehicles from their keys would be a logistical nightmare but they are locked....). Also at one point the driver of a vehicle changes from the female sidekick to Bryson in the middle of a paragraph!

Maybe it's just me being picky but I find all these inconsistancies hard to take - I have to keep checking back to make sure I haven't missed anything!

An enjoyable read if you can see past all the glaring mistakes. I couldn't hence only three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ludlum at his very best, again!, 19 July 2003
By 
This review is from: The Prometheus Deception (Paperback)
Fantastic story, truely awesome. I have never read a novel that is so engrossing. Twist after twist after twist, double-cross after double-cross, it almost leaves your head spinning when you put it down! If you like reading pulp fiction then don't get this book. But if you like totally gripping and enthralling spy thrillers, then for God's sake go and buy it because they don't get any better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST Ludlum book ever!, 18 April 2001
By 
Roy Ben Ami (Jerusalem, Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Prometheus Deception (Paperback)
Just before i bought this book i heard the sad news that ludlum has died. I am sure this is a hard blow to all ludlum's book lovers out there like me. However, i expected pretty much a lot from his last book because i didnt quite liked his latest one before - The Hades Factor. But after reading this huge book i have to admit that ludlum did it again and managed to create the best book ever. This book has all the action, suspense and top secret stuff you come to expect from him. I have to say that it is even better, in my humble opinion, than his bourne series and the materase one. He managed to grip me from the start and without revealing too much of the story i have to say that the plot twists are terrific. So, what are you waiting for?? go grab it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the only books to throw away or not buy, 1 Jan. 2009
By 
George (Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Prometheus Deception (Paperback)
I love some of Robert Ludlums books, and even enjoyed the covert one series the "Artic Event", however this book the Prometheus Deception is terrible, it is one of the only books I am sure I will never read again, refer to, be inspired by or recommend to others, unfortunate, as I was really looking forward to it.

Instead, a good read (after the first 25 pages) is Jack Hendersons book "Maximum Impact".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less plausible than most, 19 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Prometheus Deception (Paperback)
This is a really complicated, ever twisting plot. And that is fun, except one quite rapidly begins to guess the twists before they happen. Credibility is strained beyond breaking point - a highly trained woman who is effortlessly overcome by a wimp nearly kills a top class killer. Whilst continually on the run, the hero manages to have cover stories and props available to him wherever he ends up. His sixth sense only works five sixths of the time, but he has ten lives. Great idea, but rather carelessly put together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Familiar....., 30 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Prometheus Deception (Paperback)
This book was a very good yarn, however, I was struck by the similarities it bore not only on the Microsoft v the free world cases but also to a film I watched recently entitled "Antitrust" - different characters with different backgrounds but very similar villian and his goals and methods. All said, an enjoyable and very readable book. I recommend it if you haven't seen Antitrust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Formulaic and tedious!, 17 April 2002
By 
W. Dawes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Prometheus Deception (Paperback)
I have to say that this is by far the worst Ludlum book I have read yet. It is utterly formulaic; he must have written it on autopilot. Super-gifted hero basically goes from one ridiculously contrived situation to another, and in every instance tediously manages to shoot his way out or is rescued in unlikely circumstances. And the 'collateral damage' count is simply ludicrous - how many people does he have to kill to make a book entertaining? I've quite enjoyed some of his other books, but I've got to say that this one I only finished out of sheer bloody-mindedness; I could not believe a book could become so predictable. Give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but a tad far-fetched!!!, 28 April 2004
This review is from: The Prometheus Deception (Paperback)
This was the first Ludlum book I've read and it was just average enough. The story is based on Nick Byrson (this man is very, very lucky!!!) asecret spy in the mould of James Bond. There are plently of twists butmost of them you can see from a mile away. Nick must be made of steel asnothing/no-one is capable of causing him major pain!!! For me there was tomuch concentration on the gadget aspect (never mind Nicks ability toalways come across them!!!) and not enough focus on some of thecharacters. It's not a complete waste of time reading this book but thereare better trillers out there!! I'll give another Ludlum book a go becauseI think this book had potential which some of his other work may/hopefullyhave capitalised on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Prometheus Deception
The Prometheus Deception by Robert Ludlum (Paperback - 11 Oct. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews