Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flight of the Fantastic
'Angel Flight' tells the next adventure of disgruntled LA cop Harry Bosch. A highly media exposed lawyer has been murdered and the police are the main suspect. The lawyer made his name by suing the LAPD and in doing so made a lot of enemies. Can Bosch and his two partners sort through the politics and lies to see what the truth is. With red herring's...
Published on 28 Nov. 2005 by Sam Tyler

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good
Would have been very good but for the ludicrously complicated plot, which unfortunately become a feature in Connelly's books. In the end the true motive for Elias' murder was simply silly and unbelievable, also par for the course with many Bosch books, alas. Overblown and wildly unrealistic but still readable. In this Bosch is not yet a caricature but he's no longer a...
Published 8 months ago by Derick Parsons


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flight of the Fantastic, 28 Nov. 2005
By 
This review is from: Angels Flight (Paperback)
'Angel Flight' tells the next adventure of disgruntled LA cop Harry Bosch. A highly media exposed lawyer has been murdered and the police are the main suspect. The lawyer made his name by suing the LAPD and in doing so made a lot of enemies. Can Bosch and his two partners sort through the politics and lies to see what the truth is. With red herring's and misdirection everywhere it looks like this could be Bosch's hardest case to date.
Connelly has produced yet another great read in 'Angel Flight'. It does not do much to progress the characters but highlights why we like Bosch and his dogged everyman style. The book is fast paced and enjoyable throughout. The darkness may not appeal to some but I felt was necessary for the book to work.
One area in which I felt this book fell down was the wrapping up of the case - I will not go into details but it is becoming increasingly clear that Connelly needs to find a new way of finishing his stories.
Apart from this small gripe 'Angel Flight' is a great read and one for all crime fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of the Harry Bosch series, 15 Mar. 2009
By 
Big Bertha (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Angels Flight (Paperback)
The story opens as Detective Harry Bosch and his team are summoned to a double murder on the Angels Flight funicular railway. When it is discovered that one of the bodies belongs to prolific black civil rights lawyer Howard Elias who specialises in prosecuting cases of police brutality, the police are the main suspects and Harry understandably does not want to head the investigation. Things don't improve much when Internal Affairs are called in to help with the investigation and he's told he's going to be working with his old adversary John 'Sustain' Chastain.

With the murders happening when the LAPD was already tarnished by the trial of its Officers following the Rodney King beating the area becomes a political hotbed ready to explode at any moment

This is in my opinion one of the best of the Harry Bosch series so far. Taking place over 3 days, it's fast paced, action packed and with enough red-herrings to keep the reader on their toes and Connelly shows exceptional insight into the racial tension elements. For fans of the series there are characters from previous novels brought back into play.

After reading a couple of Michael Connellys stand-alone novels coming back to a Harry Bosch one is like meeting up with an old friend and you just know it's going to be good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 2 April 2005
This review is from: Angels Flight (Paperback)
This is the first of Michael Connelly book that I have read and I was pleased to find that it wasn't the same as so many other books of its type. There was just the right level of uspense and the characters were well balanced. However, the book did seem to tail off without fully wrapping up the story and I would have liked it to have gone on for longer. Despite this, it was still an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing yet deeply gripping thriller. Another winner!, 22 Jan. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel's Flight (Hardcover)
Once more we encounter the embittered detective Harry Bosch being given the impossible case to solve.
As in previous stories, the author writes plausible plots and believable narrative in a flowing prose style.
The outcome will surprise many readers, and yet at the same time will be chillingly familiar to readers of previous Bosch novels. Is Bosch really the winner? Does the LAPD come out of this looking bright and shiny? Or is it, once more, a triumph for the political sleaze-balls operating in the background?
Make up your own mind! I read this book in one (long) sitting, and found it entirely gripping and oh-so-believable.
From the perspective of an English reader, the political milieu in which Bosch operates seems almost impossible - but then we don't have huge numbers of guns running around our streets, either in criminal or legal hands. Connelly manages the seemingly impossible of merging hugely entertaining thriller with a sharp, precise and deeply insightful look at the sociological and political institutions of the city in which he lives.
Another winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immaculate crime fiction writing, 25 July 2008
By 
O E J - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel's Flight (Hardcover)
The fifth in the Harry Bosch portfolio and one of the best. Personally I made the mistake of not reading the fourth - TRUNK MUSIC - and quickly wished I had, because I now know that the previous book included some key events and character introductions that are barely glossed over in Angels Flight or merely taken for granted. So I do recommend that the books are read in chronological order.

Despite that, this novel is absolutely top-notch, mainly because it further develops the wonderfully well-drawn character that is Detective Harry Bosch - surely the best of his kind in contemporary crime fiction. Doubtless inspired by the iconic private investigator Philip Marlow by Raymond Chandler, Bosch is a man who the reader can intimately identify with and relate to, even if we don't have a crystal-clear image in our minds of his exact appearance. It doesn't matter though, because it's what a leading character thinks and does that hard-wires the reader into his persona, such that he appears in every paragraph of every chapter in the book and we are never tired of him. He's not what you might regard as an honourable white knight but he generally says, thinks and does the right thing and his assessments of people and events - often crime scenes and suspects - invariably turn out to be correct, even though we are fascinated as to how Harry will be proved right. And when he gets that feeling that something is wrong about a judgement from his peers or superiors, we know he'll be right about that too, although it's often too complex to guess why in advance. In this tale, a lawyer has been murdered on the Angels Flight train in Hollywood in the early hours of Saturday morning, and what follows is an almost minute-by-minute search for the killer spread over three days. And a lot happens in that short time! The plot is loosely based around one those memorable events in 1990s Los Angeles - the riots following the (white) police beating of (black) Rodney King, with passing reference to another landmark, the OJ Simpson murder trial. It's riveting from first page to last, and confirms what I already knew: that Michael Connelly is THE leading writer of crime fiction in the modern era. I'm off to read Trunk Music now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, but not quite Bosch at his best., 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The politics that plague policing are exposed and examined in a story that will probably leave you as conflicted as the inhabitants of the LA in which the book is set.
If you are a fan of the series this is definitely worth a look.
The pacing however seems a little off heading into the final act and a few investigative breakthroughs do stretch the realms of plausibility ever so slightly.
If you are a fan of the series you will love it,if not, as a standalone novel, you are likely to be unsatisfied that some plot points aren't resolved within the scope of this one book.
The positive side of this being that you are likely to become hooked.
I would recommend that those unfamiliar with Bosch read the earlier novels first. A list can be found on Michael Connelly's website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immaculate crime fiction writing, 21 May 2008
By 
O E J - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Flight (Paperback)
The sixth in the Harry Bosch portfolio and one of the best. Personally I made the mistake of not reading the fifth - TRUNK MUSIC - and quickly wished I had, because I now know that the previous book included some key events and character introductions that are barely glossed over in Angels Flight or merely taken for granted. So I do recommend that the books are read in chronological order.

Despite that, this novel is absolutely top-notch, mainly because it further develops the wonderfully well-drawn character that is Detective Harry Bosch - surely the best of his kind in contemporary crime fiction. Doubtless inspired by the iconic private investigator Philip Marlow by Raymond Chandler, Bosch is a man who the reader can intimately identify with and relate to, even if we don't have a crystal-clear image in our minds of his exact appearance. It doesn't matter though, because it's what a leading character thinks and does that hard-wires the reader into his persona, such that he appears in every paragraph of every chapter in the book and we are never tired of him. He's not what you might regard as an honourable white knight but he generally says, thinks and does the right thing and his assessments of people and events - often crime scenes and suspects - invariably turn out to be correct, even though we are fascinated as to how Harry will be proved right. And when he gets that feeling that something is wrong about a judgement from his peers or superiors, we know he'll be right about that too, although it's often too complex to guess why in advance. In this tale, a lawyer has been murdered on the Angels Flight train in Hollywood in the early hours of Saturday morning, and what follows is an almost minute-by-minute search for the killer spread over three days. And a lot happens in that short time! The plot is loosely based around one those memorable events in 1990s Los Angeles - the riots following the (white) police beating of (black) Rodney King, with passing reference to another landmark, the OJ Simpson murder trial. It's riveting from first page to last, and confirms what I already knew: that Michael Connelly is THE leading writer of crime fiction in the modern era. I'm off to read Trunk Music now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT READ, 17 Dec. 1999
By 
Alfred J. Pau (Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels Flight (Paperback)
I have read three previous Connelly's novels namely The Poet,Bloodwork and Trunk Music and enjoyed the first two and was slightly disappointed with the latter and Harry Bosch specially.However,this one turn out to be a pleasant surprise.This novel has it all a great plot ,twists and turns and the suspense builds up to a great climax.One mention should go to the characters topped by Harry which are truly outstanding and very beleivable and not cardboard type as you come along on most modern fiction nowadays.Hats off to Michael Connelly,again.Hope to get my hands on Void Moon which is going to be released soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful crime fiction, 13 Jun. 2008
By 
Fergal Woods "Axe Victim" (Leitrim, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels Flight (Paperback)
The Bosch series continues with another gripping tale. Set against an all too familiar backdrop of racial tension in LA, Bosch and his team are assigned the job no other cop wants - to investigate the murder of a black lawyer who specialises in suing the LAPD at every opportunity. Bosch is teamed with a former enemy from Internal Affairs, is going through marital breakdown and has to endure political machinations from his superiors. In addition to these barriers someone is leaking information to the press thus fuelling the already overheated situation, and a former partner looks like he's being set up to take the fall.

Connelly has a great control of characterisation and of plotting and one can feel the claustrophobia that Harry has to endure. As you can guess, the book has several story-lines and is a compelling read. Not an "all live happily ever after" author, and those of you who have dipped into the series already will know, there are few more realistic thriller writers out there. "Angels Flight" takes it's place with the best of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Connellys best, 1 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Angels Flight (Paperback)
A great read. Thrilling, faascinating stuff. Learn about computers and more... Hugely entertaining and at times quite funny. Harry Bosch 10 Arsenal 0 What a character. He thinks logically and despite feeling very down gets on with the case. A black lawyer is shot dead on angels flight. Nearly everybody including cops wanted this man dead so its a tough case. Enter Harry Bosch who is forced to take on the case
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angel's Flight
Angel's Flight by Michael Connelly (Hardcover - 31 Dec. 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews