Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book you need to read on this subject.
This is undoubtedly Andrew Cook's best book yet and by revealing a brand new picture of this iconic crime and its investigation, the result is truly amazing and a must have. His thorough research of files previously unavailable, at last provide answers to many questions surrounding this crime. Cook has studied over 1000 pages of files and as a result this book gives...
Published 18 months ago by Diva Teacher

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dry and academic, if you like that sort of thing
This account is extremely dry and academic. If you want to know about every conversation and every file related to the robbery, you wont be disappointed. But it trudges along with too much detail, and frankly is hard to finish. Some of the more interesting pieces on the robbery come from the protagonists like Bruce Reynolds, and in the form of fictional versions of events...
Published 9 months ago by RobHughes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dry and academic, if you like that sort of thing, 25 Sep 2013
This account is extremely dry and academic. If you want to know about every conversation and every file related to the robbery, you wont be disappointed. But it trudges along with too much detail, and frankly is hard to finish. Some of the more interesting pieces on the robbery come from the protagonists like Bruce Reynolds, and in the form of fictional versions of events (The Men Who Robbed The Great Train Robbers, Signal Red).
Useful if you like the very academic approach to history, too much if you want to be entertained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only book you need to read on this subject., 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is undoubtedly Andrew Cook's best book yet and by revealing a brand new picture of this iconic crime and its investigation, the result is truly amazing and a must have. His thorough research of files previously unavailable, at last provide answers to many questions surrounding this crime. Cook has studied over 1000 pages of files and as a result this book gives the answers to questions raised every time this event has been discussed since 1963. He reveals names of persons never charged and a very detailed description of events, which makes this book compulsive reading. It's either a must have to your collection of books, regarding this famous crime or the only book you need to read regarding the Great Train Robbery. Full of information and pictures not seen before in any other book I have read. Cook is a master of research and he unearths facts from files and people who were involved or knew the people who were. They trust him, because they know, he will give a fair,true and honest account of the facts. Neither judge or jury, Cook tells it how it really happened. And that's all you want after all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dry as Dust, 23 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Great Train Robbery: The Untold Story from the Closed Investigation Files (Paperback)
This is the first Andrew Cook I have read and I am very disappointed. His research is impeccable and extensive, but what he has singularly failed to do is to edit the primary sources into a readable form. From the very start there are huge chunks of verbatim witness statements, many of which contain totally irrelevant and deadly dull information. The reader is confronted with so much minute detail that it becomes difficult to follow, and unutterably uninteresting to read. Without a reasonable overall idea of what happened I would have found it very difficult to follow the investigation as detailed in the book.
As many readers may not be familiar with the 60s, a little bit more background and context from the author would be very useful. There is some attempt to put police actions into context of the times in that he explains that unauthorized house searches, fabrication of evidence, etc, were not at all unusual, but this is fed to the reader piecemeal fashion, rather than just setting the scene at the start. Similarly, things like "ticketed" phone calls are not explained yet they figure highly in the investigation. For anyone more familiar with the computer age, they may find it difficult to understand why things like fingerprint comparisons took so long in the 60s - again, there is nothing from the author to guide readers who weren't around in the 60s.
All in all, a little more from the author and fewer copies of witness statements would have gone a very long way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Train Robbery, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am recommending this book for all that are interested in the Great Train Robbery. Having being involved with the case as a serving Bucks Constabulary Officer I have found the content of the book very informative and the details of the statements and other information obtained by the author reflect the investigation. I am recommending it to ex-colleagues, and will be ordering another copy. GA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what it said, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book I found very "dry". Having watched a TV programme about this,I thought it would be interesting.
However,so much of the information will not be released until 2045. What are they hiding!!! It showed the police on the case,did not follow procedures. It showed them in bad light
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very well researched, 13 May 2014
By 
Mr. R. D. M. Kirby "Dick Kirby" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Train Robbery: The Untold Story from the Closed Investigation Files (Paperback)
Some reviewers have suggested that this book is somewhat ‘dry’ and ‘academic’ and to a large degree, I agree with those sentiments. However, that’s not to say it isn’t a good, well-written book, because I believe it is.

I suppose the book could have been made more interesting by inserting mini-biographies of the main contenders, both police and crims, although that has been accomplished in other books dealing with the Great Train Robbery.

But because I knew several of the investigating team, had met a couple of the robbers and had written about what became known as ‘The Crime of the Century’ I found this book to be fascinating. Andrew Cook has delved deep into police, railway and post office files and his meticulous research has paid off. Of course, there’s a certain amount of conjecture contained in these files but some very significant information, as well. Of particular interest to me was that whilst I had my own personal list of those who had escaped capture, none of them appeared on Tommy Butler’s own list of ‘runners and riders’ for the robbery which was compiled before the fingerprints at Leatherslade Farm were found - which demonstrates how much I know!

But what I do know is that a DS is a detective sergeant, not a detective superintendent as Mr. Cook states. He constantly refers to the latter as DSs throughout his narrative, only for that rank to be correctly shown in the statements of the investigating officers and the result is confusion, particularly in the index which is badly and sloppily constructed and where my old friend, the late Detective Sergeant John Vaughan is erroneously described as being a detective superintendent, something which would have pleased John no end, I’m sure!

But those matters notwithstanding, this is a very good book; I thought I knew a lot about the Great Train Robbery - and I do - but this book educated me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Train Robbery: The Untold Story from the Closed Investigation Files (Paperback)
This book was bought as a present and the person was very pleased with it.It arrived quickly and was very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating story, well told, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The train robbers were career criminals turned into folk heroes by the severity of their sentences. The crime and investigation are cogently explained and the author has tiptoed along the thin dividing line between hero and villain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Train Robbery: The Untold Story from the Closed Investigation Files (Paperback)
This was bought as a present with Signal Red and they were great to read and very fascinating. I would definitely recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The great train robbery (kindle), 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating account of one of the most notorious robberies of the last 50 years. The only issue which spoils the kindle edition is that there are explanatory notes which are at the end of each chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Train Robbery: The Untold Story from the Closed Investigation Files
8.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews