Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling and thorough
Finished this after 2 days .Kindle edition .No photos of group but so easy to google nowadays so no problem there .The author answers every question systematicaly without becoming tedious .It reads like a novel .Out of fairness I must point out that one reviewer is mistaken .The author does not give his own crazy theory . That is an easy mistake to make if you just flick...
Published 7 months ago by Sagan

versus
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating source material but ultimately dissappointing
I only first encountered the story of the Dytalov pass incident a couple of months ago after stumbling across a review of the same titled film in IMDB. Whilst the review of the film did little to entice viewing, the story itself and the mystery surrounding it that has perpetuated over 50 years now thoroughly sucked me into wanting to read more about it and lead me in...
Published 6 months ago by PJordan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating source material but ultimately dissappointing, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountain of the Dead: The Dyatlov Pass Incident (Paperback)
I only first encountered the story of the Dytalov pass incident a couple of months ago after stumbling across a review of the same titled film in IMDB. Whilst the review of the film did little to entice viewing, the story itself and the mystery surrounding it that has perpetuated over 50 years now thoroughly sucked me into wanting to read more about it and lead me in search of whatever published material was available on the subject to supplement that available on the internet.

I selected this book on the basis that it seemed to be the most recent publication on the subject and therefore might offer the prospect of more insight post the cold war thaw which seeminly allows western journalists and authors more liberal access to secret Soviet era documents.

However, whist the introductary chapters are promising, laying out the basis of the story as known and giving a very detailed time line of events leading up to and immediately following the tragedy, as well as a fairly good insight into the Soviet Union of the period, afterwards it unfortunately descends into a mish mash dissection of various conspiracy theories that have grown up around the mystery.

The fact that some of the more outlandish conspiracy theories are dealt with at considerable length by effecively rehashing the perspective of others without much in the way of further critical analysis (if indeed that were even possible!) wheras the more plausible explanations (even those involving extreme high level military or political conspiracies) seem to be skirted over in comparison, does little to maintain the initial prospect this book promised into shedding new insights into the mystery.

Indeed, all in all the book smacks of something of an unfinished body of quite promising research quickly assembled and pulled together at short notice to attempt to cash in on the new notoriety of the incident, brought about by the recently released movie, even down to the title very much resembling that of the movie. Surely too much of a coincidence also that the the cover of the book features an image of a naked female body lying in the snow, even though none of the McCloskey's evidence presented about either of the female members of the party indicate that either of them were naked when found, wheras it appears the movie utilises ample incidents of nakedness and sex in purveying their updated piggybacking onto to the incident.

I guess in summary, if your are looking for more meaty analysis, probably better to look elsewhere or maybe even on line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling and thorough, 27 Aug 2013
This review is from: Mountain of the Dead: The Dyatlov Pass Incident (Paperback)
Finished this after 2 days .Kindle edition .No photos of group but so easy to google nowadays so no problem there .The author answers every question systematicaly without becoming tedious .It reads like a novel .Out of fairness I must point out that one reviewer is mistaken .The author does not give his own crazy theory . That is an easy mistake to make if you just flick to the end . It is indeed a silly theory but it is a first hand account by a factory worker in the area .The book remai s neutral .Personally after 2 sleepless nights I hope it was avalanche panic perhaps set off by hearing military testing .Why they ran a full mile is un
certain but thats easy to say from a house in the summer .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but disjointed, 6 Sep 2013
By 
S. Marsden "Helkky" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book obviously charts out the story of the Dyatlov Pass 1959. And that is what it does. It is an account of what happened (to the point that it is known) and what was found by the searchers according the old Soviet documents. It also explores the numerous theories of what might have happened to the unfortunate 9 (or 10) tourists on the mountains.
Stylewise the writer is limping somewhere between thriller and scientific text and not quite catching either. If you are interested in the Dyatlov Pass case in particular, then I recommend this book, but if you are looking for a thriller to read, leave it at Amazon's shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dyatlov, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i came across this book as i was browsing , id never heard about this story before , it was very interesting to read about all the theories but i still dont really know how it happened ,there were so many reasons it could have been but the authour never gave the likliest reason of all and it was a long time ago, so stories about it i think have become more made up than anything else ,but it is a must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars balanced and interesting, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Holly Smith-Kidd Passmore (County Durham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written seemingly comprehensive account. Does not push his own theory like another I recently read. The whole mystery gives you goosebumps inspire of yourself. There is something eerie about the dyatlov pass incident which is tantalising and unsettling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing mystery thoroughly researched, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One can't fault the immense amount of research on every conceivable theory. The problem is there are so many theories it's hard to stay interested as one after another is related, considered and dismissed. Russia in the Cold War is as unfathomable as the mystery itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sensible study of the evidence and a logical conclusion., 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book will have the "swivel eyed" UFO fanatics up in arms. The calm and intelligent appraisal of the facts regarding the terrible events in the Russian wilderness, plus framing it within the framework of the politicking of the USSR and their manipulation of the media, leads to the sensible and logical conclusion as presented in this book.

I shan't spoil it for any readers, but it is a mystery still. The author brings some information to the fore, which even in light of the conclusion still leaves the curious with a satisfying sense of the unexplained.

If you are interested in this case, then this is a great book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but ..., 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is just like so many "conspiracy" theories - the most logical explanation of an event (in this case, avalanche, wild animals) is played down so that the author can introduce the most bizarre and unlikely explanations. I thought the facts of the events (ie, the proven timeline) was of interest, but that the author's own solution to the mystery was ridiculous beyond belief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hard to put down but sad that no one ever discovered (or so we are led to believe) what happened to the group of young people who set off to the mountains during their vacation. It also showed up the harsh repression of life in Stalin's Russia where even singing at a railway station could lead to arrest. Not the first piece of non-fiction I have found thanks to Daily Deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mountain of the Dead, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic true story about a group a Russian skiers who go missing in the Urals 1958 They are found dead in strange circumstances It leaves you wondering There is no satisfactory outcome to the story very had to put down well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa35252d0)

This product

Mountain of the Dead: The Dyatlov Pass Incident
Mountain of the Dead: The Dyatlov Pass Incident by Keith McCloskey (Paperback - 1 July 2013)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews