Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating insight into the world of the raf
An interesting and human account of life as an RAF pilot. "Bugs" describes his life as a pilot, as a family man and touches on the tragedy of his illness Multiple Sclerosis.
Published on 29 Oct 2001

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Too long & drawn out for me.
Published 1 month ago by mel williams


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating insight into the world of the raf, 29 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Never In Anger (Raf Benevolent Fund Enterprise) (Hardcover)
An interesting and human account of life as an RAF pilot. "Bugs" describes his life as a pilot, as a family man and touches on the tragedy of his illness Multiple Sclerosis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight into RAF life, 26 Jun 2014
By 
A. J. Patton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never in Anger (Kindle Edition)
Written with pride and passion for the job he did.Where would we be without men like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific., 5 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never in Anger (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished Never In Anger and already miss its company. Bugs had an interesting and varied career in the RAF and relates it in a most entertaining manner. He is self effacing in his writing and never comes across as pompous or overbearing. He explains the flying manoeuvres in such a way for a non flying duffer like to understand easily.

Also he tells us much about life of station particularly the social scene and also reminds us of the realities of the Cold War.

A tiny gripe would be he doesn't remind us of exactly who some of the friends and colleagues were when they are referred to again later in the book.

A delightful book by clearly a delightful man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable and entertaining!, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never in Anger (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I think it is one of the best of its type that I have read. The author writes with a great deal of subject knowledge about his life in the RAF and his service spans from the 1950 right through the Cold War and beyond and so reflects the changing ethos, equipment and priorities of the RAF in those ever changing times. He writes with much humour and understatement and is not afraid to admit to his mistakes. He also writes without self pity about the illness which ultimately ended his RAF career. A highly recommended, thoroughly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I give this book five starts without hesitation for the ..., 31 Aug 2014
By 
Tibblington "NSG" (Liorac-sur-Louyre, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never in Anger (Kindle Edition)
I give this book five starts without hesitation for the content and quality of writing. It chronicles the life of an RAF officer passionate about flying. However I consider that it would only be of interest to anyone who has served in the RAF or someone associated with the service. For me it enabled me to experience the probable life of our late son who was tragically killed in a flying accident in Hawk jet while at the beginning of his career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating insight to the front line of the "cold war", 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never in Anger (Kindle Edition)
This book describes "Bugs'" career from the Air Training Corps to a senior officer in the RAF through the cold war. It provides a fascinating insight into the men and machines that were on the front line of the "cold war" and is full of detail and humour. A must read for anyone who lived through the 1970s and 1908s or has an interest in the history of that period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fighter Pilot's Tale., 18 Sep 2014
By 
J. Stewart-smith (Pembrokeshire Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never In Anger (Raf Benevolent Fund Enterprise) (Hardcover)
"Bugs" and I flew Lightnings together at RAF Wattisham in the 1960s. This story omits some of his more outrageous episodes from those days, including the Summer Ball at Wattisham --- but I won't tell, Bugs. Poor Bugs is now in care, suffering a final illness. I wish him happiness and thanks for all the fun we shared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT HUMAN TALE !!!!, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never in Anger (Kindle Edition)
This guy writes from the heart - rarely has an officer presented a tale of his service life with both personal and professional perspectives so well intertwined. This background to Cold War service, and the unhappy ending, made for a really human story, not ofrtn encountered from a gung-ho fighter pilot. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely written and all together most enjoyable Full marks, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never in Anger (Kindle Edition)
A most humorous account of a period that I experienced myself. Nicely written and all together most enjoyable
Full marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never in Anger (Kindle Edition)
An honest and Frank account of his Royal Air Force service. He shares his experiences of flying vividly. It is a very readable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Never In Anger (Raf Benevolent Fund Enterprise)
Never In Anger (Raf Benevolent Fund Enterprise) by Anthony Bendell (Hardcover - 16 Nov 1998)
Used & New from: £11.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews