Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On your bike
Present for my son who is a keen cyclist and he thoroughly enjoyed the history and information contained within the book.
Published 7 months ago by Moya Collins

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Enough clangers to scare the soup dragon
I hate to be critical of what was plainly a well-intentioned book. Unfortunately, it's full of errors and dubious interpretations. One gets the impression that the hapless author is new to this highly complex subject and has been dropped in at the deep end, with a tight publishing deadline. He has, it seems, made some effort to consult major works on some of the topics...
Published 4 months ago by E.P. Cyclic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On your bike, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Moya Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Cycling in Fifty Bikes (Hardcover)
Present for my son who is a keen cyclist and he thoroughly enjoyed the history and information contained within the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Enough clangers to scare the soup dragon, 19 April 2014
This review is from: The History of Cycling in Fifty Bikes (Hardcover)
I hate to be critical of what was plainly a well-intentioned book. Unfortunately, it's full of errors and dubious interpretations. One gets the impression that the hapless author is new to this highly complex subject and has been dropped in at the deep end, with a tight publishing deadline. He has, it seems, made some effort to consult major works on some of the topics covered but there is scant evidence of consultation with experts in the topics covered, many of whom would have been pleased to check drafts, advise and steer the author in the right direction. It would be tempting to give it just one star but sentiment and sympathy has just tipped the balance to two stars. One and half would be nearer the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Novel approach to the history of the bicycle!, 12 Jan 2014
This review is from: The History of Cycling in Fifty Bikes (Hardcover)
If you are interested in how the modern bike got to look like the thing the most recent winners of the TdeF rode, this is a interesting way of explaining its delevopmemt. A very good read for anybody who rode a bike 20 years (or more) ago and interested in what's been happening since. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate and poorly researched, 8 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: The History of Cycling in Fifty Bikes (Hardcover)
I went straight to the entry on the Moulton Mk1, a bike I know a lot about. The entry had incorrectly captioned photos of later Moulton AM series bikes and seriously inaccurate technical information. According to the article, Alex Moulton attributed the poor performance of existing designs to the "lack of wide low pressure tyres", but this is entirely wrong. The Moulton had narrow (or at least "normal" section, high pressure tyres and suspension to compensate for the smaller tyre diameter. Raleigh's RSW 16 *later* eschewed suspension in favour less sophisticated but lower cost fat balloon tyres and was criticised by Moulton for the subsequent sluggish performance and high rolling resistance.

Maybe the rest of the book is more accurate, but how would I know, and why should I trust any of it when the part I do know something about is this poor?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong, wrong and wrong, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The History of Cycling in Fifty Bikes (Hardcover)
This book is badly proof read, with many incorrectly labelled pictures.

Where a fact is quoted in this book that I already knew, it is wrong. How, then can I trust it to educate me about facts I didn't already know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The History of Cycling in Fifty Bikes
The History of Cycling in Fifty Bikes by Tom Ambrose (Hardcover - 2 Sep 2013)
10.39
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews