Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant follow up book
After reading Lights Out Liverpool, I just had to read the follw on book. Maureen Lee captures the same gripping storylines plus brings in a whole load of new characters that will make it impossible for you to put the book down. From the heartache of seeing your favourite characters die to the sorrow of watching others who let grief consume them, to the welcoming joys of...
Published on 14 Feb 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
could not get into this story
Published 2 months ago by julietromeo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant follow up book, 14 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Put Out the Fires (Paperback)
After reading Lights Out Liverpool, I just had to read the follw on book. Maureen Lee captures the same gripping storylines plus brings in a whole load of new characters that will make it impossible for you to put the book down. From the heartache of seeing your favourite characters die to the sorrow of watching others who let grief consume them, to the welcoming joys of new life and how life goes on. This book is not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another fantastic Maureen Lee Novel., 27 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Put Out the Fires (Paperback)
Again I'd like to say that I read this book and thoroughly enjoyed the book. I lost count the number of times that I broke down and cried. I can't wait to read the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My second Maureen Lee Novel, 5 Feb 2009
This review is from: Put Out the Fires (Paperback)
Having read 'Lights Out Liverpool' by Maureen Lee, the first novel in the Pearl Street Trilogy, I was extremely eager to read the second one, 'Put Out the Fires' and I was not disappointed. The author has a wonderful way of bringing her characters to life and by the end of the book, I felt that I really knew them inside out. The way she describes the trials and tribulations of the families that live in Pearl Street through the terrible war years is incredible. This book is a real page-turner that will make you laugh and it will certainly make you cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good reading, 1 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Put Out the Fires (Paperback)
This book being the third one I have read in a series about life in a Liverpool street during war. They cover the lives of families living there and what happens to them. A good read and very moving in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 29 Aug 2009
By 
E. F. Bakewell (Telford, Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Put Out the Fires (Paperback)
This is the second book in a series of three. Lights out Liverpool was the first book and both have been a very good read. I have now started on the third book Through the Storm and it is proving just as good as the other two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mareen lee does it for me again!, 24 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Put Out the Fires (Paperback)
Another brillant read couldn't put it down now reading the sequel to this book Through the storm so good to recapture them all in another novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Tale of Life in WW2, 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Put Out the Fires (Kindle Edition)
I only discovered Maureen Lee recently, but have already read her Pearl Street trilogy. As a child of parents who were young during WW2, Dad in RAF and Mum working in munitions, we were brought up hearing so many tales of "during the war". I am very interested in that period and have so much admiration for the people of all nationalities who lived through the horror that war brought to both civilians and the armed forces.
Maureen Lee brings that period to life again, I recognise so many things in her books that I was told as a child. We all owe a huge debt to that brave generation. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good yarn especially if there is an interest in WW2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Put out the fires, 27 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Put Out the Fires (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book in the trilogy and is as good as the first but I have a feeling that book three will have tears shed over it. Maureen Lee is a wonderful author, she has you right in the book with her characters. I do so enjoy war time family sagas and if you do, then this book is another must for you to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Put Out the Fires (Paperback)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Put Out the Fires (Kindle Edition)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Put Out the Fires
Put Out the Fires by Maureen Lee (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews