Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 July 2013
I really found this book interesting and well written. The photographs that the author used were also interesting and gave the reader a better idea of the places and persons. It was I thought thoroughly researched and of interest to a wide range of age groups.
Local people to Bath would I think find it appealing I not being familiar with the crime story found it a Good read and could not put it down. It was easy to read and liked the size of the print.
I could not find anything negative to say about it?
From Maxine , Bath .UK
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
This is a really good read. A detailed account of the murders carried out by John Straffen and his escape from Broadmoor. It provides a refreshingly different aspect of the murders carried out by a man whose motives seem to differ from that of your conventional murderer, opening a pathway of thought which other crime novels rarely allow. The insight into Broadmoor, an instiution which few can tap into gives the reader a clear and descriptive picture of life in such a place. This is a must read for anyone interested in crime - well researched and thought provoking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
Excellent book, carefully researched and presented in a way that carried you through the streets of Bath and beyond. Fascinating record of these grisly crimes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
The cold and callus way that Straffen carried out these murders is shocking. Looks at events, focussing on the legal aspects of the trials in a factual, as it was, approach. A good insight to larval history.
Not for the reader who is looking for an in-depth analysis of the psychological aspect of a murderer. I would have liked more of that side, however, although a short book, I could not leave it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
A good book. The author writes very well indeed and the story flows marvellously. It is difficult to put down. I read it in a day. It is clearly the product of a great deal of research and thought. There are also relevant pictures and maps. The writer, unlike many who write criminal history, does not distract the reader with a mass of contextual information, and avoids moralising. Good to know who the 'Mad Parson' was (referred to in the CD Conversations with an acid bath murderer, where Haigh makes a reference to his escape)

There are only a few minor quibbles I would make. The author could have written a few paragraphs about the origins and role of Broadmoor, since it features prominently in the book. There are conversations in the book which would seem to be undocumented (in nonfiction where there's educated invention, this needs to be pointed out); there's not a complete biography nor footnotes, and a document is reproduced both as a picture and as text, which seems unnecessary as the former is perfectly legible.

However, these are relatively minor points in what is otherwise a very good book, and I look forward to the author's next one; about Haigh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2013
A very good book I know the story as I was little I live in Bath where it happened .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2016
Interesting because I use to live in the city where it occured.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
Great Book...interesting from period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
Interesting read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)