Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, hilarious Eurosceptic thriller
This book not only provides a captivating thriller that proves a real page turner, even if the plot is a bit unrealistic at time (as if the EU would actually bother with a referendum), it takes a hilarious satirical swipe at the EU. Set in 2045, where the EU has finally achieved it's goal of creating a United States of Europe, Roberts portray's his vision of the...
Published on 10 Mar 2011 by Liam Taylor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining read
This novel is a foray into fiction by an excellent historian. It is fairly lightweight and more of a holiday read than you might expect but for a few hours escapism it is quite enjoyable. If you happen to be a supporter of the EU it will make your blood boil but I don't suppose that will cut its sales by much!
Published 15 months ago by Ashencrump


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining read, 4 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Aachen Memorandum (Paperback)
This novel is a foray into fiction by an excellent historian. It is fairly lightweight and more of a holiday read than you might expect but for a few hours escapism it is quite enjoyable. If you happen to be a supporter of the EU it will make your blood boil but I don't suppose that will cut its sales by much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, hilarious Eurosceptic thriller, 10 Mar 2011
By 
Liam Taylor "Arsenalman" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Aachen Memorandum (Paperback)
This book not only provides a captivating thriller that proves a real page turner, even if the plot is a bit unrealistic at time (as if the EU would actually bother with a referendum), it takes a hilarious satirical swipe at the EU. Set in 2045, where the EU has finally achieved it's goal of creating a United States of Europe, Roberts portray's his vision of the oppressive, authoritarian PC-State the EU is fast turning into. The only people who don't like this book (see the bad reviews) are those too wedded to Euro-federalist ideology to see the authoritarian monstrosity that is unfolding in front of their very eyes and steadily eating away at our sovereignty. This book is a forewarning to us all and should be made mandatory reading for all UK politicians and Europhiles. Buy it before the EU outlaws it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overtaken by events, 31 Dec 2007
By 
T. Burkard (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Aachen Memorandum (Paperback)
It's hard to believe that this over-the-top thriller, set in 2045, was written by a serious historian. Andrew Roberts regards the European Union as a matter of the Germans treating politics as war by other means, to invert Clausewitz. He has a point, but only just. My Bavarian great-grandaddy emigrated because he didn't want to be ruled by Prussian bureaucrats, so I sympathise. One gathers that Roberts' main objective is to irritate as many Euro-enthusiasts as possible--which is worth one star, at least.

Alas, his story hinges on the proposition that a Euro-referendum held in 2015 was stolen by fraud. We now know that the European Commission would never bother to do such a thing--it's much easier just to ignore inconventient defeats, and carry on regardless. The EU may not be much liked, but it doesn't stir passions quite as much as Roberts (or I) would like. Unfortunately, we don't much care about the corrupt and undemocratic practices of our unelected masters, not as long as we are all prosperous.

As a thriller, it works, more or less. The plot is so twisted that I just about lost it, but the narrative is lively enough to keep the pages turning. Nonetheless, I'd advise Roberts to stick to History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Glorious Euroskeptic Nightmare, 4 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Aachen Memorandum (Paperback)
This is a glorious Eurosceptic nightmare twisted into a fast paced thriller. To some the idea of John Redwood being locked up in Spandu Gaol in Berlin ( previous residents included the Nazi Deputy leader Hess) for "activities incompatible with the security of the Union", would seem a very good idea. Whatever your views of John Redwood or the European Union this book is inspired in its detail-Waterloo Station is now Maastricht Terminus-and in its depiction of modes and mores of a European Union Superstate. But above all it is unputdownable and great fun. To some Eurosceptics it is a warning-but they should themselves be warned that the book has already obtained cult status among young EU officials in Brussels. If there is to be a superstate in the 21st Century, Andrew Roberts card is already marked!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant political thriller, 8 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Aachen Memorandum (Paperback)
England 2045. Since 2015, the year of the for ever final referendum, England has been demoted to a region in the USE (United States of Europe). Political correctness is very much in. Well known landmarks such as Waterloo Station and Trafalgar Square have been renamed Maastricht Terminus and Delors Square. The hero of the book, fat, astmatic Horatio Lestoq gets wind of a sinister plot behind the referendum. And from here the action develops. The book is superb and hilariously funny, too. Read it before your country is engulfed by the superstate that EU is developing into. High praise to Andrew Roberts for this tour de force.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly easy read, 16 Mar 2010
By 
Tony Roberts (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Aachen Memorandum (Paperback)
You can see how split people are on this; many who give it a low rating are Euro supporters or those who think Political Correctness is the way for society to go.

I on the other hand disagree and as a result this book is right up my street. Yes, its somewhat exaggerated and the comment elsewhere on these reviews that France would not stand by and allow Germany to have hegemony in Europe as described in this novel is valid.

But the book itself was an easy read and I couldn't help but continue to find out what the conspiracy was and why, and would the unlikely hero prevail?

The vision that in the future British history would be suppressed and monuments of the UK's past erased could be something that comes true in the future, but I believe it won't come from Europe; rather it will come from within our own society here. We have such things already beginning.

The totalitarian authoritarian state envisiged by Andrew Roberts will come, and I also think we will one day be an insignificant region within the greater entity of a United States of Europe, but it will be through apathy and ignorance, rather than being subsumed and deceived as depicted in this novel.

The story is fine, if a little far-fetched, but an easy read and interesting as a possible future 'what-if' type of theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Scary Read, 5 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Aachen Memorandum (Paperback)
This was an excellent read and like all really good books i was reading it as fast as i could while wishing that it was longer. I was sorry when i finished it. The premise of an overly politically correct super european state would have been funny if it was not what so many people believe will eventually occur.
Read this book !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An original and enjoyable attempt at eurosceptic fiction, 27 April 2002
This review is from: The Aachen Memorandum (Paperback)
"The Aachen Memorandum" is a fun political novel very much in the style of Frederick Forsythe. The plot was dense, and not so much over-heated as burnt black.
What made this book special was its insights into a more-than-possible future, where liberty is extinguished and Political Correctness is enforced by law. Although the conclusion of European integration presented by Andrew Roberts may seem far-fetched, it is not easy to pin-point a particular step in the process that seems to be that way. Perhaps, then, this future may be more credible than it first appears. Prophetic? Probably not, but it ought to be a warning of the sort of country Great Britain will be if ever governed by a foreign people we cannot remove at the ballot box.
The writing is naturally good, and the characters make a kind of sense despite most of them being triple-agents.
If you are German, Politically Correct or a Euro-fanatic, you will not much like this book, as its general political thrust will have little appeal. Otherwise, this is an enjoyable read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comic-style novel, nothing serious, 12 Feb 2010
By 
David Blair - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Aachen Memorandum (Hardcover)
The central cloak-and-dagger storyline was original, reasonably consistent and although ridiculously protracted, not protracted enough to make me think "Oh give it a rest, you're making this up as you go along" - I did read on to find out who was who, who was on whose side, and that did give me reading satisfaction. There was enough situation comedy to keep me entertained, too, and the anti-hero was a refreshing touch.

But as a future history with predictions worth taking seriously? No.

Roberts paints a picture of a grotesque nanny-state, but the details are more like a random bag of vague, inconsequential stereotyped fears all thrown together without much narrative support, many of which don't seem to have much connection with the USE Uberstate, but could as just as much have been home-grown (Britain has caught up and overtaken Germany and most other European countries I know on the nanny-state front - political correctness, public surveillance etc.).

Roberts' technical predictions were outdated, even in 1995 - the trend was clear with the internet and cell phones. The social predictions were haphazard - were the British an oppressed European minority, or were they just too complacent and apathetic to care? There is no clear picture on that. What about the other countries? The only foreigners were official villains and/or stereotypes - would ordinary French and Germans have taken the same curtailments in personal freedoms? I doubt it. For a bumbling, mindlessly bureaucratic nightmare that the USE had become, it was astoundingly nimble and unbureaucratic in all the wrong ways - planning to assassinate a public figurehead seems unlikely, denying him entry in the first place (ostensibly due to security concerns) as another example of mindlessly inhumane Eureaucracy would seem far more likely and in tune with the stereotype.

Roberts could have done so much more with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pro-Europeans: Take note!, 30 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Aachen Memorandum (Paperback)
A well written, fast moving book, which paints an all too realistic view of a European superstate in fifty years time. This book should be compulsory reading for all MPs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2b71c30)

This product

The Aachen Memorandum
The Aachen Memorandum by Andrew Roberts (Paperback - 2 Sep 1996)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews