Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Stuff
It's great to know that Rankin's talents aren't just restricted to writing about Rebus.
The Jack Harvey books are a completely different style, and equally enjoyable. His writing is first class, sometimes stopping me in my tracks with a brilliant sentence.
His Jack Harvey novels are very good reads, maybe not qutie as good as Rebus, but still very enjoyable...
Published on 10 Feb 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A thriller, but not one of Rankin's best books
This is the tenth Rankin I have read (seven Rebus novels, one set of Rebus short stories, and Watchman), and to me at least, the joint weakest.

Other reviewers mention the picking and dropping off of plot elements, or the unconvincing nature of this or that. I feel the main problem is that Ian took it upon himself to write an all-out action thriller. Whether in...
Published on 18 Sep 2008 by Peter Shaw


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling from Start to Finish, 16 Aug 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having listened to the other two Jack Harvey tapes, I kept thinking that this could not be as good as the other two, again I was wrong.
Ian Rankin can not only write great stories about Inspector Rebus, but has the ability to put together great tales and characters that hold the listeners attention. In Blood Hunt an ex-SAS soldier learns of his brothers death in the USA. He then has to turn detective to resolve the complex motives behind the murder. Rankin manages to weave a number of seemingly disconnected sub plots into a great ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Seems like an old manuscript, 23 Nov 2008
This review is from: Blood Hunt: A Jack Harvey Novel (Paperback)
This book, while quite entertaining, seems to be an old manuscript pulled from the back of a drawer. For one thing, it's hard to imagine Rankin being so casual about research (as an ex-New Yorker, the idea of a taxi driver being afraid to drive into Queens made me laugh, and much of the US information was very dated by the 1990s, which backs up my "back of the drawer" theory). But he writes, as always, effortlessly, cleanly, sharply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You may have already read this book, 19 July 2007
This review is from: Blood Hunt (Paperback)
This book seens to have been published in the UK in 1995. It was described as by Ian Rankin writing as Jack Harvey. At the period Ian Rankin wrote some thrillers under the name of Jack Harvey. It is possible that like me you will buy this book and find that you have already read it.

The Jack Harvey books were well plotted and very readable but they might not be what Rebus fans expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Try harder Jack Harvey or stick to being Ian Rankin., 6 Mar 2002
This review is from: Blood Hunt: A Jack Harvey Novel (Paperback)
The scenario is a familiar one.You are living life in a mediocre fashion.Then comes that phone call.The one that changes your life.The only difference is that you have a past in the SAS and that changed who you are and how you accept the news the phone call brings.Your estranged brother is dead,a suicide.Suddenly his life and death needs your attention.
Having read all the Rebus novels and enjoyed them I was looking forward to a new character as hero.I finished the book disappointed.The uneven pace of the plot kept me turning the page but I didn't feel pulled into it.
The inevitable climax where the past and present meet was action-packed.But I felt let down by the fact that all the threads weren't neatly tied.I wanted to know what happened to the main string-puller.Did the information get out or was it surpressed?I felt the book needed another 20 pages or so to explain all this.
Please try harder Jack Harvey or stick to being Ian Rankin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blood Hunt - Rankin, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Hunt (Kindle Edition)
Not at all a Rebus book - I tried to see when it was written but didn't succeed - it is a good adventure, swash-buckling hero - winning against all odds. Would make a good action movie. Good enough reading - you had to keep going to find the end - which seems to be not tied up so there could well be a second book. That's if this is a recently written book - otherwise it is early Rankin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Ian Rankin book!, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Hunt (Kindle Edition)
A thrilling story from beginning to end, which I highly recommend to all crime readers, but especially to lovers of Ian Rankins many books.

Susan Macdonald
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Needs work, 10 Feb 2014
This review is from: Blood Hunt (Paperback)
This was a fairly run-of-the-mill, ex-SAS, righter-of-wrongs story. It looked as if there might be an interesting anger management problem for our protagonist but nothing much was made of this angle – it was stated but barely developed.
Two aspects stood out for me: I didn't really believe in Gordon's SAS background; research had been done but his words and actions didn't ring true for some of the time. For example, referring to an LUP (lying up point) as 'a hiding place' didn't fit the Regiment's image. The Argentinian drama was probably the most believable even if Jay wasn't. And the second aspect was that there didn't seem enough hurdles in Gordon's way. He had a relatively easy ride considering the nature of the opposition – he made too many friends and much of the conflict was a walkover.
All together though, the writing flowed and the pages turned without sighs or hrmphs (is that a word?) of dissatisfaction. Made a change from Rankin, but only because Gordon was fitter and enjoyed killing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blood Hunt, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Hunt (Kindle Edition)
It is still very difficult to reconcile Jack Harvey with Iain Rankin as the same writer. Don't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Ian Rankin success!, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Hunt (Paperback)
Excellent book from Ian Rankin. Fast-paced and entertaining. I couldn't put it down. Kept me on the edge of my seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rather good, 15 Jun 2013
This review is from: Blood Hunt (Paperback)
This is the only Ian Rankin book I have ever read so I can't compare it with any of his others. I thought it was clever and fast-paced. Not my usual cup of tea but that didn't stop me from enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Hunt: A Jack Harvey Novel
Blood Hunt: A Jack Harvey Novel by Ian Rankin (Paperback - 17 Jan 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews