Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving and utterly Breath Taking novel
If you enjoy war time stories then this is one for you because not only is it fasinating but also incredably moving. As you read it you become extreamly attached to the characters, you almost adopt a maternal or paternal role over them. I found it hard to let go of them at the end. Josie is trully an amazing woman she deals with loss of life, confusion in the way her...
Published on 22 April 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A rags to riches story
An intriguing story of a girl whose mother led a less than normal life and whos life after the death of her mother was turned around, with twists and turns along the way. All this taking place during the war.
Published on 1 April 2011 by bintah


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A moving and utterly Breath Taking novel, 22 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Girl From Barefoot House (Paperback)
If you enjoy war time stories then this is one for you because not only is it fasinating but also incredably moving. As you read it you become extreamly attached to the characters, you almost adopt a maternal or paternal role over them. I found it hard to let go of them at the end. Josie is trully an amazing woman she deals with loss of life, confusion in the way her life leads and also making a life that she can cope with. Your bond with Josie is very much real and you feel the need sometimes to reach out and support her. Maureen Lee's sensitive approach to the chacaters is it itself most of the masterpiece. Her ability to create such realistic situations and emotions between characters is amazing. The life story of Josie is so realistic it could easily be an auto-biography. As a reader you travel through time to an era which is sometimes so difficult to comprehend but Maureen Lee makes it so vivid in your mind you find yourself walking down the streets of Liverpool with Josie feeling the heartache Josie goes through with her mothers death and the love and affection which she fially deserves. This is an amazing book it is a moving and a utterly breathtaking masterpiece, I most definatly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd even miss Eastenders for this book..., 10 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Girl From Barefoot House (Paperback)
Maureen Lee has managed to caputure, once again, my imagination with her latest book. There are so many surprises in this book, and the characters are so moving you will not want to put it down. This book covers everything from child abuse to prostitution - but it is done with so much compassion & feeling that it isn't at all tasteless. I'm a big fan of ML, and this has got to be one of her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book from a brilliant Author., 14 Mar 2001
By A Customer
So far, I have read all of Maureen Lee's books. 'Barefoot House' is probably the best yet to come from the magic pen of this brilliant Liverpool author. Having lived in Liverpool all of my life, I can picture some of the places mentioned in this book. I know some of the streets were fictitional, but there are many places like them in the South part of Liverpool. I cannot wait for the next Maureen Lee book, and if it is anything like all the other's, then I will have my tissues ready for when the tears start. Keep up the brilliant writing you are doing, and carry on entertaining us whith your wonderful stories. I have a feeling, part's of your book's are based on your own experiences throughout your life. You are up there with Lynn Andrews and Joan Jonker, right at the top of my favourite author list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As expected another fantastic read., 19 Jun 2000
By 
hewer29@lineone.net (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I ordered the book back in January 2000 and once it was delivered it took me only 6 days to read. Fantastic. You could just feel the love inside it was a fantastic book, no less than expected BY the Fantastic MAUREEN LEE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart Wrenching, 13 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Girl From Barefoot House (Paperback)
Another great book by Maureen Lee, I could have cried The story of josie a small child lving with her mother who is a prostitute by night but loves her daughter very much, but when her mother is killedis forced to live with her aunt and abusive uncle, but has josie grows into a young women life again throws challenges in her way till shefinds hapiness
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
This review is from: The Girl From Barefoot House (Paperback)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl From Barefoot House (Paperback)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointed, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read everyone of her books and always look with excitement for her latest book but sad to say I found the girl from. Barefoot house quite drawn out in fact boring at times not a very exciting story. I will still buy her next book though and hope the magic is back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book could not put it down, a must read of a young girl got through hardship and tragedies during the war in Liverpool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting reflecting the hard times of the era. A book you want to finish and can't put down till finished
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl From Barefoot House
The Girl From Barefoot House by Maureen Lee (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
5.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews