Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because not all Veggie's are beanpoles!
Having been a vegetarian for 15 years myself I know all too well that it's not the fastpath to thinness some people would like to believe it is! Most dishes on veggie menus in a restaurants, or veggie ready meals; are covered in cheese and spread which is so rich in fat, it's easy to see how a badly balanced veggie diet can be just as unhealthy and fattening as one packed...
Published on 8 April 2002

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Green Diet
A nice enough little book although I was very disappointed with the quality of the paper. It has some useful hints and tips along with dietary advice but less than half the book contains actual recipes. Would I buy it again? Probably.
Would I give it as a gift? No, the quality is too cheap.
Published on 4 Jun. 2010 by S. Gilbert


Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Because not all Veggie's are beanpoles!, 8 April 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Green Diet (Paperback)
Having been a vegetarian for 15 years myself I know all too well that it's not the fastpath to thinness some people would like to believe it is! Most dishes on veggie menus in a restaurants, or veggie ready meals; are covered in cheese and spread which is so rich in fat, it's easy to see how a badly balanced veggie diet can be just as unhealthy and fattening as one packed with bacon and beef! Roz Denny hits the nail on the head:'There is a myth that vegetarians don't have to worry about their weight. If we consume more calories than we need, from whatever food source, we will gain weight'
I was therefore intrigued to find out about The Green Diet - would it be full of inaccessible and rediculously complicated recipes like so many other vegetarian cookbooks before it? Well, in a word, no. Roz Denny's primary message is 'eat to live, don't live to eat', it concentrates on changing your attitude for life, rather than just shifting pounds you're going to put back on as soon as you go back to your old habits. It is written in a no nonsense style which is easy to read - teaching you the importance of eating healthily for both your figure and your health and well being. Plus the recipes are simple, varied and tasty - Bonus!
If you're looking for a diet that's going to make weight drop off you in record time this book is not for you but if, like me, you're a veggie who just wants to eat healthily without resorting to cabbage soup 3 times a day, then this one's right up your street. A veggie bible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, no nonsense, approach, buy it now!, 5 April 2002
By 
jennidormer@yahoo.co.uk (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Diet (Paperback)
Roz Denny doesn't pull any punches in this concise, highly readable and affordable diet book. It hasn't got the flashy printing or full page photographs that most diet books have, but lets be honest pictures of food just make you hungry and photos of waffer thin models contorting into strange and wonderful pilates positions kill all enthusiasm before you start! Instead Denny concentrates on the basics, whichs foods to eat, which foods to enjoy occasionally. Her aim is to re-educate you for life not to put you on a crash diet for a few weeks. I enjoyed the book immensely and would recommend it to any vegetarian wanting to loose weight, whether its 4 pounds or fourty go and buy this book straight away. One warning, this book IS going to make you laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good little book, 5 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Green Diet (Paperback)
I would recommend this as an ideal pressie for one's children (or friend) departing for college or whatever. It is more than just a veggie diet book, it explains nutrition sensibly and enthusiasticly. There are not a huge number of recipes but the ones there are are sensible and achievable. The book is keenly priced and well put together.
If if you are not a student but middle-aged with sagging bits this beats the wretched Cabbage Soup Diet hands down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No trouble dieting for veggies, 1 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Diet (Paperback)
Considering how popular the Atkins Diet is at present, this book is a welcome change which strongly recommends carbohydrates as part of a healthy balanced diet. Bearing in mind that the Atkins Diet was designed for meateaters, especially steak lovers, this book with recipes and nutrional advice is a godsend for not only vegetarians but people who are presently made to feel guilty for enjoying a plateful of pasta or rice - due to the Atkins craze.
The book also points out that we don't need to eat as much protein as we are led to believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the others!, 31 Jan. 2005
By 
This review is from: The Green Diet (Paperback)
This book is quick and easy to read, well written, interesting and inspiring. It's not a cookery book as such - but it is packed with simple recipes interspersed amongst the text. I bought three vegetarian weight loss books in one go, and this is by far the best. The only down side is that there's no index in the back for the recipes, but you'll enjoy going back through the book to find them later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Green Diet, 4 Jun. 2010
By 
S. Gilbert (Brittany, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Green Diet (Paperback)
A nice enough little book although I was very disappointed with the quality of the paper. It has some useful hints and tips along with dietary advice but less than half the book contains actual recipes. Would I buy it again? Probably.
Would I give it as a gift? No, the quality is too cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars standard stuff, 17 Jun. 2010
This review is from: The Green Diet (Paperback)
This book says nothing new just cut down on calories, drink more water etc just common sense stuff, mines off to the charity shop now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The green diet, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Green Diet (Paperback)
A very informative diet book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Size 8, 3 Nov. 2007
This review is from: The Green Diet (Paperback)
This book taught me how to cook. I didn't even know how to make scrambled eggs at one time, several years on and I enjoy rustling up tagines, enchilladas, fajitas, curries and my own creations. It began with this book.
The recipes in this book not only taught me cooking but they helped me get from a size 12/14 to a size 8. I followed the weight watchers diet, but as with any diet programme they always have lame meal ideas (if any at all) for vegetarians. This book turned it around. Instead of counting calories I worked out the weight watchers points for each recipe, (it was just what works best for me, you must find what works for you) and then I was able to rustle up filling dishes like lentil bolognese (don't knock it until you've tried it, really warming and tasty on a cold day, plus chock full of protein and nutrients), lasagne rolls my absolute favourite from the book, harissa pasta... Don't want to give away all the recipes and spoil it!
If you're looking to learn how to cook, this book is for you.
If you're vegetarian (or cooking for one) and looking for recipe ideas that aren't boring, this book is for you.
If you're trying to lose weight or improve your health by improving your diet, this book is for you.

The fact Roz Denny is vegetarian herself makes a huge difference to the exciting recipes she includes. Omnivore chefs just don't get it right as for them a veggie dish in itself is a bit different for them (meatless Mondays), if you are eating vegetarian all day, every day as many of us do, then the recipes have got to have a little more oomphf in them than what Delia, Nigella, Jamie Oliver etc.. provide. It has to have a little something extra and that is what Roz Denny provides. Even if you are an omnivore, why go for the boring veggie dishes on your meatless days when you have a delectable delight right here in this gem of a book. Roz Denny, I demand a sequel!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Green Diet
The Green Diet by Roz Denny (Paperback - 10 Jan. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews