Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent
I have read all of Michael Connelly's books and, without a doubt, this is one of his best. I recommend to my friends that they start with his first and work through them all. We have a book case that doubles as a lending library and once I give one of his first books to somebody, they always come back for the rest of them and walk out piled up with The Poet, the...
Published on 24 Jan. 2000

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Vegas gamble that works
Pretty good stand alone (non- Bosch) story from Connelly. Cassie Black an ex- Vegas con artist is released from jail and does 'one-last' trick to make enough money to run away. The trick realises too big a bonus and upsets a whole lot of bad guys who come out to play, and Casssie is in serious trouble. The plot is rather simple for Connelly but runs at a Patterson pace...
Published on 19 Aug. 2008 by Clive


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Vegas gamble that works, 19 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Void Moon (Paperback)
Pretty good stand alone (non- Bosch) story from Connelly. Cassie Black an ex- Vegas con artist is released from jail and does 'one-last' trick to make enough money to run away. The trick realises too big a bonus and upsets a whole lot of bad guys who come out to play, and Casssie is in serious trouble. The plot is rather simple for Connelly but runs at a Patterson pace making it very enjoyable. The ending is a bit too sentimental, and something Connelly evidently wanted to attempt; having little potential to use with Bosh. Overall, I don't think Connelly deals an ACE, but certainly a good gamble, that works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 24 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Void Moon (Hardcover)
I have read all of Michael Connelly's books and, without a doubt, this is one of his best. I recommend to my friends that they start with his first and work through them all. We have a book case that doubles as a lending library and once I give one of his first books to somebody, they always come back for the rest of them and walk out piled up with The Poet, the Concrete Blonde, The Last Coyote, Blood Work, etc. I didn't think his last book was the greatest but I think he's made up for it with this one, Void Moon. Both my husband and I read it within three days, we couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can Be Slow Go; Only for the Most Devoted Fans, 10 Jan. 2011
By 
Stephanie De Pue (Wilmington, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Void Moon (Paperback)
"Void Moon," (2000) is a mystery standalone that comes a little earlier in the career of Michael Connelly, author of the best-selling Detective Harry Bosch series of mystery novels, Los Angeles-set police procedurals that look at life on the "noir" side. This book, which is set in Los Angeles and Las Vegas, has a female protagonist, Cassie Black, and could, I guess, be considered more of a thriller than a straightforward mystery.

Cassie, a Las Vegas native, has walked away from her criminal past after a disastrous night in the Las Vegas Cleopatra that left her lover dead, and her facing a jail term, of which she has served five years at Nevada's High Desert prison. She has now been released on probation and gone to Los Angeles, where she is selling Porsches to young new Hollywood arrivals. Suddenly, the world delivers her another blow. She then needs money fast, and so must go back to her old trade, robbing Las Vegas casino gamblers, at which she was very technologically adept and very successful. So she's given a mark - a potential victim-- by a superstitious old friend with connections: the mark has been winning steadily at baccarat for a week. The job appears to go perfectly, until she opens the mark's briefcase, and then the trouble starts. Her superstitious friend believes that it's because she did not steer clear of the bad luck void moon on the night of the burglary, as he advised her to do. (The internet site Sky View Zone tells us "The Moon becomes void when it's not making any major aspects to the other planets. This happens every few days for a time period ranging from a few minutes to a day or more." And this is the best I can do for a definition, folks.) At any rate, Cassie's luck continues to be lousy, and then she has again crossed paths with Jack Karch, a Vegas-based private investigator by day who does black work for casino operators by night. He's the man who engineered the destruction of her life six years before.

Connelly's usual wonderful fondness for detail nearly undoes this book. He lays down a tremendous amount of technological minutiae on the reader, the action is rather slow: it's a bit boring and suffocating, and some readers may feel they could almost rob a Las Vegas casino themselves after reading it. And in Karch, he seems to have borrowed a funny-named psychotic villain from the James Lee Burke school of detective writing. Yet, somehow, the book retains enough of Connelly's trademark power. It's also got his usual excellent narrative and descriptive writing, and snappy dialogue. And it too is written with great knowledge of, and love for, Los Angeles, then his adopted home town.

We might also notice that Connelly is still sneaking a couple of his favorite ploys into the book: as he used to do in his earlier books, He is still playing with the phrase, "the wire in the blood." (In Blood Work, he mentioned that he was to collaborate on a book with Val McDermid, the Scottish tartan noir author, on a book by that name,The Wire in the Blood. Omnivorous mystery readers will know that McDermid did indeed write quite a book by that title, but without Connelly's participation. However, this book finds him still playing with the idea.)

Connelly is a former journalist, a crime beat writer for the Los Angeles Times, who certainly earned his spurs in murder while earning his daily bread. He is a wonderful writer, my favorite among American mystery authors, and I've read all his books save The Scarecrow and his most recent, The Reversal. (Like many other readers, I imagine, I prefer his series works to his standalones: like many other writers, his mysteries seem more powerful if they are filtered through the sensibilities of his detective protagonist.) However, his recent standalones, "SCARECROW," The Brass Verdict, and The Lincoln Lawyer, have all been #1 New York Times Bestsellers. Crime Beat: A Decade of Covering Cops and Killers, his collected non-fiction journalism, was also a New York Times bestseller. But "Void Moon" can be slow going, and I wouldn't recommend it to any but his most devoted readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Riveting Read, 15 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Void Moon (Paperback)
This is the first Michael Connelly book I have read and it certainly wont be the last. I couldnt put it down purely because I had to see where the next surprise was coming from.
I loved the fact that all the different sections came together so well for a fantastic conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cassie Black - A likeable con, 18 April 2009
By 
Big Bertha (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Void Moon (Paperback)
Cassie Black has just been released from doing time for her part in a Las Vegas Casino robbery that went horribly wrong and her partner Max ended up dead.
She's on parole and going straight when events take a turn that make her want to do one last job. But from the outset things felt wrong and Cassie ends up on the run, chasing her is Las Vegas trouble-shooter Jack Karch.

This story has something for everyone, a likeable female protagonist, the hi-tech gadgets and detailed planning for the heist, the bitter psychopathic killer on her trail. Intertwined with the story are snippets of what really happened on the night when Max died.

This book is full of great characters, Cassie herself is brilliantly drawn and the reader wants her to succeed, Karch is scary, cold and calculating and equally good are lesser characters such as Thelma Kibble, Leo Renfro and Vincent Grimaldi.

Already a fan of Connelly, this is definitely up there with my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stand-Alone Connelly, 22 July 2008
By 
Scottish Dave (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Void Moon (Paperback)
I'm gradually working my way through Michael Connelly's "Harry Bosch" series of books. However, "Void Moon" is a bit different as it is a stand-alone novel. Fortunately it is every bit as good a as Harry Bosch novel.

It is set partly in Las Vegas and partly in LA and centres around Cassie Black, a former Las Vegas thief. Now out of prison with a respectable job, Cassie decides to pull of one last big job. However, it doesn't go quite as planned.

By the time I had gotten to about half way through this book it had definitely turned into a page turner that I couldn't put down! There are plenty of twists and turns along the way a great story unfolds. The characters are well developed and you feel that you have really gotten to know Cassie.

A most enjoyable 9/10 read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Connelly fans will lap it up, 11 May 2008
By 
O E J - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Void Moon (Hardcover)
Void Moon is another standalone from Michael Connelly only this time just about about every character is on the wrong side of the law. I liked it, but then I'm a devoted Connelly fan, and I must admit that it's not the most enjoyable of his novels but you have to concede that a 'quite good' book by this author - relative to his others - will almost certainly be better than the best that the majority of other crime fiction novelists can manage. His only crime is that he sets the bar high and we expect accordingly high standards!

In a nutshell it's about a 33-year old female ex-con who specialises in high tech Vegas casino burglaries, and she manages to pull off what she vows is her last job only to find that she is being pursued by a very single-minded psychopath of a problem-solver-cum-contract-killer. Half of the story covers her carefully planned caper, the other half the pursuit. I have to confess that I could have written down the exact nature of the killer's demise several hundred pages before it was revealed, but I enjoyed it just the same. The key missing element was a charismatic central character who the reader can really root for; sadly there's no Harry Bosch to be seen even though part of the tale takes place on his turf in Hollywood. Anyway if you are one of the many Connelly fans then don't miss this one, it will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 12 Jan. 2000
This review is from: Void Moon (Hardcover)
Michael Connelly one of the best Thriller writers around. Never tied to one character, but explores different characters in each book. His latest 'Void Moon' never disappoints. Great storyline - strong characters- couldn't put it down. Value for money. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cleverly constructed and a great read!, 17 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Void Moon (Paperback)
I have read many Michael Connelly books, but this is definitely the best one to date, closely followed by The Poet.
It is defintely writen in a different style to his other books, but is so well constructed that you just have to keep turning to find out what happens next....so many twists...fantastic story line - it has everything and more!
I would go as far as saying this is the best crime genre book that I have read. Superb work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Void Moon is a gripper!, 4 Mar. 2001
By 
Rebecca Brown "rebeccasreads" (Clallam Bay, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Void Moon (Hardcover)
Cassie Black has paid her dues & is trying to be a model parolee in an imperfect system. Even though she's thriving at selling Porsches in Los Angeles, she's still got one more secret & one more bid for happiness.
Cassie's trade was robbing casino gamblers & she was very good at it until one disastrous night when everything went wrong & she wound up doing time. Now, after years of attempting to be a model citizen, something crops up that sends her spiraling off into panic & she sets about honing the only skills that ever made her money to spare. She seeks out an old friend for a fast, goof-proof job.
The job goes perfectly until she checks out her cache & crosses paths with her old nemesis, a private investigator with very dirty hands & murder on his mind. In the final twist of a riveting plot, Cassie Black steps out of the shadows & does the right thing. A satisfying read! Do check out my full review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Void Moon
Void Moon by Michael Connelly (Paperback - 15 Mar. 2007)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews