Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
This is a truely excellent read, I have read it countless times and if you're att interested in Ibiza or holiday reps this is well worth reading. The film is also excellent with Danny Dyer and there is a sequel called 'Is Harry Still On The Boat' which is not quite a good but still a worthy read nonetheless. Buy it!
Published on 20 April 2007 by Londoner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars to be taken with a pinch of salt
Having worked for 7 seasons with a holiday company in ibiza not unlike yf&s i know exactly what the writer was trying to get at but believe it could have been portrayed more realistically. As a work of fiction very entertaining, but as other reviews have shown upon reading this book the reader looks towards their reps in a different light. Working with 18 to 25...
Published on 10 Jun 2000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 20 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Is Harry On The Boat? (Paperback)
This is a truely excellent read, I have read it countless times and if you're att interested in Ibiza or holiday reps this is well worth reading. The film is also excellent with Danny Dyer and there is a sequel called 'Is Harry Still On The Boat' which is not quite a good but still a worthy read nonetheless. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rude but fun summer read, 12 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Is Harry On The Boat? (Paperback)
I won't tell you what 'Harry on the Boat' means but let's just say it sums up this book's attitude to life pretty well. We follow a group of holiday reps from a company similar to 18-30 during one season in Ibiza.

Many drugs are taken and, lots of sex is had. However, Butts enriches this book by adding a surprisingly good storyline as we discover that money is being embezzled by someone in the company and they will do anything to protect themselves.

The characters are quite likeable and jokes are pretty funny. I honestly thought I would hate this book but I found it a good read. Criticism must be leveled at the lack of development in some areas and the conclusion does seem to wrap up a bit too conveniently for my liking.

There is little respect for women in the book but if you take it all with the intention it's meant to be you can enjoy yourself. Finally, I would like to point out that looking at the 'free-love' nature of this book, its no wonder the level of STDs is rising amongst younger people - remember, keep safe!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So True !, 11 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. Simon J. Gale (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Is Harry On The Boat? (Paperback)
After nine seasons repping, Ive seen everything!

Well.....Not everything in this book does happen in a average summer season, but the dodgy manager, reps who fall in love, drugs etc, I did have most of this last summer in Magalluf!We even gave on of the First Choice reps I worked with the nickname "Mario". If you do fancy a summer season as a youth rep, then call this your survival book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all clubbers, 4 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Is Harry On The Boat? (Paperback)
Drugs, sex and dodgy scams - Trainspotting for the Hard House Generation. We all know who YF&S are based on, we all know that these people are almost certainly working out in the Balearics this summer, we all recognise a bit of ourselves somewhere in this book.
Butts says that the characters int he book are an amalgam of people he has come accross, but they are entirely believeable. After a while you really feel you want to slap Alison and begin to wonder how Brad shows such restraint. Brilliantly written to really get you inside the lives and heads of the characters, you find yourself being drawn into a side of the divide - the arrogant, spiteful and vacuous Mario/Alison alliance or the fun-loving-but-put-upon reps.
A classic holiday or airport read, you'll laugh, often out loud, until passers by think you're a pill short of a reps accessories. Great twists and an ending you be pressed to work out before it happens. If you're going to Ibiza this year, go and buy it asap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most accurate portrayal of life as a rep, 23 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Is Harry on the Boat? (Paperback)
Having worked as a rep for club 18-30, this is the most accurate portrayal of life as a rep. Take several enthusiastic twentysomethings, train them in the basics of repping, and turn them loose on the unsuspecting public. What you end up with is a summer of sun,fun,and excesses. From the nightmare that is the airport, to the all night parties. This book captures all the highs and lows of working as a rep abroad Just reading it will give you some idea of the lifestyle led by most of the holiday reps you ever met.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lad literature that firmly places the 'new man' 6 feet under, 21 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Is Harry on the Boat? (Paperback)
This is the book that spits in the face of the 'New Man', and indeed the new Woman. Take a group of 20 somethings, mix with copious amounts of alcohol, a few illegal substances, a lot of sun, sea and sand, and a suitcase full of condoms. What do you have? As much fun as being there yourself. Its all true and whats more, a lot worse. As the author himself states, things have been left out in the name of taste. After reading this , you begin to wonder how tasteless was the material he omitted.
Follow the antics of these 18-30 type reps and lose yourself in the hedonistic charms of Ibiza. This is everything the series should have been and more. Someone, somewhere needs to make this into a film. Buy it, read it, live it, enjoy it and then go there!! Having a laugh - you will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loaded in one book, 23 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Is Harry on the Boat? (Paperback)
If you could ask the staff of any men's magazine to write a book - this would be it - a revelation of life as a holiday rep in Ibiza. Although lacking in real plot - each pages has some pretty graphic imagery which leaves little to the imagination. It's like The Lord of the Flies for twenty somethings - it has everything sex, drugs, back stabbing. The perfect book to read over the holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aaah memories..., 16 May 2006
This review is from: Is Harry On The Boat? (Paperback)
The first book is definitely the best of the two, ok they might not be completely accurate about a reps life but who cares. They take you away, make you laugh and for me bring back some very happy memories of two summers of being a rep (all be it a few years ago now)! I actually read the first book again sat in the sun with beer or two not so long ago and lost several hours reading the whole thing. Makes the office job seem like a poor second best unfortunately, oh well, at least I don't have to do airport transfers anymore...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smutty, pureile and childish - what a laugh!, 15 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Is Harry On The Boat? (Paperback)
This is one of those books when you can actually turn off your brain to read it. I'm off down the travel agents to book my summer holiday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll either love it or hate it, 10 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Is Harry On The Boat? (Paperback)
Club 18-30 holiday reps and readers who claim to love literary classics are going to hate this. But anybody who simply enjoys a good read is going to love it. This lifts the lid on 18-30 holidays and gives some wicked insights into the male sexual psyche. Funny in the most original of ways. A must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Is Harry On The Boat?
Is Harry On The Boat? by Colin Butts (Paperback - 24 July 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews