Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The A-Z of put-downs
Kenneth Williams recalls some of the funniest put-downs/one liners in history.
Woody Allen: "I don't want to achieve immortality through my work, I want to achieve it through not dying"
There are countless funny quotes here, my only dissappointment given the incredible wit that he was, was that Kenneth Williams should have recalled some more of his own...
Published on 28 July 2001 by jaguar00

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected.
I love Kenneth Williams comedy, so thought this would be a good buy, but a lot of it comprises of his intellectual ramblings and not his witty anecdotes and cutting put downs(as I expected and craved).
It was listed as "Good" quality second hand, but on arrival it was obviously an old library book with library stamps and tape stuck to the dust cover etc...
Published 15 months ago by Cherry B


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The A-Z of put-downs, 28 July 2001
Kenneth Williams recalls some of the funniest put-downs/one liners in history.
Woody Allen: "I don't want to achieve immortality through my work, I want to achieve it through not dying"
There are countless funny quotes here, my only dissappointment given the incredible wit that he was, was that Kenneth Williams should have recalled some more of his own hilarious experiences.
A Good Short Read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Two Of The Nicest People If Ever There Was One..', 2 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Complete Acid Drops (Hardcover)
You get a feeling after reading 'Acid Drops' that however good it is, a collection of Williams' home-grown insults and put-downs would've been even more rewarding.
It seems lazy and a tad wasteful that Williams' own acid bile and verbal whiplash isnt better chronicled for modern audiences than by a few blurry You Tube clips.

However, that's a minor gripe from some-one who unashamedly can't cram enough Williams into his day.
I've loved him since childhood - only later in life to uncover his brilliantly nasty personality; high level intellectualism mixed with lavatory level vulgarity.
Both extreme symptoms of his solitary nature and consequently his depressing societal failures.

A one-off, insecure loner with the most complex (in both senses of the word) and misunderstood sexuality in human history - to know him and his work is to be completely enchanted....

'Acid Drops' is an accumulation of cruel come-backs and wounding witticisms from such as Oscar Wilde, Noel Coward, Groucho Marx, T S Eliott, Abraham Lincoln and Winston Churchill - you get the idea. Hundreds of anecdotes and vignettes, lovingly divided into chapters (nb: KW was one of the great compartmentalists) by Williams who then delivers his own deliciously forthright opinions on the likes of Malice, Pique, Obloquy and Ridicule in the context of stabbing tiresome people with them.

Kenneth Williams 'Complete Acid Drops' is a truly fine read; if I was luridly inclined I'd offer it as a perfect 'toilet book' (a useful analogy when you consider the ghastly cover; a smug Williams looks as though he's just dropped something!), bearing in mind the brackish scatological obsessions for which he was (partly) renowned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bitter and beautifully twisted..., 7 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Simon J. Payne (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this after watching a re-run of 'An Audience with Kenneth Williams' where he was at his erudite best and lifts many quotes and examples from the book. The forward by Giles Brandreth is warm and honest and give you some extra insight as to the type of person Williams was. I think it adds a little something to the book, a touch of Williams own personality, the fun side yes, intelligent yes, but also the bitterness and venom.

The book itself has many different quotes, quips and put downs and come backs. They range from plain funny to coarse, rude, witty, clever and genius!

For those of the Facebook, Twitter generation, I've had endless fun updating my status using quotes from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Collection Of Wit & Humour, 19 May 2002
By A Customer
This was a really enjoyable book that covers the A-Z of put downs. Concisely chaptered from Acrimony to Zany it was also very funny and had a great tribute to Kenneth Williams by Gyles Brandreth too.
Too good to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, 13 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Don't be put off by the terribly cheesy cover! Inside this book is some hilarious stories of the rich and famous surprisingly showing some ounces of wit, and in some cases unbelievable stupidity. the stories range from winston churchill to lord byron. The sections are: acrimony, bitchery, carping, devilry, epigram, feuding, gamesmanship, humiliation, invective, jibing, knock-out, lampoon, malice, nemesis, obloquy, pique, quip, ridicule, scorn, terseness, upstaging, vitriol, wordplay, xenophobia, yahoo and zany
some sections are more funny than others. theres a good range of one liners and some fondly remembered anecdotes from williams. i just wish i could find the perfect situation for astounding my friends with a one liner or story. examples of what you will find (short examples as i dont have all day):
1st century BC by poet Catullus: 'Complete indifference to your welfare, Caeser, is matched only by ignorance of who you are.'
Cab driver to TS Elliot: 'i have 'em all in my cab. who'd you think i had in yesterday, eh? Bertrand russel, greatest philosipher in the western world, right?' 'Yes, I suppose so.' 'I said to him, bertie, whats it all about then? And do you know, the twit couldn't tell me'
Meekness: Uncommon paitence in planning a revenge that is worthwhile
Heaven; A place where the wicked cease from troubling you with talk of their personal affairs, and the good liten with attention while you expound your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome reprint of the first of Kenneth's books, 29 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Acid Drops (Hardcover)
Although the cover art and the layout inside the book do leave a lot to be desired, the actual contents, including the material that didn't make it into the first printing, is excellent, and whilst reading you can imagine Kenneth's destintive voice providing animation to the words. I hope that this book is succesful and that Back Drops, his second book, make it back into print. The price is reasonable as well, and is less than half what you would expect to pay for the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very amusing book, 6 Dec 2013
By 
K. E. Monaco (Taiwan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want a book that will make you smile and lift your spirits, this is the one. Full of pithy, memorable true quotes from famous
and notorious people who had the right words at the right time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take it with you wherever you go, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book full of funny quotes which you soon learn by heart. What a loss we suffered when this clever intelligent and amazingly funny man left us. I am looking for more of Kenneth Williams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RUBBISH, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Acid Drops (Hardcover)
I LOVE EVERYTHING KEN WILLIAM HAS EVER DONE BUT THIS WAS NOT A VERY GOOD BOOK, I REALLY WANTED TO ENJOY IT BUT NO JUST RUBBISH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as expected., 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Acid Drops (Hardcover)
I love Kenneth Williams comedy, so thought this would be a good buy, but a lot of it comprises of his intellectual ramblings and not his witty anecdotes and cutting put downs(as I expected and craved).
It was listed as "Good" quality second hand, but on arrival it was obviously an old library book with library stamps and tape stuck to the dust cover etc. certainly not my idea of good quality, but I guess we all have our opinions!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Acid Drops
The Complete Acid Drops by Kenneth Williams (Hardcover - 23 Sep 1999)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews